Author Topic: 2010-12-12 - Music for Diaspora  (Read 13065 times)

Offline PhRey

• Composer
    • Ph.Rey Music
2010-12-12 - Music for Diaspora
Hey,

My name is Phil, i'm a french composer, and i'm making music for Diaspora.
I wrote this article under the guidance of karajorma, (and with the help of Shade), to talk about my work within the team.

By chance, I contacted Diaspora's team  in summer 2010, and they immediately put me to the test (I'm not the first one who wants to participate in this great adventure). At that point, I didn't know much about the music of Battlestar Galactica, or about the series itself. But the work of the team is so fabulous, i wanted to give it a try, and I eventually made some pieces which were accepted by the team. Over time, I discovered the wonderful music of Bear McCreary and Richard Gibbs, and attempted to recreate the same sound. The list currently numbers about 30 pieces, and should keep growing over the coming months.

Requests from the team often refer to an existing piece (McCreary or Gibbs). So I take the time to analyze, think, test... and attempt to do pieces that remain faithful to the music which so many people already know and want in the game. I work in my home studio, mainly using sound banks from EWQL (SD2 as RA), Cinesamples and Tonehammer. Much of the work is percussive, or ethnic, but often I also have to transcribe this feeling of open spaces in the background, something people would expect to encounter. There are also some very musical parts (like the famous "Prelude To War") that I'm transcribing my way (actually, I don't know if it will be used, but i really enjoyed this exercise). In short, these are ongoing and rewarding challenges.