Author Topic: Possible bug in last mission?  (Read 2684 times)

Possible bug in last mission?
I'm using Freespace 2 Open 3.14 with the major Media VPs installed, OpenGL, and these custom flags:
-ambient_factor 5 -spec_exp 15 -spec_point 1.2 -spec_static 1.7 -spec_tube 1.5 -ogl_spec 50

First off, I wanna say what a great job the community has done updating the game.  Secondly, I'm a newbie to FS2 and possibly the question I'm asking may have a simple answer, e.g. it may be found within the game itself.  I'll nonetheless risk the embarrassment.

I've gone through the whole game without encountering any problems.  But then I reach the last mission and time and time again, even though I've used the ALT-J command before the supernova cutscene starts, nothing seemed to happen.  Then finally I noticed the game was giving me an "engine failure" message, even when it was right around 10 second mark and within the Vega node.

Searching for some posts here related to a warp drive error, one post indicated low engine strength which is possible given every time my vessel took substantial damage.  But then I tried the warp drive at the beginning of the mission, before taking any damage, and once again I get the "engine failure" message.  The difficulty level I've been using is Easy, if that matters.

Am I just doing something improperly in the last mission, or could this be an error?

Offline mjn.mixael

• Cutscene Master
  • Chopped liver
    • Steam
    • Twitter
Re: Possible bug in last mission?
Just asking because you didn't mention it in your post...

You were in the node when you tried to warp out, right?
Cutscene Upgrade Project - Mainhall Remakes - Between the Ashes
Youtube Channel - P3D Model Box
Between the Ashes is looking for committed testers, PM me for details.
Freespace Upgrade Project See what's happening.

Offline Crybertrance

• Conventional warheads only, no funny business

....even when it was right around 10 second mark and within the Vega node....