Author Topic: FS1 Cutscenes in FS2 Open? (yes, I know...)  (Read 3962 times)

FS1 Cutscenes in FS2 Open? (yes, I know...)
Ok, utter newbie here, so try not to jump down my throat too far.  I've been reading up and installing things since Friday evening, and it looks like I'm going to be able to get to playing shortly, but I have one question.

I've installed FS2, FS2 open (3.6.5 w/ the newest build patch from the new build forum), Launcher 5, and the FS1 port.  I've obtained avis of all the movie files for both fs1 and fs2.  All my fs1open files are in a subdirectory of Fs2 (FreeSpace2\fs1_port), so I select it as a mod from the launcher.  (Is this the best way to do it?  I've tried it both ways, didn't seem to make a difference...)

My question is: Can I get the cut scenes (the avis) from FS1 to play while playing the FS1port in fs2open?  I've seen many posts that suggest you can, but I've not seen them in game yet.  (I've only played 2 or 3 missions).  Although with the newest build, the FS2open splash screen shows, then I see my desktop, but I hear a movie playing...

Also, for the first FS1 mission, the movie (animation?)  that plays in the breifing screen is really small...but the other (2nd/3rd) missions I've played don't seem to have this issue.

Finally, if there is no solution to get them playing in game, can someone tell me where in the missions the different movies should fall?  That way I'll just watch them out of game when the proper time comes.

Please keep in mind I'm a freespace virgin (having never touched the games until last Friday), and want to start at the begining (fs1) with no spoilers...it was suggested on my home forum that I start w/ FS1 for story reasons, and so I'm doing that.  Or trying too :)

Thanks,
SkyMonkey

P.S.  You all have done massive good work, and I thank you.

Offline Goober5000

• HLP Loremaster
    • Goober5000 Productions
Re: FS1 Cutscenes in FS2 Open? (yes, I know...)
:welcome:

:)

Originally posted by SkyMonkey