Author Topic: How can FSO be made more accessible?  (Read 2200 times)

Offline EatThePath

• Laser Lich
    • Twitter
How can FSO be made more accessible?
Accessibility in games is a topic that people have examined and talked about a lot between 1999 and now, so I would be surprised if there weren't ways we could improve it for FSO, and I hope everyone can agree that lowering any barrier for entry to the community that we can is a good thing. So, what can be done?

I'm no expert on the topic. I can think of or have been suggested a few already, like higher contrast HUD or bigger fonts, but I'm sure I've got plenty of blindspots. So, do you know of an issue that keeps you from enjoying Freespace as much as you could, or something that's kept someone you know from being able to play it? Or have you noticed some common misstep the game makes that can be addressed?

You don't have to have a solution to the problem, just knowing where to start thinking is enough to help. But if you do know a good solution, especially one that  has been proven out in other games, feel free to suggest it. If we can get a good list, maybe it can be taken to SCP land.

EDIT TO BE CLEAR: My goal with this thread is not to brainstorm ideas for how to get FSO in front of more people, or make the on boarding/new player experience better. It is instead to talk about things that make the game harder to play in avoidable ways for for those who have disabilities, colorblindness, photosensitivity, a particular propensity to motion sickness, or anything of that sort. If you have ideas about the other, first kind of accessibility or general outreach, I'd appreciate it if those could live in a different thread.
« Last Edit: November 02, 2020, 08:15:10 pm by EatThePath »
Name your damn turrets and sounds! Numbers alone aren't helpful!
"if disco is dead then I am the laser lich"
"...[Warmachine] keeps changing as fast as EatThePath can force the engine to do his dark bidding..."

Offline jr2