Hard Light Productions Forums

Modding, Mission Design, and Coding => FS2 Open Coding - The Source Code Project (SCP) => Topic started by: Killfrenzy on February 14, 2003, 07:25:07 am

Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Killfrenzy on February 14, 2003, 07:25:07 am
1) Is it possible to code it so that ships DON'T get vapourised by the beam? Can they just explode 'normally?'

2) YOU STILL DON'T GET CREDIT FOR THE KILL!!! <-- My biggest gripe!! :D

On another note, who was doing beam helixes? How are they coming along? (WANTS THEM!!!)
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: IceFire on February 14, 2003, 08:05:53 am
3) Limited range.

4) Correct sound.

5) Cycling or non-cycling.
Title: Re: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: DTP on February 14, 2003, 08:48:50 am
Quote
Originally posted by Killfrenzy
1) Is it possible to code it so that ships DON'T get vapourised by the beam? Can they just explode 'normally?'

2) YOU STILL DON'T GET CREDIT FOR THE KILL!!! <-- My biggest gripe!! :D

On another note, who was doing beam helixes? How are they coming along? (WANTS THEM!!!)


everything is possible, if you have the time and the drive.

its a lot like the average essay, where you form an idea, you mold it, you arguement against it and for it, and finally you have a layout.

But we all know that an essay is easy to write because we all know how to write.

But to write code is a different mather, well especially since we are dealing with code done by other people. for exp. i have a very good picture of how the file system works, how it builds a file list, how it acces them, etc etc.

But i have little or no idea about the rendering, the weapons or the ship.

True i fixed the secondary bug, but that was easy, since the bug was a genuine bug where some Programmer remembered wrong and put in the wrong value. To tell the truth, the way he wanted it to be done, was not possible.

the only person who has dealt with beam weapons so far is Bobboau. And he is still learning alot of stuff. and beleive me there is a lot of stuff to learn. Also, he might have other interests, for example his POF editor.

I´m also learning, but i have this huge kick ass book from the creator of C++. A bit hard to understand for the novice, but once you get the hang of it, its easier, not easy, but easier.

so what i saying, give the man some time. evetually, he will come around to it.
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Kazan on February 14, 2003, 09:35:09 am
the helix position at point (x, y, z) should be determined as follows

assuming that +z is the direction of travel

(sin(z), sin(z), z)
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: DTP on February 14, 2003, 09:38:42 am
Quote
Originally posted by Kazan
the helix position at point (x, y, z) should be determined as follows

assuming that +z is the direction of travel

(sin(z), sin(z), z)

:wtf:

i think i get what you mean, but where does ít aim.
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Kazan on February 14, 2003, 10:07:23 am
down the Z axis
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: DTP on February 14, 2003, 10:09:28 am
Quote
Originally posted by Kazan
down the Z axis


yeah yeah, but unless i misunderstood it,

who?. :).
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Bobboau on February 14, 2003, 10:21:35 am
I already have fixed the kills thing and the vaporize thing and the cycleing thing (though cycling is a bit of a hack at the moment it is relaited to shots(the beam field) and firewait) sound is proveing to be a major pain in the ass, and the limeted range I want to wait untill I get sounds fixed
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: IceFire on February 14, 2003, 10:48:52 am
If those things are present in the next release (or the current one) then TBP will release and require the Open version of the EXE for play.
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Inquisitor on February 14, 2003, 11:43:39 am
Bob: I'd call these bugs, is that something that can make it into CVS asap?
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Bobboau on February 14, 2003, 04:23:57 pm
well if they arn't in there now they will be,
I'm going to dedicate myself to fixing the fighter beams once and for all this weekend
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Fury on February 15, 2003, 03:14:47 am
Quote
Originally posted by Bobboau
I'm going to dedicate myself to fixing the fighter beams once and for all this weekend

WOOHOO! Everyone praise the mighty Bobboau! :D
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Solatar on February 15, 2003, 10:31:41 am
*praise praise praise*
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Bobboau on February 15, 2003, 04:48:11 pm
vaporised bug-fixed
kill getting bug-fixed
sound bug(s)-fixed
next up range
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: vyper on February 15, 2003, 05:26:30 pm
*pats Bob on head* Good programmer! Gooood boy! ;)
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Inquisitor on February 15, 2003, 06:05:23 pm
now all we need are committs :)

once he's got em all licked, of course :)
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Bobboau on February 15, 2003, 06:10:46 pm
I've given beam weapons a range, I'm not sure if they do damage or not beond the set range, but they only render to a table specified range, next I shal implement damage based on distance.
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Solatar on February 15, 2003, 07:39:39 pm
Don't forget cycling!
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Bobboau on February 15, 2003, 11:27:11 pm
didn't mention cycleing becase it's been in the code for months now

OK, commiting all improvements, to use the new limeted range stuff
Code: [Select]
$BeamInfo:
      +Type:                        3
      +Life:                        0.9
      +Warmup:                      -1
      +Warmdown:                    -1
      +Radius:                      4.0
      +PCount:                      0
      +PRadius:                     0.0
      +PAngle:                      0.0
      +PAni:                        particleexp01
      +Miss Factor:                 0.5 0.7 0.9 1.1 1.3
      +BeamSound: 84
      +WarmupSound:                 151
      +WarmdownSound:               157
      +Muzzleglow:                  minbari_bg1
      [i]+Shots:                       1[/i]
      +ShrinkFactor:                0.0
      +ShrinkPct:                   0.0
[b] +Range: 2500
+Atenuation: 0.75[/b]
      $Section:
...


shots is the number of beams that will be fired at a time,
more importantly the new values

+Range:
this is the max length the beam will fire if you are beond this range it does not apply any damage (though it may still show an impact explosion), also the beam will not render any further than this and the beam will gradualy fade along the length, I have taken into acount for beams getting shorter when they hit stuff so there should not be beams that sudenly look faded when they hit stuff.

+Atenuation:
this is the point (between 0.0 and 1.0) along the length of the beam that damage will start to weaken, by defalt it is set to 1.0 wich means damage does not get atenuated untill the end of the beam, wich means it does not get atenuated. if you wanted a beam that was strongest right at it's sorce you but was half as strong half way down the beam you'd set it to 0.0, if you wanted a beam that was 100% powerful intill half way down the beam you'd set it to 0.5

the only thing the current beam system does not suport is warm up/downs and I don't think it is going to get it any time soon, though I may play with it a little.
but bad things happen every time I've tryed to get it to do that
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Bobboau on February 15, 2003, 11:31:48 pm
test me (http://freespace.volitionwatch.com/blackwater/fs2_open.zip)
;7
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: LAM3O on February 16, 2003, 02:13:53 am
Wow you sure know how to get things done, thanks for the hard work.  I can't wait to try it but i'm probably too dumb to get it it working.
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Bobboau on February 16, 2003, 03:06:45 am
I tryed makeing a relese build and it's crashing when ever I try and start up a campain, it does not do this in the debug build, and I have not been able get even the slimmest clue as to why and i have been fideling with it for bout three hours now, will someone else be able to see if this was something introduced by me just now or if it was there before my commit at about 11:30
I'm going to clean and rebuild but I highly doubt it is going to help any
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Galemp on February 16, 2003, 03:27:08 am
I tried it with the glow-map exe on the 'Resources' page and it happens there too. :confused:
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Bobboau on February 17, 2003, 12:53:05 am
has anyone looked into this?
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Killfrenzy on February 18, 2003, 08:49:48 am
Bob, the kills thing still doesn't work, but everything else is fine........apart from the garbage spewed in the corner of the screen! :D
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: redmenace on February 19, 2003, 05:50:14 pm
ok here is are the table, for you less FS2 savy people(like me), to use inorder to get bobboau's new beam code. Just get the file and d/l it and place the contents into the the root of your freespace like C:\games\freespace 2\ for most people.
here is the URL:
http://www.geocities.com/red_menace7/testtable.zip
and here is the exe build:
http://freespace.volitionwatch.com/blackwater/new_debug.zip

credits to the TBP project for the TGAs and PCX, and to the SCP, and bobboau in particular.
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: redmenace on February 19, 2003, 08:20:19 pm
whoops.....you have to right click the link and hit save target as. Also the GTF Ulysses is the only thing that can use the Beam.
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Solatar on February 19, 2003, 09:02:51 pm
Quote
Originally posted by redmenace
Also the GTF Ulysses is the only thing that can use the Beam.


Doesn't matter to me, when I test weapons I just use the debug codes anyway.
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Killfrenzy on February 20, 2003, 06:22:30 am
Quote
Originally posted by redmenace
whoops.....you have to right click the link and hit save target as. Also the GTF Ulysses is the only thing that can use the Beam.


So change it in the table!! :D
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: redmenace on February 20, 2003, 07:06:00 am
Umm well I will later today after school and just upload a new zip with all the information in it. But ya know I was just feelin' kinda lazy last night and didn't want to insert "nuetron beam" into all the fighter entries, although I could just use microsoft word or notepad to just add it into the lines with pbank.
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: redmenace on February 20, 2003, 08:51:06 am
snarl.....ok I have finished inserting the "Neutron Gun" into the terran ship but that is enough for testing purposes. but anyway instructions same as before. I haven't tested it yet. so anyway. happy hunting
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Inquisitor on February 20, 2003, 06:12:50 pm
Bob: I haven't seen a committ, did we get some bugfixes?

Kinda waiting on 3.5 :)
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Bobboau on February 20, 2003, 06:48:43 pm
it should have gotten commited, fire a fighter beam from you're ship and if it makes the correct sounds then it got commited,

also could you check on that crash bug

or better yet look for this
Quote

 * Revision 2.11  2003/02/16 05:14:29  bobboau
 * added glow map nebula bug fix for d3d, someone should add a fix for glide too
 * more importantly I (think I) have fixed all major bugs with fighter beams, and added a bit of new functionality
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Killfrenzy on February 21, 2003, 11:15:30 am
Bob, whenever I fire a fighter beam it plays the sound and WON'T STOP PLAYING IT!! Even when I've stopped firing.......

I switched off all weapon sounds for it, and it starting playing the 'lock on' beeper ad inifinitum......
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Bobboau on February 21, 2003, 11:18:11 am
were you useing this (http://freespace.volitionwatch.com/blackwater/new_debug.zip) exe
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Killfrenzy on February 21, 2003, 11:27:09 am
If that's the one you posted at the beginning of the thread, then I think so.
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Killfrenzy on February 22, 2003, 01:24:33 pm
BUMP:ha:

Tried again last night with your debug build, Bob, and the problem still occurs. It's fine until you shoot, at which point it keeps repeating the sound.
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Bobboau on February 22, 2003, 05:59:29 pm
crap, it IS still doing it, ARRGGG :mad:
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Killfrenzy on February 23, 2003, 02:21:15 pm
Any ideas on the cause?

BTW: Any chance of making those weapons usable by capships? Tried it once and they don't like shooting with them. But I don't want to use AAAs if I can help it.......
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Bobboau on February 23, 2003, 03:17:48 pm
well how would they use them, the only diference between fighter beams and other beams is that fighter beams don't have a defanant target, they last for one frame, and they have no warm up/down, I guess the turrets could just swing them around wildly.

the stop fire primary function isn't getting called corectly for the player ship, or it isn't handeling the sound stop corectly
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Fury on February 24, 2003, 02:25:02 am
Quote
Originally posted by Bobboau
I guess the turrets could just swing them around wildly.

This is a must try, could produce an interesting effect. :)
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Killfrenzy on February 24, 2003, 07:09:32 am
What I'm after is a similar 'feel' to Imperium Galactica III. All the laser/energy weapons are beams, which I think is A) More realistic and B) Cooler!
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Raptor on February 24, 2003, 08:23:51 am
Quote
Originally posted by Killfrenzy
What I'm after is a similar 'feel' to Imperium Galactica III. All the laser/energy weapons are beams, which I think is A) More realistic and B) Cooler!


Or B5 style high energy plasma weapons.  Thats what I've got anyway;).
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Bobboau on February 25, 2003, 12:36:49 am
this (http://freespace.volitionwatch.com/blackwater/fs2_open.zip) is an update, all fighter beam bugs should now be fully resolved, this also has bank specific loadouts,
and to enable shield pierceing simply add the string "pierce" into the flags of a weapon, they will go strait through shields doing no damage, but leaving a hit effect were they went through, I will look into getting better handeling of fighter beams on turrets ( :rolleyes: :lol: ) for later use
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Killfrenzy on February 25, 2003, 08:09:42 am
Thanks, Bob. I'll have a play with the new fix. :)

The reason why I don't want to use AAAfs is mainly because they're a leetle unreliable! I only want one shot out of them with a short recharge rate. :)
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: IceFire on February 25, 2003, 08:16:15 am
I made those with standard beams for the Omega-X in TBP.  Its a standard beam that doesn't have the "huge" tag or whatever so they fire at fighters.
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Killfrenzy on February 25, 2003, 08:19:58 am
You mean they actually shoot at fighters as often as they're supposed to?

And my Capship Laser 1 (boring I know) doesn't have the "huge" tag either, yet it's not that regular......
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: IceFire on February 25, 2003, 08:43:49 am
Here's the code because I'm such a nice guy! :D
Code: [Select]

; EA Light Fusion Beam AAA

$Name:                          EA Light Fusion Beam
$Model File:                  none
@Laser Bitmap:                laserglow01
@Laser Color:                 20, 20, 220
@Laser Length:                0.0
@Laser Head Radius:           0.0
@Laser Tail Radius:           0.0
$Mass:                        1.0
$Velocity:                    1000.0
$Fire Wait:                   2.0
$Damage:                      14
$Armor Factor:                1.0
$Shield Factor:               1.0
$Subsystem Factor:            1.0
$Lifetime:                    1.2
$Energy Consumed:             0.0
$Cargo Size:                  0.0
$Homing:                      NO
$LaunchSnd:                   125
$ImpactSnd:                   88
+Weapon Range:                1500
$Flags:                       ("Big Ship" "beam")
$Icon:                        icongun05
$Anim:                        LoadGun02
$Impact Explosion:              ExpMissileHit1
$Impact Explosion Radius:       10.0
$BeamInfo:
      +Type:                        3
      +Life:                        0.8
      +Warmup:                      1500
      +Warmdown:                    1000
      +Radius:                      10.0
      +PCount:                      0
      +PRadius:                     0.0
      +PAngle:                      0.0
      +PAni:                        particleexp01
      +Miss Factor:                 1.2 1.6 2.1 2.2 2.5
      +BeamSound:                   149
      +WarmupSound:                 151
      +WarmdownSound:               157
      +Muzzleglow:                  ea_bg3
      +Shots:                       1
      +ShrinkFactor:                0.0
      +ShrinkPct:                   0.0
      $Section:
            +Width:                   8.0
            +Texture:                 ea_fb1
            +RGBA Inner:              0 0 0 0
            +RGBA Outer:              0 0 0 0
            +Flicker:                 0.0
            +Zadd:                    0.0
      $Section:
            +Width:                   1.5
            +Texture:                 ea_fb2
            +RGBA Inner:              0 0 0 0
            +RGBA Outer:              0 0 0 0
            +Flicker:                 0.5
            +Zadd:                    1.2
+Tile Factor:  32, 1
      $Section:
            +Width:                   6.0
            +Texture:                 ea_fb3
            +RGBA Inner:              0 0 0 0
            +RGBA Outer:              0 0 0 0
            +Flicker:                 0.6
            +Zadd:                    1.0
      $Section:
            +Width:                   2.0
            +Texture:                 ea_fb2
            +RGBA Inner:              0 0 0 0
            +RGBA Outer:              0 0 0 0
            +Flicker:                 0.5
            +Zadd:                    1.0
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: IceFire on February 25, 2003, 08:46:23 am
Oh yes...and I did a test with that EXE Bobboau.  The fighter beams no longer crash for me.  Thats a very very good sign.  The sounds do not repeat (but they never did for me)...although the current Nial sounds don't really fit properly.

It still bounces the fighters around a bit, even with no mass.  Is that because no TBP fighter has the moment of intertia set?
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Killfrenzy on February 25, 2003, 10:40:11 am
Thanks, Ice. I'll have a play. :)

Bob: Still no kill register on the beams......
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Bobboau on February 25, 2003, 10:48:59 am
are you sure?

nope it doesn't damn, I thought it was doing it
I'll have to fix this tonight
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Bobboau on February 25, 2003, 10:06:24 pm
ok the kills thing is fixed, try it (http://freespace.volitionwatch.com/blackwater/fs2_open.zip)

also for you're non-fighter beam weapons add
$FOF: 5
to the end of one and tell me what it does :)
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Killfrenzy on February 26, 2003, 05:08:18 am
Will do!

You sir, are the Steely-eyed Missile Man!:D
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Bobboau on February 26, 2003, 08:46:22 pm
so is everything working like I think it was
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Killfrenzy on February 27, 2003, 06:02:40 am
HELL YES!!!

One of the gripes I've got with space combat games is that you get in the right place with a bomber and you can singlehandedly take down a massive ship. With the new plans for capship weapons, you won't get anywhere near it in a fighter, and you'll still have a hard time in a bomber!

But yes, everything is working just fine.

BTW, is there a specific place to put the $FOF tag? I've just dumped it at the end of the entry.

Question: What does it actually DO?:confused:
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Bobboau on February 27, 2003, 09:13:43 am
it goes in as the last entry, (just before the decal entry if you have any, note decals have been disabled temporaraly)
it adds randomness to your weapon's fire, if you put in 5 it should have aimed you're shot somewere around 5 degrees up/down/left/right
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Killfrenzy on February 28, 2003, 11:26:22 am
So setting $FOF to, say, 1 will make it more accurate?
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Solatar on February 28, 2003, 01:46:14 pm
Does $FOF work on regular/fighter weapons, such as the Subach or Maxim?
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: IceFire on February 28, 2003, 04:36:55 pm
Quote
Originally posted by Hades
Does $FOF work on regular/fighter weapons, such as the Subach or Maxim?

I hope so...that could make capital ship balancing of weapons so much more interesting.
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Solatar on February 28, 2003, 04:45:41 pm
Very
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Bobboau on February 28, 2003, 05:38:06 pm
FOF can be thought of as sort of inacuracy, so far it only works on fighter pulse weapons
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: ZylonBane on February 28, 2003, 06:48:54 pm
Wait, isn't that functionality already implemented as +Miss Factor?

As long as beam bugs are getting fixed, how about the one that causes beams to collision-check against livedamage chunks that have already been destroyed? This can look pretty silly, with beams just stopping in mid-space.
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Bobboau on February 28, 2003, 07:00:59 pm
it's _not_ a beam thingy

and I've never seen that before
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: ZylonBane on February 28, 2003, 08:02:29 pm
Try this--

Set up a mission with a beam shot intersecting one of the umbilicals of a Ganymede. Now disable the umbilicals in FRED and run the mission again. The beam should still be colliding with the now-nonexistant umbilical.
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: IceFire on March 01, 2003, 09:30:41 am
Quote
Originally posted by Bobboau
FOF can be thought of as sort of inacuracy, so far it only works on fighter pulse weapons

Capital ship pulse weapons too?
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Bobboau on March 01, 2003, 10:52:54 am
I havn't added any code to the turret fireing code yet
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Sesquipedalian on March 01, 2003, 01:54:04 pm
Quote
Originally posted by IceFire

Capital ship pulse weapons too?
Why would you bother?  Avoiding capital ship weapons fire is too easy as it is already.
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Goober5000 on March 03, 2003, 10:41:42 pm
Quote
Originally posted by Bobboau
vaporised bug-fixed


Eh, what exactly is this?  Beams are supposed to vaporize everything.  If they don't, they should have a "no-vaporize" flag or something on them.  What exactly did you do here?

And you spelled "attenuate" wrong.  I fixed it. :)
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Bobboau on March 03, 2003, 11:44:34 pm
I beleve I linked it to the huge flag, so if you were hit by a huge beam you would get vaporized if you were hit by a non-huge beam you would die like normal
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Goober5000 on March 04, 2003, 04:48:25 pm
Um, it would probably work better if you made a weapon flag to control this.  Beams, no matter what their size, should vaporize stuff by default.

Tell me where you changed it and I'll put in a flag. :)
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: ZylonBane on March 06, 2003, 03:00:44 am
Quote
Originally posted by Goober5000
Beams, no matter what their size, should vaporize stuff by default.
So an antifighter beam should vaporize a Sathanas? Riiiiiight...
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Goober5000 on March 06, 2003, 03:09:55 am
Let me correct myself - beams, no matter what their size, should vaporize fighters by default.
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Bobboau on March 06, 2003, 03:47:59 am
I disagree, small (AAA) beams should not make fighters disapear when they kill them, I beleve this was a bit of a bug becase the origonal coments at the segment of code were this is determined say that only weapons that have both the beam and huge flag should vaporise small ships, and the code looks like it should have been doing that
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Terorist on March 06, 2003, 04:17:45 am
Quote
Originally posted by Bobboau
...that only weapons that have both the beam and huge flag should vaporise small ships, and the code looks like it should have been doing that

I agree, it makes the most sense. Small beams don't have the punch to totally disintegrate small ships, they are meant to just crack their hull.
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Killfrenzy on March 06, 2003, 07:50:18 am
Or carve them like a loaf of bread! :D

I like the Minbari Neutron beams, the way they carve through hulls.
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Goober5000 on March 06, 2003, 10:26:00 am
Quote
Originally posted by Bobboau
I disagree, small (AAA) beams should not make fighters disapear when they kill them, I beleve this was a bit of a bug becase the origonal coments at the segment of code were this is determined say that only weapons that have both the beam and huge flag should vaporise small ships, and the code looks like it should have been doing that


Well, that's interesting.  And it makes sense.  Can you quote the comment?
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Bobboau on March 06, 2003, 10:31:42 am
this is the whole code snipet
Code: [Select]
// If massive beam hitting small ship, vaporize  otherwise normal damage pipeline
// Only vaporize once
// multiplayer clients should skip this
if(!MULTIPLAYER_CLIENT){
if ( !(shipp->flags & SF_VAPORIZE) ) {
// Only small ships can be vaporized
if (sip->flags & (SIF_SMALL_SHIP)) {
if (other_obj->type == OBJ_BEAM) {
int beam_weapon_info_index = beam_get_weapon_info_index(other_obj);
if ( (beam_weapon_info_index > -1) && (Weapon_info[beam_weapon_info_index].wi_flags & (WIF_BEAM|WIF_HUGE)) ) {
// Flag as vaporized
shipp->flags |= SF_VAPORIZE;
}
}
}
}
}



I think this is untouched from the origonal reslese
Title: Back to fighter beams: 2 things required
Post by: Goober5000 on March 06, 2003, 10:35:31 am
Aha.  I stand corrected.  Good work Bobboau. :)