Hard Light Productions Forums

Modding, Mission Design, and Coding => FS2 Open Coding - The Source Code Project (SCP) => Topic started by: FelixJim on January 27, 2012, 04:43:40 pm

Title: Fade Out issues
Post by: FelixJim on January 27, 2012, 04:43:40 pm
With 3.6.14 RC 4 I'm having an odd issue with the fade out sexp - a single call results in a rapid succession of fade outs and fade ins, which sometimes never stops. Is this some oddity on my end, a bug with FSO or a new feature I haven't been informed of?

Tested, and this doesn't occur with fs2_open_3_6_13d_INF-20111102_r7938.exe (only other build I had to hand).

If this is already being addressed then just ignore me - but I couldn't find it in the Mantis to fix list.
Title: Re: Fade Out issues
Post by: Eli2 on January 27, 2012, 05:37:35 pm
This is the mantis issue for the code change.
http://scp.indiegames.us/mantis/view.php?id=2538 (http://scp.indiegames.us/mantis/view.php?id=2538)
Can you attach a faulty mission there, so that i can reproduce it ?

EDIT: grammar
Title: Re: Fade Out issues
Post by: Reprobator on January 27, 2012, 06:46:24 pm
Same here just saw that
Title: Re: Fade Out issues
Post by: FelixJim on January 27, 2012, 06:50:02 pm
I haven't much time at the moment to thoroughly test - but my issue looks like the opposite of the Mantis description. With a 5000msec fade everything is fine, but a 500msec one causes problems. Uploaded mission to that mantis report anyway.
Title: Fade in/out bugged in RC4?
Post by: -Norbert- on January 28, 2012, 07:42:03 am
When I switch to the new 3.6.14 RC4 build most fade in and fade outs are bugged. Instead of going steady from black to color (or the other way round), it restarts over and over, untill it is at full color.
Artemis station is even worse. The first fade in works as described above, but after the 2nd fade in, when the Nelson jumped in, it constantly keeps going black and fading in every 2 seconds for the rest of the cutscene.
In Sunglare, the first fade in works fine, but all the fade ins during the playing of "unborn child" are bugged again, though only over the period they should run, not like the one in Artemis Station.

When generating the debug log, I started artemis station from the techroom and ended the game when the GTVA fleet came into view.

I also tried to look at an ingame-cutscene from WoD (Vega Blockade) with the same build, but that worked fine, so I decided post my problem here first, instead of the RC4 release thread.

[attachment deleted by a ninja]
Title: Re: Fade Out issues
Post by: Eli2 on January 28, 2012, 09:08:52 am
The mistake in my patch was,
i used the the calculated current alpha, to determine if the fade is over.
That is not a sane solution, so i check the timestamp now.
The fix is in mantis.
Title: Re: Fade Out issues
Post by: -Norbert- on January 28, 2012, 09:43:42 am
Can I apply the .patch file to my computer and if yes, how?
Title: Re: Fade Out issues
Post by: Eli2 on January 28, 2012, 10:11:26 am
Can I apply the .patch file to my computer and if yes, how?
Option A: compile from source.

Option B: get someone to do Option A for you.
Option C: wait for RC5 or a possible nightly trunk build.

Title: Re: Fade Out issues
Post by: Crybertrance on January 29, 2012, 12:03:19 am
Can I apply the .patch file to my computer and if yes, how?
Option B: get someone to do Option A for you.

This please... (ya know, for us poor fellas who don't know all those techy thingies...)
Title: Re: Fade Out issues
Post by: Spoon on January 29, 2012, 01:49:15 pm
Woooh, this fade out effect in RC4 is pretty funky like this.
'cept if you suffer from epilepsy, then it's probably just seizure inducing  :p
Title: Re: Fade Out issues
Post by: Raiden on January 29, 2012, 06:25:11 pm
Glad I'm not the only one having this problem. Thought I'd gone and deleted something I shouldn't have  :shaking:
Title: Re: Fade Out issues
Post by: Valathil on January 30, 2012, 06:19:10 am
Can I apply the .patch file to my computer and if yes, how?
Option A: compile from source.
  • Download the sources: http://www.hard-light.net/wiki/index.php/Getting_the_FreeSpace2:_SCP_Source_Code (http://www.hard-light.net/wiki/index.php/Getting_the_FreeSpace2:_SCP_Source_Code)
  • Apply the patch: http://tortoisesvn.net/docs/release/TortoiseSVN_en/tsvn-dug-patch.html (http://tortoisesvn.net/docs/release/TortoiseSVN_en/tsvn-dug-patch.html)
  • Download and install Visual Studio express, open the project file and compile.

Option B: get someone to do Option A for you.
Option C: wait for RC5 or a possible nightly trunk build.

Option D: An hero
Title: Re: Fade Out issues
Post by: -Norbert- on January 30, 2012, 07:05:42 am
I tried to build a new exe with the patch, but Visual Studio complains about missing platform-toolsets, even though I did a full install. Well... I guess it doesn't work with the trial version alone and I'll have to wait for options B or C.
Title: Re: Fade Out issues
Post by: Eli2 on January 30, 2012, 01:45:16 pm
I tried to build a new exe with the patch, but Visual Studio complains about missing platform-toolsets, even though I did a full install. Well... I guess it doesn't work with the trial version alone and I'll have to wait for options B or C.
It should compile with visual studio express, posting your build errors would help to get this sorted out.
Title: Re: Fade Out issues
Post by: Iss Mneur on January 30, 2012, 02:28:08 pm
The "platform-toolsets" you are looking for is called the "Windows SDK" you can find it on http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?id=8279 or http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?displaylang=en&id=8442 as set of ISOs. It must be installed separately from visual studio.

Otherwise, I agree with Eli2, without the actual error message we cannot help you further.
Title: Re: Fade Out issues
Post by: -Norbert- on January 30, 2012, 05:44:16 pm
I didn't post the exact error, because I thought it was due to the test version. I'll give it another try tomorrow then.

Edit:
Now I installed the Windows SDK, but it still won't work. Unfortunately I installed the Visual Studio in german and the only language options are "german" and "as in Windows" which amounts to the same thing, unless I swtich the OS language....

I opened up the file "projects\MSVC_2011\FreeSpace2.sln" and tried to rightclick-> compile "FreeSpace.ccp", I tried "Erstellen" which translates to "create" on both the Bold "FreeSpace2" and the Projectmap itself and lastly I tried "create batch" on the project map (where I selected the three release inferno builds). Everytime I get the same error message between 1 and 19 times.

Code: [Select]
------ Erstellen gestartet: Projekt: Freespace2, Konfiguration: Release Inferno SSE2 Win32 ------
Der Buildvorgang wurde am 31.01.2012 12:02:07 gestartet.
C:\Program Files (x86)\MSBuild\Microsoft.Cpp\v4.0\Platforms\Win32\Microsoft.Cpp.Win32.Targets(511,5): error MSB8008: Das angegebene Plattformtoolset (v110) ist nicht installiert oder ungültig. Stellen Sie sicher, dass ein unterstützter PlatformToolset-Wert ausgewählt wurde.

Fehler beim Erstellen

Verstrichene Zeit 00:00:00.01
========== Erstellen: 0 erfolgreich, Fehler bei 19, 0 aktuell, 0 übersprungen ==========


In case it helps, I'll try to translate as best I can:

Code: [Select]
----  Creation started: Project: Freespace2, Configuration: Release Inferno SSE2 Win32  ----
The buildingprocess was started on 31.01.2012 12:02:07.
C:\Program Files (x86)\MSBuild\Microsoft.Cpp\v4.0\Platforms\Win32\Microsoft.Cpp.Win32.Targets(511,5): error MSB8008: The stated platform toolset (v110) is not installed or invalid. Make sure, a supported platformtoolset value is selected.

Error in creation

elapsed time 00:00:00.01
===== Creating: 0 successfull, Error in 19, 0 current, 0 skiped ====

This particular error message is the last of 19 similar messages (differing only in the first line) when I used "create batch".
Title: Re: Fade Out issues
Post by: -Norbert- on February 06, 2012, 02:55:50 am
:bump:
So anyone have an idea what's wrong on my end of the compiling process?
Title: Re: Fade Out issues
Post by: Iss Mneur on February 06, 2012, 01:33:30 pm
Sorry, I hadn't noticed that you edited your previous post.

It looks like you are trying to build the 2011 project with the wrong version of the compilers installed.

To verify the version of Visual Studio that you are using, check About Visual Studio under the help menu.  If it does say that you are using VS2011, then you will need to get the Windows 8 SDK from the same place that you got VS2011, otherwise use the project that belongs to the version of visual studio that you are using.

If that still doesn't help, download VS2010 Express (http://www.mywindowsclub.com/resources/5072-Download-Visual-Studio-with-Windows.aspx) and try with that, we know that VS2010 Express will build FSO using the VS2010 project.
Title: Re: Fade Out issues
Post by: chief1983 on February 06, 2012, 04:23:38 pm
Especially since the VS 2011 is still in a testing phase, not production-ready yet.  If you're just getting into a project like this, I'd steer clear of something that bleeding edge.  VS2010 has been in use by several devs for some time and should have a lot less headache.
Title: Re: Fade Out issues
Post by: -Norbert- on February 07, 2012, 03:39:50 am
So the foldername meant, what version of VS to use.... that certainly explains why I couldn't compile the 2011 folder with VS 2010 :o

Thanks to all the help I got here, I was finally able to compile the whole thing.
And the Fade-out/in bug is gone. While the exes do show up 89 warnings on startup, I havn't come across any actual problem so far while playing.

Which get's me to "Option B (http://members.chello.at/Norbert_Sattler/FreeSpace2_RC4.5_stopgap.rar)" ;) Included are all the inferno release exe files (no see, sse1 and sse2).