Author Topic: Just installed FS2 Open...It looks like the same game to me  (Read 2867 times)

Offline gl3nnium

• 2-∞ - User does not compute
Just installed FS2 Open...It looks like the same game to me
Hey..Im new to this.
Unfortunately im extremely disapointed with what im seeing.
I loved the original FS 2.

I installed my gog version and just went through the whole process of using the automatic installer to download everything.
The game folder is now 10gb in size..it took forever.
After finally figuring out the launcher (using the browse button to select the exe) I then ran FS2.
Apart from now being able to run FS 2 at 1440x900 there is no freaking difference at all. The same opening cinematic...the same menu graphic. No additional campaigns only the standard FS2 campaign.
So i start the training mission and theres no graphical difference at all....in fact..i got nothing for my 9gb download...please tell me theres more to this bacause im ready to uninstall. The youtube clips looked awesome..but what im seeing looks like the same old **** from 1999.

Offline The E

• He's Ebeneezer Goode
  • Nothing personal, just tech support.
    • Steam
    • Twitter
Re: Just installed FS2 Open...It looks like the same game to me
The first thing you need to do in order to get the graphical upgrades is open the Launcher's mod tab, and select the "MediaVPs 2014" mod. Then, when you start the game, you will still see the original interface graphics (we haven't touched those), but once you go into a mission, you should be able to see the hi-poly models and hires textures.
If I'm just aching this can't go on
I came from chasing dreams to feel alone
There must be changes, miss to feel strong
I really need lifе to touch me
--Evergrey, Where August Mourns

Offline gl3nnium

thanks i will try that..but waht about all that extra content and missions im not seeing?