Author Topic: AI - revisited  (Read 16212 times)

Offline ares

Hi everyone!

This is my first post here, so bear with me a little. I am slasher from the game-warden forums.

I am a quite experienced c/c++ coder and I'm currently studying for a PhD in Robotics/AI in Germany. I got here via the Battlestar Galactica mod hosted on game-warden and I am very interested in doing things with the AI. Now, I have heard there are weird things going on when you edit parts of the AI code... there were some forum messages to that effect.

Anyway, I've been reading up on game-oriented AI (which is quite different from academic AI research) and FS2_open in general, which makes me have some questions to you guys.

1) Would it be useful to add Lua scripting hooks to the AI code to add new behaviors that way? I'm not so sure of the details here, but after a brief look at the wiki, that should be possible and maybe a bit more appropriate than another .tbl file?

2) To avoid the whole backwards compatibility discussion, could there be one big setting saying "use AI implementation X" with a default pointing to the current one? I've already gone through the code to identify the "interface", i.e. the ai_* functions called from outside the AI module, which has to stay the same. So, with this global setting, it should be fairly easy (famous last words) to reimplement the AI in some other way. Once I find my way around completely, modularization of the AI code would be my first priority.

3) Any questions/comments/requests/hints from your side are very much appreciated. I've only been reading into this for a couple of days, so I might be completely wrong with my assessment of the situation.

For now, I am still working on getting my development build from the HEAD to run, so it will be a little while until my contributions come in. However, game development (especially AI) has always fascinated me, so I am very motivated. Let me know what you think.

Bye!

Offline Tempest