Author Topic: i have a phd in Doing Dumb Things  (Read 2625 times)

i have a phd in Doing Dumb Things
also known as "halp im broked it again"

[attachment DELETED!! by Strong Bad]

Offline Kiloku

• Buzzbuzz!
    • Minecraft
Re: i have a phd in Doing Dumb Things
You should probably explain what the problem is and when it happens, not just blindly throw up a log and hope for the best.
Potato!

Offline General Battuta

• Poe's Law In Action
  • i wonder when my postcount will exceed my iq
Ugh. Does this crash happen even when you're not using a debug build? Where and when?

You should probably explain what the problem is and when it happens, not just blindly throw up a log and hope for the best.

there've been numerous different points that it's crashed so far for me, and triaging it myself has only seemed to change the crash point to different spots. random hostility duly noted tho

crash at the moment is occuring when i'm loading into the missions; usually if i get a popup or two about an error i just continue, but it if goes further than 3 i'll close it out and see if i can figure it out myself. crash also occurs at different points if i use different builds; 3_7_2 crashes at title screen, 3_7_3_sse seems to grind to a halt entering the campaign, so on and so forth. one part of me wonders if i have files allocated improperly, but that'd strike me as kind of strange since i used to fso installer with the campaign and everything.

Offline General Battuta

• Poe's Law In Action
You shouldn't ever get any error popups when playing in a release build. Are you playing on the nightly build that's linked in the Blue Planet release thread? Are you playing using a release, not a debug, build?

i've tried on some of both, including using some older builds (3_7_0_rc2 for instance), not a lot of progress. current builds i'm sitting on that i can use:

fs2_open_3_7_2
fs2_open_3_7_2-DEBUG
fs2_open_3_7_2-no-SSE
fs2_open_3_7_2-no-SSE-DEBUG
fs2_open_3_7_2-SSE