Author Topic: Debris and Gravity  (Read 11004 times)

Offline Black Wolf

• Twisted Infinities
  • Hey! You! Get off-a my cloud!
    • Visit the TI homepage!
Is it possible to script in some sort of system where by debris is affected by gravity? ATM if you put a mission in an atmospheric skybox, the debris flies off ala zero G, which kind of kills the immersion a little bit. It'd be nice to have it fall down instead.

Possible?

[EDIT]I have tried to look into this myself, for the record, but scripting and programming is something I've had zero experience with. I got as far as isHull, and then realized I had no idea how to apply it :\.
TWISTED INFINITIES · SECTORGAME· FRONTLINES
Rarely Updated P3D.
Burn the heretic who killed F2S! Burn him, burn him!!- GalEmp

Offline Wanderer

• Wiki Warrior
  • Mostly harmless
For bigger debris bits it is possible to do. For the small debris shards i'm not sure
Do not meddle in the affairs of coders for they are soggy and hard to light

Offline m!m

It actually very easy to implement :P
See this:
Code: [Select]
#Conditional Hooks

$Application: FS2_Open
$On Frame:
[
globalG = 9.81
for i=1,#mn.Debris do
local vec = ba.createVector(0, -1, 0)
vec = vec * globalG / 50
mn.Debris[i].Physics.Velocity = mn.Debris[i].Physics.Velocity + vec
end
]

#End

Gives cool results with the new mediavp effects ;7
« Last Edit: October 19, 2010, 10:20:29 am by m!m »

Offline Sushi

• Art Critic
I imagine it's easier to do with debris than with ships, since with debris, you don't have to worry about damping messing up your gravity math. :)

You may want to consider including some sort of "drag" factor as well, so the debris reaches terminal velocity instead of accelerating forever...

Offline Kobrar44

• On Suspended Sentence
  • Let me tilerape it for you!
    • Steam
What about landscape? Once debris hit landscape, it will contnue to ram it. It is unevitable, I guess?
Oh guys, use that [ url ][ img ][ /img ][ /url ] :/

Offline Black Wolf