Author Topic: Cheats using scripts?  (Read 2128 times)

Cheats using scripts?
I'm currently working on making some missions, before actually diving into modding. However, I'm using the cheats a lot to test the missions safely (and yes, to have some fun now and again). However, it's a pain to have to type "www.freespace2.com" each time. Is it possible to create a script that either enables the cheats, or create custom cheats? This is specifically for invulnerability and destroy the targeted ship. A cheat menu, similar to the command menu, would be nice.

I have some knowledge of Lua, but not in combination with FS2 Open, so I have no idea where to start. I've read the pages in the wiki, but can find no references as to how I can get a reference to the player or targeted ship, and set it to be invulnerable, or destroy it.

Offline General Battuta

• Poe's Law In Action
  • i wonder when my postcount will exceed my iq
Re: Cheats using scripts?
You can just set up an event in FRED to make the player invulnerable when you press one.

Same goes for making your target invulnerable, or blowing up your target, but those will be slightly more complicated (you might have to use argument lists, which you might not be familiar with yet).

No LUA required.

Offline chief1983

• Still lacks a custom title
  • ⬇️⬆️⬅️⬅️🅰➡️⬇️
    • Minecraft
    • Twitter
    • Fate of the Galaxy
I'll admit though, a small mod to bring up a cheat enabling menu could be really nice to have around at this point.
Fate of the Galaxy - Now Hiring!  Apply within | Diaspora | SCP Home | Collada Importer for PCS2
Karajorma's 'How to report bugs' | Mantis
#freespace | #scp-swc | #diaspora | #SCP | #hard-light on EsperNet

"You may not sell or otherwise commercially exploit the source or things you created based on the source." -- Excerpt from FSO license, for reference

Nuclear1:  Jesus Christ zack you're a little too hamyurger for HLP right now...
iamzack:  i dont have hamynerge i just want ptatoc hips D: