Modding, Mission Design, and Coding > The FRED Workshop

[Demo Release] Wing Commander Vega Assault

(1/4) > >>

Rabenrecht:
UPDATE - DEMO RELEASE

This is a short demo for the Wing Commander Vega Assault campaign - a re-imagining of the very first Wing Commander game.
This demo consist of the first two missions - Enyo 1  &  2.

Why this demo?
This is my very first attempt at Freespace 2 modding. With this release I aim to gather valuable feedback in order to learn and to improve.
Am I on the right track? Is there any interesst in a campaign of this style?

How to get & installation instructions

* Get Knossos: https://fsnebula.org/knossos/
* Install my mod with this link:
* Start Wing Commander Vega Assault, open the campaign selection: there should be two entries: "Vega Assault Demo" and "Vega Assault Demo Ironman".
* Choose one of the and start playing!
There are two verions of the demo: normal and Ironman

Ironman is exactly what it sounds like: if you die (or turn traitor or let the Tiger's Claw be destroyed) your campaign is over.

Failing a mission objectives will not fail the mission.
Pressing Alt-X will activate the emergency ejection ending the mission after 2 seconds. All open objectives will considered failures - but you will survive.
The above is true regardless of Ironman mode.

I appreciate any feedback  :)

In particular:

* Did you encounter any bugs?
* Did you came accross any spelling/grammar errors or unwieldy or strange expressions and sentences? (English is not my native language...)
* Did you find the mission objectives clear? Was there any point where you din't know what to do?
* Was it, you know, fun? Kinda important :p
I would also like your opinion on the combat and flight model (speed, damage, shields etc.)