Hard Light Productions Forums

Hosted Projects - FS2 Required => Between the Ashes => Topic started by: caine440 on August 26, 2020, 04:40:21 pm

Title: Unable to play BTA
Post by: caine440 on August 26, 2020, 04:40:21 pm
Hello All.
 I am very new to all of this.
 I have the newest Knossos 0.14.3 installed and the media VPs are up to date.
 I think I ran the debug correctly and have a link to the log.
https://fsnebula.org/log/5f46d3a9bc2bea6bba5a561d

I can click the debug on the error message several times and the open cut sceen will start and then the main hall appears. I can not start a campaign as it crashes.
I am betting I have some set up wrong, I just have not been able to find the solution.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Title: Re: YUnable to play BTA
Post by: mjn.mixael on August 26, 2020, 04:46:31 pm
Go in to your Knossos settings and open the Knossos dropdown. Set Preferred engine stability to Nightlies and check the box that says Show Engine Builds in Mod List. Click Save.

Go the Explore tab and find FSO mod with the SCP logo and click update. After that's done, run BtA again.
Title: Re: YUnable to play BTA
Post by: caine440 on August 27, 2020, 10:16:04 am
Thank you that cleared up the error messages I was getting.
Now when it launches I have audio but the screen is black. If I hit escape I just get a cursor.
I found I have the same issues when I try to play the latest update to the mediaVP .
If I run the update just prior, the mediaVP runs fine.
All my other installs seem to be playable.
I just finished Echo Gate from the Shivans mod.

Thanks again.

Thanks again.
Title: Re: YUnable to play BTA
Post by: mjn.mixael on August 27, 2020, 10:46:58 am
Then at this point we need a debug log.

In Knossos, hover your mouse over BtA or the MediaVPs and click the dropdown arrow that appears. Then click Run Fast Debug. This will run the game in a special build. When you get the black screen, exit the game. Go back to that same dropdown menu and click Upload Debug Log. Then paste the link here that it gives you.
Title: Re: YUnable to play BTA
Post by: caine440 on August 27, 2020, 11:58:32 am
Will do.
 Thanks
Title: Re: Unable to play BTA
Post by: caine440 on August 27, 2020, 02:50:26 pm
Very odd.
In fast debug the opening for BTA played and the game started but was missing all the test in the dialog boxes.
Here is link.
https://fsnebula.org/log/5f480d8ebc2bea6bba5a561f

The mediaVP 4.3.3 goes  black when I try and play normally but when I ran it with the fast debug it played fine.
I did turn off the antivirus just in case it was messing with things.
Title: Re: Unable to play BTA
Post by: caine440 on August 27, 2020, 02:57:48 pm
I went back to check on some of the other mods and now many of them also just open to a black screen.
I just finished STR yesterday and now it will not play.
I must have done something bad.  :banghead:
Title: Re: Unable to play BTA
Post by: mjn.mixael on August 27, 2020, 03:26:52 pm
Quote
3:10 PM] DahBlount: sounds like he may have installed Knossos or its library over his FS2 install
[3:12 PM] MjnMixael: wut
[3:17 PM] DahBlount: he did a big oof
[3:17 PM] DahBlount: might be better off just reinstalling everything from scratch
[3:17 PM] DahBlount: since that seems to be the theme for fixing FSO problems recently
Title: Re: Unable to play BTA
Post by: caine440 on August 27, 2020, 03:35:44 pm
If I turn the preferred engine to stable everything plays fine except BTA and the Media VP 4.3.3 .
Media VP 4.2.3. plays fine as do the rest of the installed mods.
Title: Re: Unable to play BTA
Post by: caine440 on August 27, 2020, 03:39:09 pm
Is there away to uninstall the 4.3.3 update ?
Title: Re: Unable to play BTA
Post by: mjn.mixael on August 27, 2020, 03:48:35 pm
That is a short-term solution. The updates won't stop. So you can either figure this out now or just never update again. You can uninstall specific mod versions from the detail tab in Knossos.
Title: Re: Unable to play BTA
Post by: caine440 on August 27, 2020, 04:19:16 pm
Understood.
 Just trying to figure out what changed that started my problems.
 I really appreciate all your help.
 This is a great group and I am glad I found it.
 Love all the new mods.
Title: Re: Unable to play BTA
Post by: caine440 on August 28, 2020, 06:27:28 pm
This is my debug log after deleting and reinstalling.
https://fsnebula.org/log/5f49877844e6d941785a5626
Title: Re: Unable to play BTA
Post by: caine440 on September 04, 2020, 10:56:03 pm
After a week of messing with settings that I am sure I don't understand, I have been able to play BTA 1.2.5 with FSO 19.0.0 and I have to say even running this older release it was well worth the work.
Just a few missions in I am really enjoying this campaign.
So many improvements and added depth.
A big thanks to the BTA team.