Author Topic: A little Refresher course for us n00bies  (Read 3024 times)

A little Refresher course for us n00bies
I'm not new to modding, in general, but I am new to the freespace 2 community, and ports specifically. Help a poor guy out and inform me what is required to run the Freespace 1 port onto fs2, where it needs to be installed, how and what inferno is for (I have release 1 downloaded), What FS_open is (and if I should have it, or if it's required) and whether these are cross compatible with the Sol-a History and Homesick campeigns/mods. (Be nice to get those working too ;) )Right now all I have actually installed is the typical freespace 2 installation, as well as a pilot who's beaten the campeign w/ almost all the medals. everything else is zipped on my HD and ready to install. I also own the original 2 disk freespace:the great war. What do I do now?Please keep the fs modding lingo to a minimum, I'm sure I'll pick up on it eventually.

[edit]Also, what video files, if any, arent included in the website downloads (I just went ahead and got em all, the high rez artwork, command breif anims, etc.) that I can/should just take off the disks and put on my HD? It would be nice if I didn't have to keep switching out disks, or if I could watch the fs1 vids during the ported campeign. If so, where do I put them? [/edit]
« Last Edit: April 22, 2004, 05:45:56 pm by 1836 »
"Do you plunder?"
"I have been known to plunder..."
"I refer ye t' darkstar one, one o' th' newer big budget spacers - it's lack o' variety were bein' insultin', an' th' mechanics weren't polished at all.  Every time a title like wot comes out, it pushes th' return o' th' space shooter genre further down th' sea." - Talk like a pirate day '09
"Hope for the best, expect the worst." -Heinlein

Offline Nix

• In the morning!
    • Minecraft
The Wiki has a great list of files and instructions on how to install the mods.