Author Topic: Help with .csv editing  (Read 3221 times)

Offline Cipher

• Target verified, commencing hostilities!
Help with .csv editing
well, i was editing the direwolf csv to add a favorite (canon) variant of mine, and after i finished and went to solo mission to make sure it works, this happened.

so, now i'm looking through the csv to find what i did wrong, and because i'm not really experienced in this, i'm totally stumped

p.s. i edited it with ms excel 03, and i'll put it here to see if someone could try and help me

[attachment deleted by ninja]
What sad world do we live in, where we turn a serious post about a threatening virus into a free-for-all lol pic convention?

Re: Help with .csv editing
First mistake, using Excel or some  other DB type program to edit.  Made that one myself.     :confused:

Your best bet is to use NotePad.  You can change the values between the commas without losing any.

Just from looking at the first few lines I see missing commas at the end of the line.  The code expects them to be there, and if not, will throw off positions for other values in the data.

Go to my web site.   http://members.cox.net/morkover/

Download the CSV Weapons coding file, it's in Rich Text Format.  It explains how to make what changes you want.  Plus a little hysterical background on the files.  :nod:
Quidquid Latine dictum sit, profundum viditur.
(Whatever is said in Latin appears profound)

Offline Starman01

• Mechwarrior
    • Wing Commander Saga
There is also a tool available to edit csv files, but having the same good look as excel. It's called "CSVed". However, while it supports a good and organized view, I find it quite unhandy in editing. You can try, but your best bet is as TheOldman said, using notepad. In time you get used where each value is stored
MECHCOMMANDER OMNITECH

9 out of 10 voices in my head always tell me that I'm not insane. The 10th is only humming the melody of TETRIS.

Offline Droid803

• Trusted poster of legit stuff