Author Topic: PhoenixE01 installs FreeSpace  (Read 11736 times)

PhoenixE01 installs FreeSpace
ok, so I'm a complete noob to the freespace Open source code project, and I apologize if this is a question with an obvious answer, but when installing it, how do I know where the GOG setup package is? each time i've tried I couldn't find it, and I thought that it meant wherever the install file from GOG.com is. again, if this is a stupid question I'm sorry, but i'm really stumped here. also, when I choose to put the instillation directory into the freespace 2 folder, the one that has the data files for the game, (C:\Program files(x86)\GOG.com\Freespace 2) it tells me that it can't make a temporary file there, yet anywhere else, I can, yet I get the feeling it needs to be where freespace 2 is. I am so lost in this that I'm afraid if I try to get creative, I'll just bork my PC
« Last Edit: May 30, 2014, 11:28:46 pm by PhoenixE01 »

Offline AdmiralRalwood

• The Cthulhu programmer himself!
    • Twitter
Re: PhoenixE01 installs FreeSpace
ok, so I'm a complete noob to the freespace Open source code project, and I apologize if this is a question with an obvious answer, but when installing it, how do I know where the GOG setup package is? each time i've tried I couldn't find it, and I thought that it meant wherever the install file from GOG.com is. again, if this is a stupid question I'm sorry, but i'm really stumped here. also, when I choose to put the instillation directory into the freespace 2 folder, the one that has the data files for the game, (C:\Program files(x86)\GOG.com\Freespace 2) it tells me that it can't make a temporary file there, yet anywhere else, I can, yet I get the feeling it needs to be where freespace 2 is. I am so lost in this that I'm afraid if I try to get creative, I'll just bork my PC
If you're on Windows, you don't need to let the installer install the GOG version for you, because you can just... run the GOG installer.