Author Topic: Collaborative modelling: XQ2 platform  (Read 5633 times)

Offline zookeeper

• *knock knock* Who's there? Poe. Poe who?
Collaborative modelling: XQ2 platform
I've recently found Starman01's old XQ2 platform model and started to polish it up. However, I'm by no means an expert modeller and things like UV unwrapping seem really hard to learn to do well quickly (that's one of the things I don't really have any prior experience of). So, I figured that why not see if someone outside the core team would be willing to help finish this thing?

Here's basically what needs to be done:

1. Improving the model itself. Things which currently look pretty bad are the central top antenna, the four other top radar/sensor/antenna blocks and the bottom antennas. Things which should get a little bit more detailing would be the three main platform arms. If you feel like some other part could be improved, you're welcome to do so. Also, a little bit of re-imagining doesn't hurt, so don't be afraid to change or add something canonical as long as it's not too drastic (for example, adding extra little hangars somewhere or extra features to the main platform arms, which are currently rather dull and empty, wouldn't be too drastic).

2. Creating the interior of both the central hangar (needs relatively lot of detailing) and the small hangar near the bottom (shouldn't need a lot). Currently the central hangar interior isn't even placeholder-textured.

3. Unwrapping the whole thing. Currently it's just hideously inefficiently and unclearly auto-unwrapped. However, this should of course come last, so no point doing that before the model has been declared final. When you edit the model, the placeholder texture mapping will of course become a bit screwed up, but nevermind that.