Author Topic: Was it really this bad???  (Read 3396 times)

Offline Stealth

• Braiiins...
Was it really this bad???
I haven't played Freespace in probably 4 or 5 years, but i loaded it up and once i figured out how to run it in compatibility mode, etc. i started playing.
Maybe it's just been so long since i played that I'd forgotten, but it seems like the graphics of this game are just ridiculously bad.  Is there something wrong with my install perhaps? 

My graphics settings are turned up all the way in-game, but pay attention to the bottom left ship model - it's more of a 'blob' than anything.  I don't remember the Dragons looking that bad...

What think?

[attachment deleted by a ninja]

Offline Dragon

• Citation needed
  • The sky is the limit.
Re: Was it really this bad???
Try getting the latest FSO build. You're clearly using retail, or an ancient build. A lot has changed over those 5 years.
Also, welcome back.

Offline yuezhi

• no u
  • ¿¡you dare defy the commodore‽
welcome back?

i played fs1 vanilla off GOG.com myself and i'll tell you that this is perfectly normal.

also, you won't find those nebulas in FSO because they're not actually part of the background and cause problems in FS2.
ϟIn Neo-Terra we Trustϟ
ϟGreat Tin Can Run (Download
☭Gods and Conquerors  - mission design, tech descriptions, sounds; currently 5% Book of Invasions(reserved)☭

░░░░░░███████ ]▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄        ︻╦╤─   Bob is building an army.
    ▂▄▅█████████▅▄▃▂          ☻/         This tank & Bob are against Google+
Il███████████████████].       /▌          Copy and Paste this all over
  ◥⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙◤...     / \          Youtube if you are with us!

Offline Dragon

• Citation needed
  • The sky is the limit.
That's FS1? That would explain a lot. Yes, it did look that bad. At first I though it's a retail version of FSPort.

Offline yuezhi

• no u
  • ¿¡you dare defy the commodore‽