Author Topic: Outlining a Gamedev Plan  (Read 749 times)

Offline AtomicClucker

• Runnin' from Trebs
Outlining a Gamedev Plan
So, in my spare time I've been looking at turning a lot of my old idea mess into a workable product - the question is how and why.

After several failures pitching, rolling, stabbing and thumping the idea, I finally found something I'm happy with and started to toil to make that vision from concepts, rambling scripts, ideas scrawled on napkins into reality.

But the hard truth of game development is hard work. And what I'm doing is more a work of passion, than it is a monetary project. After enduring many failures... I'm quite happy to just to work on it as a long-term side project. The monetary angle perished a while back and I'm in favor of just making that vision a reality for its own sake.

So to top off a short ramble - I've some experience in game development - from mods that died from inanity, to projects that seemed on the verge of fruition, but vanished when the leader had IRL issues and never returned. Made lots of noise myself, succeeded in biting myself in the ass - and even headed my own project that went down in flames because I never set boundaries and treated it roughly, only to have a team revolt when the chief editor declared himself the new lead under the guise of group control. And that died horribadly and caused substantial anger among friends. Some of these were just bad luck, others were plainly my fault. And so I had to take a stack of failures and learn from it. For a while I tried modding here, then IRL issues went to hell because my family is quite literally off their rocker.