Author Topic: FRED?  (Read 21317 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline phreak

  • Gun Phreak
  • Moderator
  • 211
  • -1
Right i figured out why I couldn't compile FRED.  Anyway, once I did i fixed the rendering problems that effect the waypoints and ship grid positions.

AS OF APRIL 14:
1) Dockpoints and paths now draw correctly in HTL.
2) Distances draw correctly in HTL
3) Background bitmaps show up again.
4) Jump nodes can now be renamed!112
5) Jump nodes now don't throw errors if loaded from a mission
6) Background bitmaps draw in non-HTL
7) Backgrounds show up when a mission is loaded instead of having to go into the background editor.
8) The OpenGL driver issue is resolved for those with 5.3 Catalysts
9) Background bitmaps/suns will now change position whenever you edit them rather than having to double-click on the bitmap, or exiting the background editor.  IN CVS, SEE GOOBER'S 4/14 BUILD OR LATER
10)Working ambient light sliders. IN CVS, SEE GOOBER'S 4/14 BUILD OR LATER
http://www.penguinbomb.com/phreak/fso_builds/fred2_open_r_03242005.zip


FUTURE FIXES:
1) Need to get FRED to compile after WM's round of latest commits
2) Briefing icons still don't show up in htl mode.
3) Subobject boxes / Ship Models don't appear in the correct place
4) Opening a file should take into account where its loaded and which mod is currently being used.
5) Continuously adding and deleting bitmaps will screw up the buffer rendering.
6) Pay taxes

« Last Edit: April 18, 2005, 08:30:21 pm by 31 »
Offically approved by Ebola Virus Man :wtf:
phreakscp - gtalk
phreak317#7583 - discord

 

Offline Taristin

  • Snipes
  • 213
  • BlueScalie
    • Skelkwank Shipyards
Ooooooooooooooohhhhhhhh.
Freelance Modeler | Amateur Artist

 

Offline Axem

  • 211
Hallelujah!

I am gonna have fun tonight! :D

EDIT: Uh okay, maybe not. When I try to run some missions, they give me an illegal operation from MFC42.DLL and fred2_open_r_03192005.exe. Not all of them do this though, but its pretty consistant with the missions its not loading, so it doesn't seem like a totally random crash.

2nd EDIT: Yeah nevermind, -fredhtl flag seems to fix this.
« Last Edit: March 19, 2005, 09:05:38 pm by 1840 »

 

Offline Singh

  • Hasn't Accomplished Anything Special Or Notable
  • 211
  • Degrees of guilt.
All hail Phreak! Saviour of FRED!! :D
"Blessed be the FREDder that knows his sexps."
"Cursed be the FREDder that trusts FRED2_Open."
Dreamed of much, accomplished little. :(

 

Offline Jake101

  • 26
Maybe I'm a n00b to working with builds or something but what do I do when I've got this:

Error: ships.tbl(2780):
Error: Required token = [$Power Output:], found [$Shields:            0]
in ship: GTDR Amazon Advanced.

File:C:\projects\fs2_open\code\Parse\PARSELO.CPP
Line: 502

Call stack:
------------------------------------------------------------------
    fred2_open_r_03192005.exe 004f1144()
    fred2_open_r_03192005.exe 004adebe()
    fred2_open_r_03192005.exe 004b0610()
    fred2_open_r_03192005.exe 004b08ec()
    fred2_open_r_03192005.exe 0043206e()
    fred2_open_r_03192005.exe 0042cbca()
    MFC42.DLL 73dd1f1b()
    MFC42.DLL 73dd1cea()
    MFC42.DLL 73dd1c73()
    MFC42.DLL 73dd1bfb()
    MFC42.DLL 73dd1bba()
    USER32.dll 77d486cb()
    USER32.dll 77d520e6()
    USER32.dll 77d492ab()
    USER32.dll 77d4d19e()
------------------------------------------------------------------



And then after this display, the program will not run.  Is it only a tbl problem?
-Jake101
Ferrium is Pwnage.

 

Offline Solatar

  • 211
If I try to rename a jump node, doesn't matter what it's named, it says that the name is already taken and to press ok to continue or whatever. I can't get out of the waypoint/jump node editor unless I exit the program from the task manager.

EDIT: It isn't a showstopper, as I can just use older versions of FRED to name my jump nodes.

 

Offline Trivial Psychic

  • 212
  • Snoop Junkie
1st of all... THANK YOU!!!!
:wakka:
2nd - for some reason, the "lighting from suns" option doesn't do anything, whether on or off.

3rd - I noticed that its rendering things at full LOD, unlike previous builds.  Was this intentional or by accident?
The Trivial Psychic Strikes Again!

 

Offline phreak

  • Gun Phreak
  • Moderator
  • 211
  • -1
Axem: Yea i didn't bother to test in non-htl :)
Jake: Its a table problem.  I don't know whether you're using retail or a mod though
Solatar: Mantis
TP:
1) np
2) didn't notice that.
3) intentional
Offically approved by Ebola Virus Man :wtf:
phreakscp - gtalk
phreak317#7583 - discord

 

Offline Ransom

  • M. Night Russel
  • 210
  • It will not wait.
    • Rate of Injury
THANK YOU SIR!

You know what, this is really cool. Possibly even too cool for school

So cool in fact that it deserves a special award:


PhReAk and his magical FRED build are officially approved by Ebola Virus Man. :yes:

Ransom has experienced no problems aside from the jump node thingy so far.
« Last Edit: March 20, 2005, 12:41:02 am by 1494 »

 

Offline WMCoolmon

  • Purveyor of space crack
  • Moderator
  • 213
Yeah, that's probably my fault.

Actually, I'm impressed they don't crash and burn. I completely redid the way jump nodes were accessed in the code and implemented them in FRED with *no* testing, except making sure they compiled without any errors.

Okay, I'm done bragging. :nervous:
-C

 

Offline Cobra

  • 212
  • Snake on a Cain
    • Minecraft
    • Skype
    • Steam
    • Twitter
hmm, i got some errors, but i know what the last 2 are for.

Error: The required OpenGL extension 'GL_EXT_draw_range_elements' is not supported by your graphics card, please use the Glide or Direct3D rendering engines.


File:C:\projects\fs2_open\code\graphics\gropenglextension.cpp
Line: 190

Call stack:
------------------------------------------------------------------
    fred2_open_r_03192005.exe 0060856d()
    fred2_open_r_03192005.exe 00503c87()
    fred2_open_r_03192005.exe 00431ffe()
    fred2_open_r_03192005.exe 0042cbca()
    MFC42.DLL 73dd1f1b()
    MFC42.DLL 73dd1cea()
    MFC42.DLL 73dd1c73()
    MFC42.DLL 73dd1bfb()
    MFC42.DLL 73dd1bba()
    USER32.dll 77d67ad7()
    USER32.dll 77d6cc6e()
    USER32.dll 77d445bd()
    USER32.dll 77d4bc1a()
    ntdll.dll 77fb4da6()
    USER32.dll 77d812b0()
------------------------------------------------------------------

Error: music.tbl(137):
Error: Required token = [#SoundTrack End] or [$Name:], found [#SoundTrack Start] .

File:C:\projects\fs2_open\code\Parse\PARSELO.CPP
Line: 502

Call stack:
------------------------------------------------------------------
    fred2_open_r_03192005.exe 004f16d1()
    fred2_open_r_03192005.exe 004a6e32()
    fred2_open_r_03192005.exe 004a713c()
    fred2_open_r_03192005.exe 004a5bd2()
    fred2_open_r_03192005.exe 00432096()
    fred2_open_r_03192005.exe 0042cbca()
    MFC42.DLL 73dd1f1b()
    MFC42.DLL 73dd1cea()
    MFC42.DLL 73dd1c73()
    MFC42.DLL 73dd1bfb()
    MFC42.DLL 73dd1bba()
    USER32.dll 77d67ad7()
    USER32.dll 77d6cc6e()
    USER32.dll 77d445bd()
    USER32.dll 77d4bc1a()
------------------------------------------------------------------
Error: music.tbl(137):
Error: Required token = [#SoundTrack End] or [$Name:], found [$Soundtrack Name: FS1-8: Strike] .

File:C:\projects\fs2_open\code\Parse\PARSELO.CPP
Line: 502

Call stack:
------------------------------------------------------------------
    fred2_open_r_03192005.exe 004f16d1()
    fred2_open_r_03192005.exe 004a6e32()
    fred2_open_r_03192005.exe 004a713c()
    fred2_open_r_03192005.exe 004a5bd2()
    fred2_open_r_03192005.exe 00432096()
    fred2_open_r_03192005.exe 0042cbca()
    MFC42.DLL 73dd1f1b()
    MFC42.DLL 73dd1cea()
    MFC42.DLL 73dd1c73()
    MFC42.DLL 73dd1bfb()
    MFC42.DLL 73dd1bba()
    USER32.dll 77d67ad7()
    USER32.dll 77d6cc6e()
    USER32.dll 77d445bd()
    USER32.dll 77d4bc1a()
------------------------------------------------------------------

the last 2 concern my extra FS1 music thingies
To consider the Earth as the only populated world in infinite space is as absurd as to assert that in an entire field of millet, only one grain will grow. - Metrodorus of Chios
I wept. Mysterious forces beyond my ken had reached into my beautiful mission and energized its pilots with inhuman bomb-firing abilities. I could only imagine the GTVA warriors giving a mighty KIAAIIIIIII shout as they worked their triggers, their biceps bulging with sinew after years of Ivan Drago-esque steroid therapy and weight training. - General Battuta

 

Offline WMCoolmon

  • Purveyor of space crack
  • Moderator
  • 213
Sounds like there are some missing entries in those two soundtracks.
-C

 

Offline Cobra

  • 212
  • Snake on a Cain
    • Minecraft
    • Skype
    • Steam
    • Twitter
no, they work fine, just that in Exodus the arrival music plays at the same time the main part does.
To consider the Earth as the only populated world in infinite space is as absurd as to assert that in an entire field of millet, only one grain will grow. - Metrodorus of Chios
I wept. Mysterious forces beyond my ken had reached into my beautiful mission and energized its pilots with inhuman bomb-firing abilities. I could only imagine the GTVA warriors giving a mighty KIAAIIIIIII shout as they worked their triggers, their biceps bulging with sinew after years of Ivan Drago-esque steroid therapy and weight training. - General Battuta

 

Offline Jake101

  • 26
Okay, fixed my problem, and yes - it was a mod.  Of course, I still don't understand why FRED2 wouldn't run because of altered table entries...?
-Jake101
Ferrium is Pwnage.

 

Offline Flaser

  • 210
  • man/fish warsie
Quote
Originally posted by Jake101
Okay, fixed my problem, and yes - it was a mod.  Of course, I still don't understand why FRED2 wouldn't run because of altered table entries...?


That's because just like the main exe, Fred looks into those to determine what models, sounds ect. ect. to load and use.
This is why FRED is so good to modders actually - just pop in a mod like any user and you're ready to churn out missions.
"I was going to become a speed dealer. If one stupid fairytale turns out to be total nonsense, what does the young man do? If you answered, “Wake up and face reality,” you don’t remember what it was like being a young man. You just go to the next entry in the catalogue of lies you can use to destroy your life." - John Dolan

 

Offline WMCoolmon

  • Purveyor of space crack
  • Moderator
  • 213
Probably because the fields were out of order or some required fields were missing.
-C

 

Offline Jake101

  • 26
Ah, it seems that whenever I try to implement some of the new SEXP's, such as the cutscenes options like time compression and setting the camera, it gives me errors.  Not cool.
-Jake101
Ferrium is Pwnage.

 

Offline Starman01

  • 213
  • Mechwarrior
    • Wing Commander Saga
Finally, this makes my day. Thanks Phreak ;)

Though I'm getting a small error after loading my missions, guess there is something in our mod-data that this build don't like :
Code: [Select]

[I]An unknown object type (14) was detected[/I]

Is this something serious (or in other words do I risk breaking parts of the mission when resaving it with this error) or can I ignore it (more or less).

What's type 14 referring to, maybe there is a error in the data I wasn't aware of. ?
MECHCOMMANDER OMNITECH

9 out of 10 voices in my head always tell me that I'm not insane. The 10th is only humming the melody of TETRIS.

 

Offline WMCoolmon

  • Purveyor of space crack
  • Moderator
  • 213
Congratulations, you win the most obscure error award! :D

It's a jump node problem, probably an error check in FRED that I missed. (Object type 14 is a jump node)

I'd suggest not resaving it; FRED has a habit of messing up mission files if anything goes wrong. I lost a command briefing screen and a couple messages by using the wrong character. (Quotation marks in the messages, not sure what killed the CB)
-C

 

Offline karajorma

  • King Louie - Jungle VIP
  • Administrator
  • 214
    • Karajorma's Freespace FAQ
Quote
Originally posted by Cobra
no, they work fine, just that in Exodus the arrival music plays at the same time the main part does.


They may have worked but they weren't correct. The new versions of FRED and FS2_Open are MUCH more strict about this sort of thing than the old ones. You'll find that both of them break tables that previously seemed to work okay.

When you consider that those tables were responsible for unexplained locks and crashes that's probably no bad thing cause it forces people like you who release stuff without running it through a debug build first to correct their work rather than just bodging it together until it looks okay and then using it.

Hmmm. That sentence may come off a little harsh but I can't be bothered to rewrite it :D


EDIT : Goober's equivalence testing for string variables doesn't seem to be working in this build though. I was really looking forwards to playing with that. :(

Good work on fixing the other bugs though :yes:
« Last Edit: March 20, 2005, 04:04:33 am by 340 »
Karajorma's Freespace FAQ. It's almost like asking me yourself.

[ Diaspora ] - [ Seeds Of Rebellion ] - [ Mind Games ]