Author Topic: Noob Question: Changing Models - HOW?  (Read 2812 times)

Offline T_A

Noob Question: Changing Models - HOW?
ok im new to the open source freespace 2 world (just heard of it today and im amazed)
anyway how do change to the models i get from here

i downloaded the lucifer model , but all i got was the dds files
so without a readme im clueless

i would have searched but it seems to be disabled and the 2 pages i looked over didnt seems to help

Offline WeatherOp

• I forged the ban hammer. What about that?
    • http://www.geocities.com/weather_op/pageone.html?1113100476773
Re: Noob Question: Changing Models - HOW?
In your FS2 directory you will find a folder named Data, open it up and put the POF file in the Models folder and the DDS files in the Maps folder. :)
Decent Blacksmith, Master procrastinator.

PHD in the field of Almost Finishing Projects.

Offline karajorma

• King Louie - Jungle VIP
  • Administrator
    • Karajorma's Freespace FAQ
1. Where did you hear of it? We're always interested in learning where the steady stream of newbies is coming from :)

2. If you just want to see the HTL lucifer in action you can just download the 3.6.8 Beta VP files to get it (You'll also need the latest CVS build from the SCP's Recent Builds forum)

3. Nonetheless if you're interested in developing or bugtesting for FS2_open or just simply always want to have the latest stuff before it hits the media VP files you'll need to know so here goes.

For a new ship model to work in FS2 (or FS2_Open) it needs three things.

a) It needs the model. These come in the format filename.pof. These go in Freespace2\Data\Models if you've simply stuck the media.vp files in your main Freespace 2 folder.