Author Topic: SOC  (Read 7906 times)

Offline Guthan

Hey, Im a newbie freespace 2/wing commander fan. When I saw this mod, I really appreciate the work that you guys did.

Heres just a suggestion for the SOC: It would be really neat if you guys can implement the well, in Wing Commander IV, the Dragon. Just to make it different for freespace 2, you can make it more shivanish, as its a result of a SOC experiment between the Shivan Dragon and various GTVA experiments.

As a result, this fighter would be the badass *excuse my french* and secret fighter.
Heres a schematic of what I would want for its specs:

Speed: 90 ms - Afterburners: would last for over 20 sec; up to 160 ms.
Armor: Heavy
Manuverbility: Extreme
Gun Ports: 6
Missile Ports: 3

Note: it will be radar invisible; or if you can implement the Wing Commander Cloak, that will be awesome!

Also; may you guys add a new weapon? Like the Flash bomb that the Dragon's in Wing Commander used to destroy ships in one hit?

To involve these ships in a storyline; you can have it where the UED forces mysteriously find one of their Destroyer's missing. What the player finds out is that the ship was destroyed, the Flash bomb works like a SABOOT round, where it sucks all the atmosphere out of the ship.

Eventually, you can make it where the player itself finds its production facilities, or make it where the player can even fly as one of these ships.

*shrug* just a suggestion and could add some drama in the game. Thank you for your hard work, and listening to me.

Offline General Battuta

• Poe's Law In Action
  • i wonder when my postcount will exceed my iq
We've got some new hardware for the GTVA, don't worry. A lot of our innovations have more to do with ultra-skilled pilot AI than ultra-powerful ships.

And I'm afraid we couldn't make a whole UEF destroyer disappear because they've only got three of them and they all play a pretty critical story role.  :p