Hard Light Productions Forums

Hosted Projects - Standalone => Wing Commander Saga => Topic started by: OverDhill on January 12, 2018, 10:34:17 pm

Title: Knossos installer?
Post by: OverDhill on January 12, 2018, 10:34:17 pm
Has there any discussion about getting WCS into the Knossos installer?  It would nice to see this available to a new group of players.
Title: Re: Knossos installer?
Post by: The E on January 13, 2018, 01:08:40 am
Given that Knossos only works with FSO 3.8 and that WCS is incompatible with that version of the engine, it's probably not going to happen.
Title: Re: Knossos installer?
Post by: Admiral Nelson on January 13, 2018, 07:39:10 am
I'll be making a beta WCS for "normal" FSO release within the week.  That will work with Knossos.
Title: Re: Knossos installer?
Post by: The E on January 13, 2018, 07:56:15 am
Are you going to reimplement the sexps the WCS team added in? I mean, we have that technology in the nightly builds now, you could reimplement the sexps using lua.....
Title: Re: Knossos installer?
Post by: Admiral Nelson on January 13, 2018, 08:07:36 am
The missions all work 99% now in regular FSO.  I've either replaced with a Standard SEXP or made a script to address anything else.  What's missing is the hide-ship-name stuff Admiral Ralwood mentioned he had in a WIP code branch, and the "force-battle-music" SEXP for which I don't have a solution at the moment -- thus a "beta" release.
Title: Re: Knossos installer?
Post by: OverDhill on January 16, 2018, 02:22:46 pm
I and I am sure others appreciate the work being done.
Title: Re: Knossos installer?
Post by: gevatter Lars on October 19, 2019, 02:49:32 pm
A little late but thanks for the conversion. I will try it out.
Title: Re: Knossos installer?
Post by: CT27 on September 13, 2021, 10:04:47 pm
The missions all work 99% now in regular FSO.  I've either replaced with a Standard SEXP or made a script to address anything else.  What's missing is the hide-ship-name stuff Admiral Ralwood mentioned he had in a WIP code branch, and the "force-battle-music" SEXP for which I don't have a solution at the moment -- thus a "beta" release.

I've tried WCSaga via the Knossos download page (I put all the files into a folder manually as I don't use Knossos yet...this was done years ago and I'm just trying the Knossos download of this campaign now)...and I've run into a couple relatively minor errors:

-The cutscenes don't play.  I tried starting the main Darkest Dawn campaign and that intro movie with the Hermes attack group didn't play.  Same with the movies in the WCSaga prologue.  The cutscenes don't play when I get to the right spot in the campaign or after certain missions.  They are there though.  I can watch them in the tech room...they just don't play in a normal campaign playthrough.

-It seems like the head shot segments of people (that show up in the upper left when they have dialogue) go fuzzy toward the end quite a bit more than in the original 'official' version of WCSaga.

Can either of these relatively minor errors be fixed?
Title: Re: Knossos installer?
Post by: CT27 on September 15, 2021, 11:47:10 pm
Unfortunately I've run into a gamebreaking error in the Knossos version.  This was on the final Vega mission where you're supposed to escort the governor's convoy out of the system.  I do all that and I get to the final part of the mission.  I defeat the enemies attacking the Hermes and then get the objective to land on the Hermes.  Usually in this version of WCS the mission ends and you get the debriefing as long as you just go somewhere close to the Hermes' fighterbay.  But nothing happens.  I've tried flying through the Hermes and nothing happens...the mission won't end.

Am I supposed to be playing on a certain build or something?  Or does anyone have any suggestions? 

I would hate to have to ditch this version because it seems to do some things better than the 'official' WCSaga release (you can skip some long dialogue portions and you can timeskip to cover larger distances for example).
Title: Re: Knossos installer?
Post by: Admiral Nelson on September 16, 2021, 06:33:15 am
Don't use the dialogue skip in this mission.  See the known issues in the release thread (https://www.hard-light.net/forums/index.php?topic=94378.0).
Title: Re: Knossos installer?
Post by: CT27 on September 17, 2021, 07:52:38 pm
Don't use the dialogue skip in this mission.  See the known issues in the release thread (https://www.hard-light.net/forums/index.php?topic=94378.0).

Thank you.  Do you have any suggestions for the landing issue I had with this mission (i.e., after rescuing the governor's convoy I can't land)?   Also, I get the 'mission complete' audio in the second to last waypoint (where allied cruisers come in to attack the three enemy destroyers).  but then I still have to do the final waypoint of saving the Hermes from that small strike.  The mission complete notice should probably come then.

EDIT:  Also, this was without me doing any dialogue skips in mission.

Is there any reason why this mission doesn't have you automatically land like usual in this version of WCSaga?
Title: Re: Knossos installer?
Post by: Admiral Nelson on September 20, 2021, 09:40:07 am
The mission complete bit was always there - I imagine it is supposed to be a surprise that the Kilrathi are attacking your carrier and thus that the mission isn't really complete.

I just replayed this mission and autolanded when I got near the Hermes as usual, so I'm not certain what happened to you.
Title: Re: Knossos installer?
Post by: CT27 on September 20, 2021, 07:51:31 pm
The mission complete bit was always there - I imagine it is supposed to be a surprise that the Kilrathi are attacking your carrier and thus that the mission isn't really complete.

I just replayed this mission and autolanded when I got near the Hermes as usual, so I'm not certain what happened to you.

Do I have to play this on a certain build?  I've played Vega 5 on a couple builds normally and through the tech room and it wouldn't autoland on this mission (I also tried landing in the carrier...and I made sure to not use dialogue skip or even time compression and the debriefing/Vega bombardment movie wouldn't play).  For what it's worth though, I purposefully died 5x and passed the mission (so hopefully that's the only time I have to do it.)

Also, do you have any idea what might be causing the issue of the cinematics not playing (for instance the Hermes attack squad intro that should play when starting Darkest Dawn)?  (Though I can see them in the techroom.)
Title: Re: Knossos installer?
Post by: Admiral Nelson on September 21, 2021, 10:18:04 am
I can't reproduce either of those issues - this video shows the autoland and cutscenes both working using just 21.2:


I did just push version0.95 to knossos, which contains a fix for the Alcor 2 issues others have mentioned above.  Try downloading the new version and see if it clears up any issues you may have had.
Title: Re: Knossos installer?
Post by: CT27 on September 24, 2021, 07:28:10 pm
I can't reproduce either of those issues - this video shows the autoland and cutscenes both working using just 21.2:


I did just push version0.95 to knossos, which contains a fix for the Alcor 2 issues others have mentioned above.  Try downloading the new version and see if it clears up any issues you may have had.

I downloaded the .9.5 version (since I don't use Knossos yet what I did was just downloaded the new files from the Knossos page and put them in my /Freespace2/Wing Commander Saga folder to replace the older version).  I tried it out and I have good news and bad news:


Good news:  I tried Vega 5 through the techroom and the game autolanded me this time and I saw the Vega bombardment and got the debriefing afterwards.  I wasn't even able to do that on the techroom before so it looks like this particular issue is fixed for me.  Thank you.


Bad news:  I've ran into a couple other technical issues now:
-Alcor 2 (the mission you said the new version was designed to fix) won't load now.  When I try to start this mission I click on the part of the screen where you're suppsed to click to start/continue a campaign...it goes to the loading screen with the Confed logo on it and the loading bar at the bottom.  The loading bar progresses a little bit but then I always get a popup that says "Attempt to load mission failed."  Other missions seemed to load fine but Alcor 2 wouldn't.  I tried this on campaign mode on my Alcor 2 save file and it wouldn't load...Alcor 2 wouldn't load in the techroom either.  Same thing on a Hyperion 2 save file I tried...Alcor 2 wouldn't load.  In other words I can't even get into the mission to do the 5x death skip trick.  I tried this on multiple builds including 21.2...it looks like Alcor 2 is inaccessible now unfortunately.  Can this be fixed?

I don't know if this is relevant to help out but I figured I might as well give you more info: I noticed under /data/missions that mission 36 aka Alcor 2 has two files in this new version.  It has M-36-BG-hermes.fs2 like all the other missions do (they just have their respective number in place of 36) but it also has M-36-BG-hermes.bak (it's the only "bak" file in there).

-The Excalibur missions (starting with Hyperion 1) don't have any guns for the Excalibur.  After Hyperion 1's briefing, I went to the weapon select screen and missiles were there to pick from.  But it showed my Excalibur as having zero guns (primaries) loaded.  There were also zero guns shown on the weapon select (left) side of the screen.  Usually on the weapon select screen you're able to see the guns you have (even if WCS doesn't let you change guns).  When I started the mission there was nothing at all in the lower right part of the screen where your primaries are shown and you can select which gun/guns to fire.  It only showed missiles.  So now Excaliburs don't have guns.
I was going to say this earlier but I didn't get to it before the recent update, but to be fair this wasn't just an issue with this new version.  .9.4 did not have guns for Excaliburs either.  I tried the 5x death skip to see if this was an issue in more than one mission but campaign Hyperion 2 had this problem as well.
Now, Excaliburs had guns in techroom mission playthroughs, but not when playing through the missions as a campaign.  Can this be fixed too please (I remember no Excalibur guns was a problem in the original standalone WCS release as well)?
Title: Re: Knossos installer?
Post by: Admiral Nelson on September 25, 2021, 07:42:35 am
Give this copy of Alcor 2 a try. 

I do recall that WCS had that Excalibur bug but I hadn't encountered it in this version.  I will look into it.

[EDIT] Mission 36 has in it the sexps to allow the Reaper and Tachyon weapons, so if you skip this mission the Excalibur will have no weapons.
Title: Re: Knossos installer?
Post by: CT27 on September 29, 2021, 06:25:13 pm
Give this copy of Alcor 2 a try. 

I do recall that WCS had that Excalibur bug but I hadn't encountered it in this version.  I will look into it.

[EDIT] Mission 36 has in it the sexps to allow the Reaper and Tachyon weapons, so if you skip this mission the Excalibur will have no weapons.

It worked!  Alcor 2 was playable/beatable now, and I was able to finish the rest of the game with no gamebreaking errors (Excalibur guns were present as well).  Thank you very much for the help you've provided on this and for all the work you've done on it.  With dialogue skip and time compression (along with being able to put it in my Freespace2 folder), this version is more convenient and fun to play than the original overall.

Like I said before, there were no gamebreaking errors I encountered  after Alcor 2.  However, I did run into a couple minor glitches:

-On Freya 6 and Freya 7 (missions 48 and 49 I believe), there was no dialogue skip option even in places where it felt like there should be.  There are nav points you go to where you just listen to dialogue (and no enemies show up) where you should be able to skip...but the "Alt+J to skip dialogue" text never shows up on screen (fyi dialogue skip does return in the final mission, Freya 8/M50).  This isn't a gamebreaking error as the missions are playable/winnable, but it's just a convenience thing.

-I mentioned earlier I had issues with certain movies not playing.  After beating the final mission and landing I got the movie that showed the Torgo treaty signing and what happened to the various characters afterward.  In the 'official' version of WCS (released back in 2012) the credits movie/text crawl would then play...but it didn't in this version.  After it showed the main characters' pictures and what happened, it went to the mainhall.  The credits movie was watchable via techroom, it just didn't show up automatically in the playthrough.  Again, this is a relatively minor issue.

Thanks again for the great work you did on this. :)
Title: Re: Knossos installer?
Post by: Admiral Nelson on October 01, 2021, 11:55:20 am
I am glad you enjoyed it. :)
I have pushed another version to Knossos with the fixed Alcor 2 mission included.
Title: Re: Knossos installer?
Post by: Vidmaster on October 02, 2021, 04:11:43 am
Much appreciated.
Title: Re: Knossos installer?
Post by: CT27 on October 13, 2021, 07:45:17 pm
I ran into a unique situation when playing the newest version of WCS (like before, I don't use Knossos yet so I manually downloaded 0.9.6 links from the WCS FSNebula page and put them in a folder and put said folder in /Freespace2). 

This is on official 21.2 btw
After the pilot selection screen when I created a new pilot and tried to go into the game the game went back to desktop and I got errors like these

Error: FreeSpace2.fc2(line 7):
Error: Unable to find ship class GTF Ulysses in stuff_int_list!
File: parselo.cpp
Line: 312

ntdll.dll! NtWaitForSingleObject + 20 bytes
KERNELBASE.dll! WaitForSingleObjectEx + 142 bytes
fs2_open_21_2_0_x64_SSE2.exe! <no symbol>
fs2_open_21_2_0_x64_SSE2.exe! <no symbol>
fs2_open_21_2_0_x64_SSE2.exe! <no symbol>
fs2_open_21_2_0_x64_SSE2.exe! <no symbol>
fs2_open_21_2_0_x64_SSE2.exe! <no symbol>
fs2_open_21_2_0_x64_SSE2.exe! <no symbol>
fs2_open_21_2_0_x64_SSE2.exe! <no symbol>
fs2_open_21_2_0_x64_SSE2.exe! <no symbol>
fs2_open_21_2_0_x64_SSE2.exe! <no symbol>
fs2_open_21_2_0_x64_SSE2.exe! <no symbol>
fs2_open_21_2_0_x64_SSE2.exe! <no symbol>
fs2_open_21_2_0_x64_SSE2.exe! <no symbol>
fs2_open_21_2_0_x64_SSE2.exe! <no symbol>
fs2_open_21_2_0_x64_SSE2.exe! <no symbol>
fs2_open_21_2_0_x64_SSE2.exe! <no symbol>
fs2_open_21_2_0_x64_SSE2.exe! <no symbol>
KERNEL32.DLL! BaseThreadInitThunk + 20 bytes
ntdll.dll! RtlUserThreadStart + 33 bytes

Error: FreeSpace2.fc2(line 7):
Error: Unable to find ship class GVB Osiris in stuff_int_list!
File: parselo.cpp
Line: 312

ntdll.dll! NtWaitForSingleObject + 20 bytes
KERNELBASE.dll! WaitForSingleObjectEx + 142 bytes
fs2_open_21_2_0_x64_SSE2.exe! <no symbol>
fs2_open_21_2_0_x64_SSE2.exe! <no symbol>
fs2_open_21_2_0_x64_SSE2.exe! <no symbol>
fs2_open_21_2_0_x64_SSE2.exe! <no symbol>
fs2_open_21_2_0_x64_SSE2.exe! <no symbol>
fs2_open_21_2_0_x64_SSE2.exe! <no symbol>
fs2_open_21_2_0_x64_SSE2.exe! <no symbol>
fs2_open_21_2_0_x64_SSE2.exe! <no symbol>
fs2_open_21_2_0_x64_SSE2.exe! <no symbol>
fs2_open_21_2_0_x64_SSE2.exe! <no symbol>
fs2_open_21_2_0_x64_SSE2.exe! <no symbol>
fs2_open_21_2_0_x64_SSE2.exe! <no symbol>
fs2_open_21_2_0_x64_SSE2.exe! <no symbol>
fs2_open_21_2_0_x64_SSE2.exe! <no symbol>
fs2_open_21_2_0_x64_SSE2.exe! <no symbol>
fs2_open_21_2_0_x64_SSE2.exe! <no symbol>
KERNEL32.DLL! BaseThreadInitThunk + 20 bytes
ntdll.dll! RtlUserThreadStart + 33 bytes


On the other hand, I didn't get this problem (I was able to play normally) when using other official builds like 19.0, 21.0, and the newest 21.4

So this isn't a gamebreaking error as I just use a different build but I just thought I'd bring it to your attention.
Title: Re: Knossos installer?
Post by: CT27 on November 01, 2021, 11:39:00 pm
Out of curiosity, what's planned for .9.7 (if there is a plan for further development)?