Hard Light Productions Forums

Hosted Projects - Standalone => Diaspora => Diaspora Multiplayer Open Beta => Topic started by: skunimatrix on September 09, 2012, 04:12:01 am

Title: Viper MKVIIE crashing on first load
Post by: skunimatrix on September 09, 2012, 04:12:01 am
This was something we noticed last night in the second round of playing and as more people signed up was the first time someone went into a DF or TvT match and a Mark 7e was selected by anyone in the match, they would crash.  After reloading, the next time the MKVIIE was selected by a player everything loads just fine.  But it seemed to happen to every single person the first time the craft was loaded. 
Title: Re: Viper MKVIIE crashing on first load
Post by: skunimatrix on September 10, 2012, 10:42:23 pm
I'll add to this it seems like a lot of people are crashing the first time they load a ship to fly it other than the Viper MKVII.  After they crash and reload they can then select the ship and it loads fine.  Just something I'm noticing consistantly.
Title: Re: Viper MKVIIE crashing on first load
Post by: karajorma on September 10, 2012, 11:50:59 pm
So it seems that switching from whatever is the default ship for the mission is causing a crash, right?
Title: Re: Viper MKVIIE crashing on first load
Post by: skunimatrix on September 11, 2012, 07:03:05 am
Oddly enough it's as if the first time a model is loaded for multiplayer other than the default craft it crashes.  Once the model has been loaded once for multiplayer everything is just fine from that point forward. 
Title: Re: Viper MKVIIE crashing on first load
Post by: karajorma on September 11, 2012, 08:24:19 am
Cooper had a suggestion. Can you please check if there is anything in your Diaspora/Data/Cache folder please. It should be empty. If it's not, take a snapshot of what's in there, delete it and see if the crashes start happening again.
Title: Re: Viper MKVIIE crashing on first load
Post by: Ace on September 11, 2012, 03:07:13 pm
If it's the cache generation we could add default cache ships to a future patch.
Title: Re: Viper MKVIIE crashing on first load
Post by: skunimatrix on September 11, 2012, 03:20:04 pm
cache directory is empty at the moment.  I'll see what it does tonight when I get home.