Author Topic: Player Beam Weapons  (Read 4011 times)

Heya,  I'm pretty new to the whole in depth modding thing, but I've been playing Freespace on and off for at least 10 years (it's a good game I hear). 

Anyways, I playing around with some things in preparation for making a cool new campaign.  One of the premises I am holding for the campaign is that you get to pilot larger vessels on occasion.  Naturally when it comes to piloting a larger vessel you're going to want to use some beam weapons!  I pretty much figured out through existing tables in such how to give the player control of beam weapons from primary firing points (my test model is a modified Aeolus with various turret fixtures replaced with primary and secondary points).  One big thing I couldn't figure out is how to make the timer for the beam (or any primary weapon for that matter) show up.  I have some workarounds in mind, but in any circumstance I would like to display a timer much like for the secondaries. 

My biggest question is this:  making a beam weapon for use as a secondary.  My motivation for this is for the player to be able to choose between torpedoes a variety of missiles and anti-fighter beams for secondary weapons depending on how they want to deal with other capital ships and fighter/bomber threats.  My initial thought was to have the beam be a heat seeking "missile" with a near instantaneous turn to and approach to its target (in essence acting the same way you would expect a beam to).  However I haven't had much luck.  If you guys have any ideas or inspirations for a mock beam like weapon for secondaries or how to make a secondary beam weapon that would be great.  I'll include my rough attempt at a secondary weapon beam below (mainly copied from AAAh).

Code: [Select]
$Name:                          Zapper
$Model File:                    none ; laser1-1.pof
@Laser Bitmap:                  laserglow01
@Laser Color: 136, 243, 249
@Laser Length: 0.0
@Laser Head Radius: 0.60