Author Topic: Of Vorlon Ships  (Read 4373 times)

I've just been watching several B5 episodes, and, after watching Into The Fire and Interludes and Examinations I got to thinking about TBP and Vorlon ships.

Now, Vorlon ships have those... for lack of a better term, fins/petals, that they can open and close, now, I'm no expert on the FS engine, but, is it possible that TBP will be able to support that opening and closing, via SEXP or anything else?

I'm looking forward to the VE Star Dreadnaught. That's going to be a monster of ship, and, finally I'll be able to create a mission where the VE fight the Shadows with the big guns, and not just Cruisers and Transports (But they do pretty well, at the moment.)

EDIT: Are you going to be able to implement a good looking weapon FX for the big main gun? I assume it'd just be some custom animation, right?
« Last Edit: September 03, 2005, 07:50:27 pm by 1820 »

Offline Trivial Psychic

• Snoop Junkie
Submodel Animations:  It is possible, and both the transport and cruiser are kinda setup to allow support for it... in theory.  Submodel animations requires that those components be submodels (obviously) rather than part of the main mesh and have some specialized table entries to activate properly.  I don't know the code, but Bob is the man on that stuff.  The problem at the moment, is that there would need to be some physical changes to make it practical.  After looking at them, it appears that in order for the pedals (though they're listed as wings for their submodel names) to flip 90 degrees out, their support struts need to me moved further back, but start a bit more forward on the fuselate (then sweep back as they move out from the hull until they meet up with the petals).  Also, its my opinion that the pedals themselves sit too far out from the hull, and thus need to be made slimmer to fit in in such a way.