Author Topic: z64 designs an RTOS; madness, awesomeness ensues  (Read 3168 times)

Offline z64555

• Self-proclaimed controls expert
    • Minecraft
    • Steam
z64 designs an RTOS; madness, awesomeness ensues
About a year ago, I failed at making a fully functional quadrotor. At that time, I determined that I hadn't created a good enough operating system for the self-stabilization, and set upon a quest to make my very own real-time operating system.

Goals:
-Single Application, Multi-processing, Multi-tasking operating system
-Able to execute tasks in "parallel"
-Written in ISO C 9899 (C99) for maximal compatibility across MCU systems, compilers.
-As immune to ****ups as much as possible

As for the C99 requirement, I'm pretty much limited to using C99 vs. C++ or even Java because of the chip I'm using (The HCS12). And before you say "Get a MCU that's in this century, asshole," I must point out that the University I graduated from is using the HCS12 as its torture device learning tool for EEEN's and CSEN's alike, and wish to get them involved in the world of hurt embedded systems programming.

Sooo. yeah. So far I've gotten some designs for the kernel itself. It's likely going to be a cross between an Exokernel and a Hybrid kernel, due to the fact that I haven't figured out the framework to use for the hardware interface just yet.

There shall be two lists that the kernel maintains: a Process list (which will handle the objects/systems) and a Task list (which will handle the threads/functions/methods).

The process list will be prioritized to some extent, while the task list is non-prioritized. Both shall be a round-robin style in implementation.

Now, one thing that I may be taking too far/seriously, is the ability for processes to have a set of tasks to be run in parallel. In this case, the tasks that are "parallel" fill up the task list when they can. The tasks in the process that need the "parallel" tasks to be complete first has to wait until they are.