Author Topic: The University of FRED - Your first campaign release?  (Read 3938 times)

The University of FRED - Your first campaign release?
Hey, I get it. Starting a mod is hard. Following through on a mod is harder. Sometimes it seems overwhelming - there's so much to do; how do you even know where to start? Maybe modding seems like that cool thing other people do that you'd like to get into, if only you knew how.

If that sounds like you, you've come to the right place.

I'm Xeno (naomimyselfandi on Discord). I'm a FREDer and script developer for Between the Ashes, but I actually got my start on an unreleased campaign that specifically recruited newbies who wanted a gentle on-ramp to modding. While that project ended up falling through (ultimately due, I think, to over-ambition and scope creep), at least for me, it provided exactly what it set out to - a space to familiarize myself with modding and working with a team.

Now I want to pay it forward.

The plan here's pretty simple. If you feel that you could benefit from this, send in an application - I recommend Discord, but a PM here is fine. You can be a total newcomer who's awareness of modding is that Blue Planet is pretty cool, but you should feel welcome even if you've got a release or two under your belt. Once we've assembled a team, we'll make a mod. I'm visualizing eightish missions, but that number can absolutely change if needed!

I'll act as a project leader, but I see myself as being pretty hands-off. I want this to be your project, so I'll limit myself to facilitating discussions and workshopping ideas, providing guidance, and keeping an eye on scope creep. (I'm a software developer in real life, and I've lead projects like this before.)

Now, as much as I'd like to work with everyone and anyone who's interested, massive teams are more a recipe for burnout than success. With that in mind, there's a simple application process. Just send me a document with the following information: