Author Topic: Absolute Beginners  (Read 2057 times)

Offline diamondgeezer

Just wondering... when buggering about with the source code, is a knowledge/mastery or C++ essential or merely handy?

Offline RandomTiger

The FS2 code is a very big codebase, I dont think anyone here can claim they know how all of it works. Im fairly knowledgable about the graphics system but know little about the rest.

First of all the code is really C with a few C++ features.
Someone who knows C really well is going to have a much easier time than a good C++ programmer.

Depending on which bits of the code you are looking at you have to know different things, WIN32, DX5/8, etc, though I imagine if you were to choose a job carefully you might just be able to program in ANSI C.

However where ever you are in the code you have to work with V's structures and functions. And since these are part of something so big it can be overwelming.

I would say you need to be fairly good at C/C++ to understand the code and very good to make any significant additions.

I suggest you download it and take a look. Doesnt do any harm to look. If you want to have a go at changing something start small.

Also this thread may be of interest to you:

http://www.hard-light.net/forums/index.php/topic,10563.0.html

Offline diamondgeezer

So I probably won't be bothering, then.

Go lack of programming ability w00+!

Offline RandomTiger

Theres a fair few other things you could do to help.
We need testers, texturers and I could do with someone willing to take on a small project (no difficult skills required)

Offline mikhael

• Back to skool
  • Fnord!
    • http://www.google.com/search?q=404error.com
Originally posted by RandomTiger
... I could do with someone willing to take on a small project (no difficult skills required)

Tell us, don't hint at it. ;)
[I am not really here. This post is entirely a figment of your imagination.]

Offline RandomTiger

Um.. if you are asking for details: