Author Topic: .tbl help  (Read 2970 times)

I hope I'm posting in the appropriate place.  Let me apologize in advance if I'm in error here.

I'm not into modding like some are, I don't really have the skills and/or knowledge to do anything impressive like the ST: Reborn, which was amazing.  I did manage to figure out how to extract a .vp, rebuild a .vp, and  to open .tbl in notepad.  I've been tinkering with the weapons.tbl because I've always hated the rate of fire of certain weapons in FS/FS2, but I also don't want to completely break the games balance so mostly I've been cranking up RoF and reducing damage.  Simple enough.

Well, then I started playing with ships.tbl.  Just kind of toying with stuff for the crap of it.  I have the original .vp backed up and figured, 'what's the harm?'  I find it a little irritating that so many of the ships in FS1 only have one secondary hardpoint.  The Valkyrie should have two, right?  You need an anti-bomber missile...it's a must.  But then, you also kind of need something for fighters too.  But rebuilding the necessary .vp for FS1 is kind of a pain whereas the FS2 .vp is like three directories...easy.  So without really thinking about it I added an extra secondary to the Myrmidon.  I was already adding the Harpoon to the Myrmidon secondary weapon allow list because why the crap can't you put a Harpoon in a Myrmidon?  Ridiculous.  and I added a secondary slot while I was there.  I ran FS2 and behold! Three secondary slots for the Myrmidon!  Oh wait though...don't you have to add some information to the model so the game knows where the hardpoint is?  I thought probably yes.  And isn't that a little bit beyond my current ability?  Definitely.  Oh, well.  No harm done and I return to the ships.tbl and return the Myrmidon to it's former secondary weapon configuration (I kept the Harpoon), rebuild the .vp and add it to the game.  Only now I go into FS2 and find that the placeholder on the loadout screen for the 3rd secondary slot r