Author Topic: FSO to Unity / UE4?  (Read 6250 times)

Hey all,

I'm a developer during my normal job and over the weekend I got curious enough about FSO to checkout the code from SVN (or for those not familiar with code: I just downloaded the code to see it). Honestly, there are a million questions that I was not able to immediately answer from looking at it, and some of it was vaguely explained just because I know the game. I was most curious about the AI so I took a look and found it's over 15.5 thousand lines long.  :lol:

To the point: have we given any serious consideration to converting the C++ of the FS engine into a form that functions well within Unity or Unreal Engine 4? Unity, in particular, I've been working with for over 2 months with a side project and I've grown to love it, primarily because of the way everything works with components. Granted, you would have a lot of significant challenges, you'd immediately lose FRED2, and C++ does not necessarily just "translate" to C# right away.

But there are a number of huge gains too. Since I'm more familiar with Unity, I'll speak to those advantages:
  • Unity, especially with its newest version 5, is available totally free to non-commercial pursuits
  • Unity has a constantly evolving graphics capability and extreme extensibility (with custom shaders and such) at no cost of time or money, it just comes with upgraded versions
  • Unity can do pretty much anything. I'm designing an RTS (real time strategy) game with it and if the code is efficient enough it can handle a pretty heavy workload (it can at least calculate physics on thousands of primitives simultaneously and not lose much frames per second on most modern systems). It does FPS genre games particularly well, and easily, which means the option of having genre-mixing in FS related projects