Author Topic: Undocumented feature in Hud_gauges.tbl and question about XMT/non-XMT  (Read 2849 times)

Offline ARSPR

• Preys On Mantis
Undocumented feature in Hud_gauges.tbl and question about XMT/non-XMT
While digging about FS1 hud, (see this post), I've noticed that $Reticle Style: FS1 from fsport-reticle-hdg.tbl in fsport3_1_1.vp is undocumented in Hud_gauges.tbl wiki help

Although its usage and meaning is pretty obvious, I think you should update the wiki with an explanation about what this entry exactly does and its position in the table. I don't mind doing myself, but I have no knowledge about it.

(Also I don't know which is the opposite setting to $Reticle Style: FS1, in case I wanted to undo it ($Reticle Style: Default?, $Reticle Style: FS2?, $Reticle Style: Original?, ...). Or even if it has other possible values)

OTOH I just want to check if I understand the difference of XMT and non-XMT tables.

+ XMT table means that every $Named entry does not override the tbl one. It just modify the tbl one. In this situation just modified subentries are needed.
+ non-XMT table means that every $Named entry does override the tbl one. So the modder needs to type the full subentries that $Named entry needs in order to work.
IF YOU HAVE TROUBLES WITH FS2:
  • Please, please, please, READ and UNDERSTAND the sticky threads in FreeSpace & FreeSpace Open Support board.
    A lot of people are willing to help you, but, as anyone can understand, seeing the very same "issues" repeated again and again can become quite depressing. Please, spend a bit of time trying to solve the issue by yourself.
    (Lobo deserves a monument).
  • Then, if you aren't still able to solve your issue, feel free to ask for help in that same board.