Author Topic: Getting MediaVPs 2014 & Cockpit Mods Working Together?  (Read 2661 times)

Getting MediaVPs 2014 & Cockpit Mods Working Together?
I'm new to FSO, so forgive me if I'm asking what's already been asked. I just installed FSO 3.8.0 Win64 Standard and was so impressed that I stepped up for the whole enchilada and downloaded GB's of extras. Namely; MV_Music, MV_Advanced, MV_A-Glows, MV_RadarIcons, MV_CB_ANI_1, MV_CB_ANI_2. All is good and it's working fine.

I much prefer cockpits for the immersion factor though and noted I had cockpits in Disapora, so I got curious (the can of worms opens!) and did some browsing and discovered the Cockpit 2.0 thread in the Assets subforum. So...I downloaded the cockpit-mod 2.0.rar archive. The instructions in that Cockpit 2.0 thread weren't really clear to me (no doubt because I'm such a FSO n00b), so I just copied the "cockpit-mod 2.0" folder in the archive into my FreeSpace 2 folder. That gave me a listing for 2 mods in wxlauncher, but when I enabled the Cockpits Mod diagonal lines appeared over the Media VPs 2014 mod; since learned that meant it was disabled. I also received 14 errors when I clicked [Play] and launched FreeSpace 2, which came as no surprise as I have Advanced settings checked that use VPs 2014. The cockpits on the other hand are working and I was thrilled to see it there in my training mission - yeah!  :)

I noticed that both of the Mods have have a FSU-MVP.bmp file which appear to be identical and Mod.INI files which are different. It's obvious to me that the files with the VP file extension are the actual mod files that contain the binary code, etc. I did notice that in the cockpit mod.INI that there's this extra section/header:

"[multimod]
primarylist  = ;
secondarylist = MediaVPs_2014;"