Author Topic: A Desire to Contribute - What's Needed?  (Read 3146 times)

Offline Conspark

• can't.function.gief.coffee
A Desire to Contribute - What's Needed?
I'm a long-time FSO player and admirer. I don't think I've ever seen a more dedicated group of followers and curators for an oldschool game. At this point, I feel a desire to begin contributing more to the community. I've done voiceover work for Fate of the Galaxy (and I'd love to do more voice work), but I'm also willing to learn a valuable skill and put it to good use. So what does the community need most for their modding projects? I have some limited 3d modeling experience (in 3dsMax 2.5 for Tribes RPG), but that's the extent of my hard skills. FRED has always piqued my curiousity but has seemed like a monstrosity I haven't begun to tackle.

My current real-world situation has me job hunting and hopefully back to working 40 a week soon. What that means in practice is that I can't really devote full-time job levels of commitment as BlackDove suggested over in the BWO forum. Still, I want to help and I'd like to find a way to do that.

Where can I begin?

Also, hi. :D
WHAT THE DEAR JESUS THE SKY IS FULL OF WARHEADS - General Battuta

Offline General Battuta

• Poe's Law In Action
  • i wonder when my postcount will exceed my iq
Re: A Desire to Contribute - What's Needed?
Players! Players are really valuable.

Beyond that, FRED is both super powerful and, actually, really easy to learn. It has a couple annoying UI quirks but by doing the tutorial (retail or Diaspora version) and pulling apart a few missions, plus getting on IRC, you'll be up and running in no time.

3D modeling is always useful!

Offline Conspark

Players! Players are really valuable.

Beyond that, FRED is both super powerful and, actually, really easy to learn. It has a couple annoying UI quirks but by doing the tutorial (retail or Diaspora version) and pulling apart a few missions, plus getting on IRC, you'll be up and running in no time.