Author Topic: Is there a way to use GPL code in the FSO? Kinda  (Read 1628 times)

Offline Flaser

• man/fish warsie
Is there a way to use GPL code in the FSO? Kinda
This is something that's been bugging me for a while. There are a bunch of GPL programs out there that could benefit FSO, however the licence of the Freespace source code prevents it from being released under GPL - something that's a must if you include GPL-ed code in your software.

...or is it?

GPL-ed code has been used by commercial game companies on several occasions and they sure as hell didn't release their source code under GPL. How did they do it?

"The development team can create a wrapper that will form a shared (aka dynamic) library and shield the proprietary code from the GPL code."

The article below goes into detail:
http://windyroad.org/2006/04/20/using-gpl-code-within-proprietory-code/

Is it kinda complicated? Yep. Is it worth it? I'll let the coders be the judge of that. I'm not a coder, however I thought I'd get the ball rolling, as hearing why the team doesn't use this approach - and reasons like no-one being familiar with using code in this manner is a perfectly valid one! - would finally put this old question to rest or give those who want to give it a try a clue.

EDIT: Here's the GNU description of how this "should" be done
https://www.gnu.org/licenses/gpl-faq.html#GPLInProprietarySystem

However, in many cases you can distribute the GPL-covered software alongside your proprietary system. To do this validly, you must make sure that the free and non-free programs communicate at arms length, that they are not combined in a way that would make them effectively a single program.

...and how it shouldn't:

I'd like to incorporate GPL-covered software in my proprietary system. Can I do this by putting a “wrapper” module, under a GPL-compatible lax permissive license (such as the X11 license) in between the GPL-covered part and the proprietary part? (#GPLWrapper)