Author Topic: Extracting FS2 Open Models?  (Read 3397 times)

Offline Cyph3r

Extracting FS2 Open Models?
Hi All,

I'm a fairly proficient 3d modeler of 6/7 years now. I absolutely love FS2 and have done since it's release. I wish to delve into some modelling for FS2 but I was wondering how I can extract the models from FSO? (Or even the default FS models) that I load up in 3DSMax to easily get a feel for the proportions/scale.

Thanks

Offline The E

• He's Ebeneezer Goode
  • Nothing personal, just tech support.
    • Steam
    • Twitter
Re: Extracting FS2 Open Models?
To extract FS models, you will need two tools. First, a VP extractor to pull files out of the archives FS2 uses (I am partial to vpgui). Second, you'll need PCS2 to open the model files FS uses. You can then use PCS2 to convert them to Collada format.
If I'm just aching this can't go on
I came from chasing dreams to feel alone
There must be changes, miss to feel strong
I really need lifе to touch me
--Evergrey, Where August Mourns

Offline Cyph3r

To extract FS models, you will need two tools. First, a VP extractor to pull files out of the archives FS2 uses (I am partial to vpgui). Second, you'll need PCS2 to open the model files FS uses. You can then use PCS2 to convert them to Collada format.

Thanks The E! Awesomely quick reply :)

Hopefully I'll be able to show off some models to the community soon.

While I have this topic as well, can you tell me what "HTL" means?

Offline niffiwan

• Eluder Class
Hardware Textures & Lighting, "The HLP community" have tended to use HTL to mean a 'high poly count' model which isn't really correct ;)
Creating a fs2_open.log | Red Alert Bug = Hex Edit | MediaVPs 2014: Bigger HUD gauges | 32bit libs for 64bit Ubuntu
----
Debian Packages (testing/unstable): Freespace2 | wxLauncher
----
m|m: I think I'm suffering from Stockholm syndrome. Bmpman is starting to make sense and it's actually written reasonably well...

Offline AdmiralRalwood