Author Topic: Tell me about Descent  (Read 3816 times)

Offline eliex

Descent 3 is like one of the best ever games I've ever played. It was revolutionary at its time, the SP very well planned. Myself, I haven't played MP so I can't really comment on that.
Anyway, like Mongoose said, $6 for the game there is no way you can lose.

All of Descent's learning curves were steep.  Complex Maps in old school FPSes were like getting lost in New York, while complex maps in Descent were like getting lost in the small intestine.

except the small intestines has no intersections :) there's only one path, one way in, one way out. XD

But I get your point lol.
Could we with ink the ocean fill, and were the skies of parchment made
Were every stalk on earth a quill, and every man a scribe by trade
To write the love of God above, would drain the ocean dry
Nor could the scroll contain the whole, though stretched from sky to sky!

Yeah, but I challenge you to know which way is in and which way is out once you're in them :P

Easy.  You go in one side, and never let yourself get turned around.
Could we with ink the ocean fill, and were the skies of parchment made
Were every stalk on earth a quill, and every man a scribe by trade
To write the love of God above, would drain the ocean dry
Nor could the scroll contain the whole, though stretched from sky to sky!

Offline CP5670

• Dr. Evil
  • Global Moderator
I always particularly enjoyed D3's CTF mode, since it could get ridiculously fluid and fast-paced with two well-balanced teams.  The sadly-underplayed Assault mode was a lot of fun, too, as were one or two of the user-created gametype mods floating around (yay Instareap!)

One of the best things about D3's CTF was that it had a 4 team variant, and that mode actually used to be played often in the Quadsomniac map back then. That added an extra strategic element to it, since you could rapidly increase your score by collecting multiple flags at once.