Author Topic: Question about Flight Model dynamics  (Read 2580 times)

Offline Horizon

Question about Flight Model dynamics
In Beyond the Red Line demo from years ago, the ships move (I feel) more organically in space.  The turns are not as sudden, the stops are not as quick, there's more 'powersliding' so to speak.  This feels more natural to me given what I know about space and thrusters. 

Anyway those dynamics can make it into the flight model, or is there any way to code it myself from within the files? (I'm not a coder by trade, but I can alter small tidbits here and there.) I know it isn't really possible to add the side to side (strafing-style) thrusters to ships that do not have them, but anyway to simply alter some values within the code that would allow a more dynamic movement within my own run?  (I don't play online.)

Offline General Battuta

• Poe's Law In Action
  • i wonder when my postcount will exceed my iq
Re: Question about Flight Model dynamics
These values are easily modified in the tables using values like damping. No code access required.

Offline Sushi

• Art Critic
These values are easily modified in the tables using values like damping. No code access required.

Specifically, if you're looking for movement that is more "semi-newtonian", you'll want to:

Set $Use Newtonian Dampening: YES in AI Profiles.tbl

Increase the $Damp value in for ships in ships.tbl. You may also need to play with ship acceleration and top speed to get the effect you're after.

Offline Nuke

• Ka-Boom!
  • Mutants Worship Me