Author Topic: Hotshot - FreeSpace like game for Android  (Read 3750 times)

Hotshot - FreeSpace like game for Android
I am a developer that likes the Freespace series and has created an android game that borrows elements from the Descent Freespace series

Here is the link:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=headwayEnt.Blackhole_Darksun_Demo

Please tell me what you think of my project and who knows maybe I will look at the code from Freespace and port it to my engine in order to be able to create a Freespace port on Android. Maybe with scaled down textures and models etc. it would be viable.

The mobile game right now is also ported to PC so it will support both Windows and Linux along Android.

Offline Unknown Target

• Get off my lawn!
  • Push.Pull?
Re: Hotshot - FreeSpace like game for Android
I think you're going to run into some serious legal issues if you try to take code from the Freespace engine and port it to your own; that would be theft without the original author's permission.

Hi Hotshot, I downloaded the demo but it doesn't run, so I can't tell you what I think of it yet. Any advice?
Android version 2.3.4
HTC T-Mobile G2 (unlocked)

Hi Hotshot, I downloaded the demo but it doesn't run, so I can't tell you what I think of it yet. Any advice?
Android version 2.3.4
HTC T-Mobile G2 (unlocked)

It doesn't run on your phone because it's a bit of an old phone with 800 mhz CPU. My game is pretty much next-gen if you can call it like that, it requires at least a dual core of 1.2 of maybe even 1.5 GHZ and a much newer GPU. Sorry about that but I tried to make it pretty good looking for a mobile phone, so it takes a lot of power from the today's mobile phones.

I think you're going to run into some serious legal issues if you try to take code from the Freespace engine and port it to your own; that would be theft without the original author's permission.