Hosted Projects - FS2 Required > Between the Ashes

Performance and FPS issues

(1/4) > >>

McFettnippel:
Hello there,

I've been playing FreeSpace since I was a little kid nearly 20 years ago, but just recently discovered that there is this awesome community with loads and loads of new content for one of my all-time favorite games. I highly appreciate all the work that went into all these mods! But, not having played this game in a decade and never stumbling across this community, I am a big noob regarding all modding topics.

Now on to my problem: I am playing on a rather strong system and I am experiencing very bad framerates in most of the campaign missions in the Between the Ashes mod. In other mods like Blue Planet or ST:R I always stayed at my framecap of 120 fps, regardless of the situations or the amount of ships I encountered. In BtA however, many of the missions seem to involve a lot of ships and much debris, and that almost always kills my fps and brings it down to around 30, which is barely playable (at least in my experience). I do sometimes reach 120fps at the start of missions when there's hardly any ship around, but that changes rather quickly.

I already played around with the various graphic settings in the wxLauncher and ingame, to no avail. My GPU usage hovers around 20% and I got one CPU Core going around 50-70%, but there is no obvious bottleneck there; though the CPU usage fluctuates a lot, it never reaches higher 80's and the GPU is nearly always constant at those 20%. I even disabled CPU and GPU overclocks to see if that would help any, but it didn't.

So my question is: What do I do wrong? Is there any settings I have missed which are framerate-killers? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I am playing on FS2 Open 3.8.0 AVX 64-bit and using the latest wxLauncher. I have downloaded the entire mod library which was available during the FS2 Open Installer configuration, so all assets should be available.

My system: