Author Topic: FSThing  (Read 2657 times)

Offline sigtau

• unfortunate technical art assclown
Hoo boy, it's been a while.

For those who converse with me on the Discord server, you know what this is. For those that don't, strap in.

For those who don't remember me, I was an HLP member back in '08 or '09 or so. I used to make ill-advised, overly grandiose, unintentionally comical mods because I was an undiagnosed, autistic 13-14 year old at the time who had no idea what he was doing. Still, that hasn't dampened my love for these games. In the time I've been gone, I graduated high school, finished undergrad, got a job in the games industry, *left* the games industry, and then started doing mostly gamedev in my spare time while working a more chill software engineering job. Nowadays I'm an ASD-diagnosed adult who puts his foot in his mouth on occasion, but still hangs around here regardless of that.

Enough of my life story though, that part is more for people who might/might not remember me from back then or for newbies who need a bit of context. I hit a massive, major depressive spike last year, and found it difficult to work on passion projects of any sort. Around this time I had started hanging around in the Discord again after years of lurking the forums as well as IRC when it was relevant. I did a playthrough of all the canon FS games as well as some fan favorites like Trimurti and Vassago's Dirge, as well as starting off with War in Heaven (which is cool!). While playing those games, I got to looking at a warp-cone model and thought to myself "yknow, I've acquired some skills over the years, I bet I could design that as a particle effect in another engine."

So I did. Then, I thought, why not have some ships come out of the portal? It's not complete without a ship. So out comes the GTF Apollo from the FSPort MediaVPs, and in it goes into Unity. Neat!

What about something bigger? Let's be sensible, we'll do a Fenris.