Author Topic: Big bugfix build  (Read 12749 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline WMCoolmon

  • Purveyor of space crack
  • Moderator
  • 213
Cutscenes build features plus

  • Fixed crashing with new trails code, also added some optimizations
  • Fixed briefing in nonstandard resolutions
  • Fixed secondary lead indicator in nonstandard resolution
  • Fixed objective completion text in nonstandard resolutions
  • Fixed pause text in nonstandard resolutions
  • Fixed time compression controls not working (broken in prev build)
  • Prettified lightning arcs on damaged ships slightly
  • Improved centered text in D3D nonstandard res
  • Improved scanlines in nonstandard resolutions
  • set-jumpnode-color

--node name
--R component
--G component
--B component
- Alpha component
  • set-jumpnode-model

--node name
--model
--show as normal model? (ie not wireframe)
  • show-jumpnode

--node name
  • hide-jumpnode

--node name
  • lock-perspective

-- Lock it? (False to unlock)
-- 0 for first-person, 1 for chase, 2 for external, 3 for top-down (optional)
  • Added debug messages to techroom.
  • New variables in mission file for jump node (see example)[/color]
Example:
Code: [Select]
$Jump Node: 1.0 3.0 4.0
+Jump Node Name: Dave's House o' Fighters ;;Technically a $ will work here too, it was the default, but a + fits in with the parsing scheme better, it is optional after all
;;New stuff
+Model File: FoD.pof ;;yes it works now
+Alphacolor: 255 0 255 255 ;;last variable is for alpha, ie transparency, 255 is full
+Hidden: YES ;;now you have to use show-jumpnode to make it show up
[/color]

Notes:
lock-perspective will be force-perspective in future builds. I'd already compiled and zipped the builds when I realized I hadn't changed that.


Unresolved issues:
  • Some people have reported crashes with regard to warping out
  • FS2 seems to freeze up randomly on certain missions (Temp fix: use -nomusic)
  • Techroom CTD
  • Modular weapons bug
http://fs2source.warpcore.org/exes/latest/C20050221.zip

Edit: Forgot lightning thing.

Edit

Added to the website.//redmenace
« Last Edit: March 31, 2005, 05:11:02 pm by 887 »
-C

 

Offline Bobboau

  • Just a MODern kinda guy
    Just MODerately cool
    And MODest too
  • 213
what is this 'new trail code' I'm hearing so much about lately?
Bobboau, bringing you products that work... in theory
learn to use PCS
creator of the ProXimus Procedural Texture and Effect Generator
My latest build of PCS2, get it while it's hot!
PCS 2.0.3


DEUTERONOMY 22:11
Thou shalt not wear a garment of diverse sorts, [as] of woollen and linen together

 

Offline WMCoolmon

  • Purveyor of space crack
  • Moderator
  • 213
Trails use a one-way linked list rather than a statically allocated array with a free and used list.
-C

 

Offline Bobboau

  • Just a MODern kinda guy
    Just MODerately cool
    And MODest too
  • 213
is that faster!?
Bobboau, bringing you products that work... in theory
learn to use PCS
creator of the ProXimus Procedural Texture and Effect Generator
My latest build of PCS2, get it while it's hot!
PCS 2.0.3


DEUTERONOMY 22:11
Thou shalt not wear a garment of diverse sorts, [as] of woollen and linen together

 

Offline WMCoolmon

  • Purveyor of space crack
  • Moderator
  • 213
It depends. Memory has to be dynamically allocated, but it's not a whole lot; that's only when a missile is created, a ship is created in a nebula mission (or one with ship trails on), or a ship fires burners. (There are a few exceptions, like if a ship stops or flies slow). Creating a trail requires 2108 bytes of memory. (2k)

Once trails are created it will actually be faster, because everything is done via pointers (no more array indexing) and only one pointer needs to be changed when a ship is deleted.

It also means we won't have a 3 MB chunk of memory constantly devoted to trails (even if none exist).
-C

 

Offline Nuke

  • Ka-Boom!
  • 212
  • Mutants Worship Me
is that why missile trails have started looking better?
I can no longer sit back and allow communist infiltration, communist indoctrination, communist subversion, and the international communist conspiracy to sap and impurify all of our precious bodily fluids.

Nuke's Scripting SVN

 

Offline Scuddie

  • gb2/b/
  • 28
  • I will never leave.
Quote
Originally posted by WMCoolmon
  • Some people have reported crashes with regard to warping out
  • FS2 seems to freeze up randomly on certain missions

[/B]
Do you know if these issues are related?  I had the same problem, and the random freezing/crashing and the jumpouts were very similar.

Anyway, keep up the good work, WMC.  Hell, at this rate, you might fix the modular weapons bug this next month :nervous:.
Bunny stole my signature :(.

Sorry boobies.

 

Offline WMCoolmon

  • Purveyor of space crack
  • Moderator
  • 213
I don't think they're related; the freezing bug seems to be caused by music, the warpout bug was determined by one person to be related to not having any background in a mission. I haven't experienced it recently, though.

As for missile trails looking better, I don't think so. (Although I wish I could say yes. :p) Missiles only have one trail, and I didn't touch any of the segment limits.

Hmm, modular weapons bug, I need to fix that.
-C

 
Back from vacation. Testing this tonight :)

 

Offline Singh

  • Hasn't Accomplished Anything Special Or Notable
  • 211
  • Degrees of guilt.
from your build:

Error: Unrecognized operator.

In sexpression: ( when
   ( true )
   ( toggle-hud )
   ( player-use-ai )
   ( don't-collide-invisible
      "Alpha 1"
      "Camera"
   )
   ( cap-waypoint-speed
      "EA Hyperion 1"
      10
   )
   ( cap-waypoint-speed
      "EA Hyperion 3"
      10
   )
   ( cap-waypoint-speed "Camera" 50 )
   ( set-ship-facing
      "Alpha 1"
      ( get-object-x
         "EA Hyperion 1"
         "turret09a"
      )
      ( get-object-y
         "EA Hyperion 1"
         "turret09a"
      )
      ( get-object-z
         "EA Hyperion 1"
         "turret09a"
      )
   )
)
(Error appears to be: toggle-hud)
File:.\mission\missionparse.cpp
Line: 4544

Call stack:
------------------------------------------------------------------
------------------------------------------------------------------
"Blessed be the FREDder that knows his sexps."
"Cursed be the FREDder that trusts FRED2_Open."
Dreamed of much, accomplished little. :(

 

Offline Singh

  • Hasn't Accomplished Anything Special Or Notable
  • 211
  • Degrees of guilt.
a suggestion, perhaps, but how about a set-camera-path sexp? Currently, the only way to set a camera into motion is by 'dragging' it under a 'dolly' of sorts, using the set-ship-position sexps. But if we can get a ship to move from point A to point B, with the specified speed and WITHOUT having to face the direction of travel, it will improve upon the system tremendously, not to mention bypass the stupidity of the AI when it comes to travelling in a simple, straight line!!
"Blessed be the FREDder that knows his sexps."
"Cursed be the FREDder that trusts FRED2_Open."
Dreamed of much, accomplished little. :(

 

Offline Solatar

  • 211
This build seems to be tearing apart my table files, when older versions let it be (nothing wrong with the tables)

EDIT: Tearing apart as in giving me errors.

Dozens of these, I haven't gotten it to play yet.

---------------------------
Error!
---------------------------
Error: difficulty.tbl(8):
Error: Required token = [#End], found [1] .


File:.\parse\parselo.cpp

Line: 481



Call stack:

------------------------------------------------------------------
------------------------------------------------------------------
---------------------------
Error!
---------------------------
Error: ships.tbl(2493):
Error: Required token = [#End], [$Subsystem:] or [$Name], found [$Trail:].


File:.\parse\parselo.cpp

Line: 481



Call stack:

------------------------------------------------------------------


---------------------------
« Last Edit: February 21, 2005, 02:06:33 pm by 691 »

 

Offline Kie99

  • 211
It causes an error:
Error: Can't open file < FoD.pof >
File:.\model\modelread.cpp
Line: 1618

Call stack:
------------------------------------------------------------------
------------------------------------------------------------------


fixed the brackets so the model name shows up //phreak
« Last Edit: February 21, 2005, 06:43:36 pm by 31 »
"You shot me in the bollocks, Tim"
"Like I said, no hard feelings"

 

Offline StratComm

  • The POFressor
  • 212
  • Cameron Crazy
    • http://www.geocities.com/cek_83/index.html
That's not really specific, nor does it distinguish itself from the cruiser03x.pof bug from the VP's.  What were you doing when that came up?
who needs a signature? ;)
It's not much of an excuse for a website, but my stuff can be found here

"Holding the last thread on a page comes with an inherent danger, especially when you are edit-happy with your posts.  For you can easily continue editing in points without ever noticing that someone else could have refuted them." ~Me, on my posting behavior

Last edited by StratComm on 08-23-2027 at 08:34 PM

 

Offline Kie99

  • 211
Sorry, I was starting a mission which invlved a command brief, A Sathanas and a Colossus, I had the "All ships beam-freed by default" option on.  Here is the ErroR in full:
"You shot me in the bollocks, Tim"
"Like I said, no hard feelings"

 

Offline StratComm

  • The POFressor
  • 212
  • Cameron Crazy
    • http://www.geocities.com/cek_83/index.html
What on earth is FoD.pof?
who needs a signature? ;)
It's not much of an excuse for a website, but my stuff can be found here

"Holding the last thread on a page comes with an inherent danger, especially when you are edit-happy with your posts.  For you can easily continue editing in points without ever noticing that someone else could have refuted them." ~Me, on my posting behavior

Last edited by StratComm on 08-23-2027 at 08:34 PM

 

Offline WMCoolmon

  • Purveyor of space crack
  • Moderator
  • 213
:lol:

That will definitely be fixed in the next build, I was just having a bit of fun with the new HUD automatic HUD shield display and forgot to take it out...

The table errors mean that you're missing a required variable. I made the parser stricter - it gives errors instead of warnings - because it does cause CTDs in some situtations.

Edit: toggle-hud is now hud-disable, that was changed by Goob; it also agrees with the rest of the Hud SEXPs that I added.

There actually already is code in there to handle cameras moving at a constant velocity in 3D space, but I haven't tackled the acceleration/decceleration code yet. I can add a set-camera-velocity though.
« Last Edit: February 21, 2005, 02:49:48 pm by 374 »
-C

 

Offline karajorma

  • King Louie - Jungle VIP
  • Administrator
  • 214
    • Karajorma's Freespace FAQ
:wtf: That's no standard FS2 model. What mods have you got installed?
Karajorma's Freespace FAQ. It's almost like asking me yourself.

[ Diaspora ] - [ Seeds Of Rebellion ] - [ Mind Games ]

 

Offline StratComm

  • The POFressor
  • 212
  • Cameron Crazy
    • http://www.geocities.com/cek_83/index.html
Am I missing something?  What is it?

:nervous:

EDIT: Nevermind, looks like that's something WMCoolmon's been playing with.  I'm guessing it's got something to do with ships with no defined shield ani, and something clever to make those look better.
« Last Edit: February 21, 2005, 02:52:06 pm by 570 »
who needs a signature? ;)
It's not much of an excuse for a website, but my stuff can be found here

"Holding the last thread on a page comes with an inherent danger, especially when you are edit-happy with your posts.  For you can easily continue editing in points without ever noticing that someone else could have refuted them." ~Me, on my posting behavior

Last edited by StratComm on 08-23-2027 at 08:34 PM

 

Offline WMCoolmon

  • Purveyor of space crack
  • Moderator
  • 213
It's not a mod... :nervous:
-C