Author Topic: ERROR: Missing libopenal.so.1 problem (Workaround)  (Read 13635 times)

Offline chief1983

• Still lacks a custom title
  • ⬇️⬆️⬅️⬅️🅰➡️⬇️
    • Minecraft
    • Twitter
    • Fate of the Galaxy
ERROR: Missing libopenal.so.1 problem (Workaround)
I've received a report that running the linux nightly build can generate a missing libopenal.so.0 error.  It appears that the box used for generating Linux nightly builds is compiling against libopenal0a and newer Ubuntu distributions have libopenal1 (which includes libopenal.so.1) in their repositories.  I'm not a Linux expert, so I don't know how to best deal with this, but I thought I would put this up as a sticky so that anyone else who gets it will realize this is a known issue.  If anyone has any suggestions let me know.

Edit:  Sounds like phreak's suggestion below this should work well enough.  Might need to get that into the Wiki.

Edit 2:

The nightly build box has been upgraded, from an older Ubuntu distro to a newer Debian one.  One change involved moving from the old OpenAL Sample Implementation (SI), which provided libopenal.so.0, to the newer OpenAL Soft, which provides libopenal.so.1.  So anyone who was not suffering from a missing OpenAL lib before, now likely will be, and anyone who was, now likely will not.  This assumes you have one or the other installed on your system, if not you need to install the runtime OpenAL libs provded by your distro :)

The workaround for this issue is essentially the same, just reverse the lib names, ie:

Code: [Select]
cd /usr/lib
(sudo) ln -s libopenal.so.0 libopenal.so.1
« Last Edit: April 07, 2009, 03:47:34 pm by chief1983 »
Fate of the Galaxy - Now Hiring!  Apply within | Diaspora | SCP Home | Collada Importer for PCS2
Karajorma's 'How to report bugs' | Mantis
#freespace | #scp-swc | #diaspora | #SCP | #hard-light on EsperNet