Hard Light Productions Forums
Modding, Mission Design, and Coding => The Modding Workshop => Topic started by: Kazan on November 24, 2001, 03:55:00 pm
-
Sorry venom.. i just couldn't see what you were talking about in your images and such - bobboau gave me a sphere with a white texture and it jumped out at me.
The solution was actually very simple - average the point normals for each vertex.
POF Constructor Suite now has smooth shading, future releases will have it (it's in the codebase now) so if you want to use it just wait for the next intermediate build
here's the screenshot
Upper Left - oldest pof compiler known [gary's] - before it had smooth shading
Upper Right - Gary's with smooth shading
Bottom - Mine now with smooth shading
(http://freespace.volitionwatch.com/babylon/Screens_Misc/Screens_Kazan/PCSSmoothShading.jpg)
------------------
Who do you trust?
The Guy that wrote an operating system to sell
or the Guys that wrote an operating system to use
---------------
"Why Climb it?" - "Because it's there."
"God is dead." - Nietzsche
-----------------
FreeSpace 2: The Babylon Project Effects Nerd and Programmer. (//"http://freespace.volitionwatch.com/babylon")
Alliance Productions (//"http://alliance.sourceforge.net")
-
now is the smooth shading going to be applied to all polys or just the ones with smooth shading aplied in TS (hopeing for option two)
------------------
Bobboau, bringing you products that work.............. in theory
-
all.. being that smooth shading is in the ShBx COB chunk i beleive and i dont interpret that chunk- and it would massively waste execution time to extract one data point from that huge block
FYI:
PCS's Compiler signature is now
Input was: %d Materials, %d Groups, %d Lights, and %d PolyGroups.
Started with %d and ended with %d points, in %d and %d faces respectively. Compile time was %d seconds. POF-CS Compiler v1.2.0 written by Kazan, with help from Gary Knudson and Aaltonen Kalle
Special Thanks to Etheral Entity, Venom and Bobboau.
------------------
Who do you trust?
The Guy that wrote an operating system to sell
or the Guys that wrote an operating system to use
---------------
"Why Climb it?" - "Because it's there."
"God is dead." - Nietzsche
-----------------
FreeSpace 2: The Babylon Project Effects Nerd and Programmer. ("http://freespace.volitionwatch.com/babylon")
Alliance Productions ("http://alliance.sourceforge.net")
-
mixing smooth and faceted is important in many situations,
I think you should look into it,
and I can tell you I don't care how long it takes,
untill then make it an option some were becase some models require faceded shading (Tarren models) rather than smooth.
if the shading wasn't a big deal we wouldn't have made such a big stink about it
------------------
Bobboau, bringing you products that work.............. in theory
-
i can add it later.. right now let me finish the renderer
then i'll be adding some more auto-blehs..
-
Should implement it as a function, have the call use a boolean to activate/deactivate the averaging methods in a simple if/else... really easy, so i wouldn't be too worried about waiting on it....
Anyway, you can just post the old & new versions up - one for smoothing, one without.
BTW, does the latest dl version have the smooth shading?
-
Who can see the difference
old
(http://freespace.volitionwatch.com/babylon/Screens_Misc/Screens_Kazan/SharlinFaceted.jpg)
new
(http://freespace.volitionwatch.com/babylon/Screens_Misc/Screens_Kazan/SharlinSmooth.jpg)
-
Mucho better. Smooth shading is damn useful.
-
Originally posted by aldo_14:
Should implement it as a function, have the call use a boolean to activate/deactivate the averaging methods in a simple if/else... really easy, so i wouldn't be too worried about waiting on it....
BTW, does the latest dl version have the smooth shading?
it is a function so a 'if' statement exclusion would be easy.. i'm looking at it right now actually because i think my last statement may have been in error
the latest intermediate build on the net does not have it
-
Originally posted by Bobboau:
mixing smooth and faceted is important in many situations,
I think you should look into it,
and I can tell you I don't care how long it takes,
untill then make it an option some were becase some models require faceded shading (Tarren models) rather than smooth.
if the shading wasn't a big deal we wouldn't have made such a big stink about it
yes, you're completly right. But for me, I won't be able to have multiple shadings (http://dynamic.gamespy.com/~freespace/ubb/noncgi/frown.gif)
why, coz the stupid TS liks shading to maps (???) when 3dsMax links them to the poly themselves. When I convert a max model, the smoothing data is lost. To have it back, I have to check the option of the map and reaply it. and ALL the polys with this map will have the same smoothing data. With TS you can have one smoothing per map, and not more. that's bad (http://dynamic.gamespy.com/~freespace/ubb/noncgi/frown.gif)
well, I can still have as many different smoothing than I have different maps...
BUT: boboau, you who knows TS very well, do you know if there's an option that comes along with the map smoothing to have only polys under a certain angle smoothed? like the autosmooth command, with, say, 45° of angle, esthetically the best angle?)
-
yeah it's in Mat1 so each texture can have different faceting.. this could get interesting
-
Originally posted by Kazan:
Who can see the difference
old
I can (http://dynamic.gamespy.com/~freespace/ubb/noncgi/smile.gif)
but, honestly, on dark ships, smoothing is not obvious.
-
Originally posted by Kazan:
it is a function so a 'if' statement exclusion would be easy.. i'm looking at it right now actually because i think my last statement may have been in error
the latest intermediate build on the net does not have it
ok. (http://dynamic.gamespy.com/~freespace/ubb/noncgi/smile.gif)
Thank god for the 'import data' option then.... I'm gonna check out 1/2 of my fighters with smooth shading methinks (http://dynamic.gamespy.com/~freespace/ubb/noncgi/biggrin.gif)
------------------
Searching for the very souls who've already been told
RECIPROCITY ("http://uk.geocities.com/gunnery_control/")[/url]
[email protected]
ICQ: 119819902
-
Does it keep the smoothing of the model, from TS or MAX or whatever, or does it create new smoothing which is an average?
-
you can have more than one material with the same texture
so if you paint all the faces with the texture you want then swich the shading and repaint the faces that you want the shading it will save a diferent material with a diferent shading and the same texture PCS will place all textures together and the smoothing is part of the poly data
------------------
Bobboau, bringing you products that work.............. in theory
-
hmmm..
I may have to redo the acolyte then :P
-
it'll be smooth shading or not
it creates it's own shading data because TS calculates it dynamically and doesn't save it to the file
-
in the vertion he just made it creates smoothing by averaging the normals of each vert, hopefully latter vertions will retain wich polys use smooth shadeing and wich use faceted shading, and maybe even autofaceting.
now if Kazan can just fix the bounding box (or was it SORTNORM) problems that make long thin things disapear if you go halfway past them (did I ever give you the model wich best shows this problem)
------------------
Bobboau, bringing you products that work.............. in theory
-
Originally posted by Kazan:
it'll be smooth shading or not
it creates it's own shading data because TS calculates it dynamically and doesn't save it to the file
ok, so I don't have to bother with that.
Anyway: I know how to have dofferent shadings, even with PCS making his own shading datas (http://dynamic.gamespy.com/~freespace/ubb/noncgi/smile.gif)
break the model in parts, where you want the shading to change. there's no shading between objects, so you'll have the lines well drawn, without shading (http://dynamic.gamespy.com/~freespace/ubb/noncgi/smile.gif)
-
Originally posted by Bobboau:
in the vertion he just made it creates smoothing by averaging the normals of each vert, hopefully latter vertions will retain wich polys use smooth shadeing and wich use faceted shading, and maybe even autofaceting.
now if Kazan can just fix the bounding box (or was it SORTNORM) problems that make long thin things disapear if you go halfway past them (did I ever give you the model wich best shows this problem)
for my part, i'd like PCS to save all the modification at the first time (it's not a big pb, just need to save several times, but wometimes, I just forget :þ). I didn't have thios pb with the last build, but woomeister told me he had, so...
-
and while were nit picking all our opinions of PCS, I'd also like to have that anoying "are you sure you want load that model" mesage removed
------------------
Bobboau, bringing you products that work.............. in theory
-
Originally posted by Bobboau:
and while were nit picking all our opinions of PCS, I'd also like to have that anoying "are you sure you want load that model" mesage removed
yeah, I already asked for that (http://dynamic.gamespy.com/~freespace/ubb/noncgi/smile.gif) it asks it even at the start, when there's no pof loaded (http://dynamic.gamespy.com/~freespace/ubb/noncgi/tongue.gif)
-
Looks great!
Venom: Very awesome planet models. I also saw some new animations perhaps?
-
ya, that's how the Sharlin is is suposed to look
might there be a pach for TBP
------------------
Bobboau, bringing you products that work.............. in theory
-
Originally posted by IceFire:
Looks great!
Venom: Very awesome planet models. I also saw some new animations perhaps?
thanx, but the ring is awfull, to be honest. it needs a better map.
the new anim? yup, a plasma kind of explosion.
for the sharlin, I suppose they'll just have the new models in the next release, you can't come close enough to them to see if they have shading or not in the demo anyway (http://dynamic.gamespy.com/~freespace/ubb/noncgi/tongue.gif)
-
Originally posted by Kazan:
it'll be smooth shading or not
it creates it's own shading data because TS calculates it dynamically and doesn't save it to the file
I'd ask Gary about one. Using his COB2FS2 utility the model retains the same smoothing data it had in TS so it must be in the *.COB file somewhere.
------------------
I told you that It ("http://www.jskgames.homestead.com/files/home.html") would be done by November, well, mostly anyway...
-
Originally posted by venom2506:
for my part, i'd like PCS to save all the modification at the first time (it's not a big pb, just need to save several times, but wometimes, I just forget :þ). I didn't have thios pb with the last build, but woomeister told me he had, so...
im going to *****slap what ever control's not saving it the first time!
-
Originally posted by jonskowitz:
I'd ask Gary about one. Using his COB2FS2 utility the model retains the same smoothing data it had in TS so it must be in the *.COB file somewhere.
that's because you can calulate the smoothing according to what TS saves
generic part:
2 bytes short Material number
1 byte char Shader type ('f'-flat, 'p'-phong, 'm'-metal)
1 byte char Facet type ('f'-faceted, 'a'-autofacet, 's'-smooth)
1 byte char Autofacet angle (0 - 179 degrees)
4 bytes float Red component of color (0.0 - 1.0)
4 bytes float Green component of color (0.0 - 1.0)
4 bytes float Blue component of color (0.0 - 1.0)
4 bytes float Opacity (0.0 - 1.0)
4 bytes float Ambient coefficient (0.0 - 1.0)
4 bytes float Specular coefficient (0.0 - 1.0)
4 bytes float Hilight size coefficient (0.0 - 1.0)
4 bytes float Index of refraction
-
so is that how it's going to work when we next get to use it.
------------------
Bobboau, bringing you products that work.............. in theory
-
here's why normal calculation fails sometimes
http://astronomy.swin.edu.au/pbourke/geometry/insidepoly/ ("http://astronomy.swin.edu.au/pbourke/geometry/insidepoly/")
it's more of them failing to serve their function due to special circumstances breaking the equasions
-
I see, thx for pointing it out. Dumb question but am I right in assuming that's how your newest build of your utility (the one supporting smooth shading) does it.
-
not yet.. im trying to find how out to calculate faceting from the angle
-
i think autofacet works via a sort of 'weighted average' between the actual point normal and the average normal
120 degree is full smoothing
0 degree is faceted
trying to think what kind of function would produce that
perhaps
N = point normal
AN = Average Point Normal
M = new point normal
F = AutoFacet Angle
M = unitvector((((120-F)/120)N + (F/120)AN)/2)
[This message has been edited by Kazan (edited 11-24-2001).]
-
it looks that as far as FS2 is concerned: you smooth it OR NOT
-
Oooh, that smoothing is friggin' sweet (http://dynamic.gamespy.com/~freespace/ubb/noncgi/wink.gif)
As for FS2 smoothing/or not - I guess it's better than nothing... (http://dynamic.gamespy.com/~freespace/ubb/noncgi/smile.gif)
-
well just try to get it working so we can play with it.
------------------
Bobboau, bringing you products that work.............. in theory
-
I know it can be done...
Heres a model in FS that was not smoothed...
(http://www.jskgames.homestead.com/files/tech_f44.jpg)
...and here's one that was...
(http://www.jskgames.homestead.com/files/tech_f56.jpg)
Both models exist in the same vp file and both pics are in-game (tech room shots).
I was thinking, it might help to look at ModelView32's source code and see if there's something in there that might help. I think it's available at the descent developer's network site.
[This message has been edited by jonskowitz (edited 11-24-2001).]
-
no model view's source is closed
-
Originally posted by jonskowitz:
I know it can be done...
Heres a model in FS that was not smoothed...
(http://www.jskgames.homestead.com/files/tech_f44.jpg)
...and here's one that was...
(http://www.jskgames.homestead.com/files/tech_f56.jpg)
Both models exist in the same vp file and both pics are in-game (tech room shots).
I was thinking, it might help to look at ModelView32's source code and see if there's something in there that might help. I think it's available at the descent developer's network site.
[This message has been edited by jonskowitz (edited 11-24-2001).]
Oh... damn... (http://dynamic.gamespy.com/~freespace/ubb/noncgi/icons/icon14.gif) (http://dynamic.gamespy.com/~freespace/ubb/noncgi/smile.gif)
-
I (obviously) don't know much about this stuff, but I went' through Knudd's COB2FS source code until I found something that looked relavent. Hope this helps you out...
void calcNormal(float v[3][3], float out[3])
{
double v1[3],v2[3];
static const int x = 0;
static const int y = 1;
static const int z = 2;
v1[x] = v[0][x] - v[1][x];
v1[y] = v[0][y] - v[1][y];
v1[z] = v[0][z] - v[1][z];
v2[x] = v[1][x] - v[2][x];
v2[y] = v[1][y] - v[2][y];
v2[z] = v[1][z] - v[2][z];
out[x] = v1[y]*v2[z] - v1[z]*v2[y];
out[y] = v1[z]*v2[x] - v1[x]*v2[z];
out[z] = v1[x]*v2[y] - v1[y]*v2[x];
ReduceToUnit(out);
}
-
*begins laughing hysterically*
his calculus in that function's not even correct
i had to fix his calculus - that's for calculating the normal of a _FACE_
i appreciate the effort i really do, but you don't understand what your'e looking at so just stop while you're ahead
-
Wisely, I think I'll take you're advice. Good luck though...
maybe I can be a little more useful once I'm a little closer to getting my CS degree, lol, haven't even gotten the preresiquites out of the way yet... mumble... mumble
-
so there are errors in the normal calculations, can we see an example of these errors
------------------
Bobboau, bringing you products that work.............. in theory
-
1. I know nothing about the technicalities of .cob to .pof conversion.
2. This is a great advance.
3. Make it an option (http://dynamic.gamespy.com/~freespace/ubb/noncgi/smile.gif).
4. Keep up the good work Kazan, you kick *** .
-
Originally posted by Bobboau:
so there are errors in the normal calculations, can we see an example of these errors
Actually the url i posted shows that the normal can be correct and still fail
-
(sorry, can't ressist putting my two bits in (http://dynamic.gamespy.com/~freespace/ubb/noncgi/biggrin.gif))
...which if I understand Kazan and the article he posted correctly would explain the collision detection errors that sometimes crop up when using the utility.
am I correct in this assumption?
-
wrong again
it explains how the normal can not function correctly even when it's value is correct
(IE normal problems that are blamed on PCS can be explained by that because i checked my calculus 10 times)
and with long-thin polys the probability of one of the special conditions occuring increases
-
Speaking of which, this does belong in the FS Modding forum. Thread teleported.
-
the long thin thing seems to be more of an object culling thing than a clipping error or something wrong with the polygons as polygons fully within your FOV will dissapear with it.
------------------
Bobboau, bringing you products that work.............. in theory
-
Shrike's in his thread-teleportin', useless-post-deletin' groove.
-
fix me ("http://members.home.net/bobboau/Njord.zip")
------------------
Bobboau, bringing you products that work.............. in theory
-
specifics on the problem would be nice
I see the ship in PCS w/ renderer
it's scaling fuxored
Modelview's BS about > 20 points is the wrong error message - you overloaded it's memory storage for the model because it has static limits, Heiko is a lazy programmer like dave that way
[This message has been edited by Kazan (edited 11-28-2001).]
-
that was the first ship I notesed the ship-disapering-when-it-goes-half-past-you problem,
use
$Name: GTSFr Njord
$Short name: STbigfrat
$Species: Terran
+Tech Description:
XSTR(".", 3047)
$end_multi_text
$POF file: Njord.pof
$Detail distance: (0, 600, 1500, 5000)
$Show damage: YES
$Density: 1
$Damp: 0.2
$Rotdamp: 1.0
$Max Velocity: 10.0, 10.0, 75.0
$Rotation time: 130.0, 70.0, 80.0
$Rear Velocity: 0.0
$Forward accel: 35.0
$Forward decel: 27.0
$Slide accel: 30.0
$Slide decel: 15.0
$Expl inner rad: 125.0
$Expl outer rad: 1675.0
$Expl damage: 250.0
$Expl blast: 3500.0
$Expl Propagates: YES
$Shockwave Speed: 900.0
$Shockwave Count: 2
$Default PBanks: ()
$Default SBanks: ()
$SBank Capacity: ()
$Shields: 0
$Power Output: 90.0
$Max Oclk Speed: 100.0
$Max Weapon Eng: 100.0
$Hitpoints: 35000
$Flags: ( "freighter" "in tech database")
$AI Class: Captain
$Afterburner: NO
$Countermeasures: 0
$Scan time: 2000
$EngineSnd: 126
$Closeup_pos: 0.0, 0.0, -315
$Closeup_zoom: 0.5
$Score: 200
$Subsystem: cargo01a, 4, 3.0
$Subsystem: cargo02a, 4, 3.0
$Subsystem: cargo03a, 4, 3.0
$Subsystem: cargo04a, 4, 3.0
$Subsystem: cargo05a, 4, 3.0
$Subsystem: cargo06a, 4, 3.0
$Subsystem: cargo07a, 4, 3.0
$Subsystem: cargo08a, 4, 3.0
$Subsystem: cargo09a, 4, 3.0
$Subsystem: cargo10a, 4, 3.0
$Subsystem: cargo11a, 4, 3.0
$Subsystem: cargo12a, 4, 3.0
$Subsystem: cargo13a, 4, 3.0
$Subsystem: turret01, 2, 1.0
$Default PBanks: ( "Terran Turret Weak" )
$Subsystem: turret02, 2, 1.0
$Default PBanks: ( "Terran Turret Weak" )
$Subsystem: turret03, 2, 1.0
$Default PBanks: ( "Terran Turret Weak" )
$Subsystem: turret04, 2, 1.0
$Default PBanks: ( "Terran Turret Weak" )
$Subsystem: turret05, 2, 1.0
$Default PBanks: ( "Terran Turret Weak" )
$Subsystem: turret06, 2, 1.0
$Default PBanks: ( "Terran Turret Weak" )
$Subsystem: turret07, 2, 1.0
$Default PBanks: ( "Terran Turret Weak" )
$Subsystem: turret02, 2, 1.0
$Default PBanks: ( "Terran Turret Weak" )
$Subsystem: turret08, 2, 1.0
$Default PBanks: ( "Terran Turret Weak" )
$Subsystem: turret09, 2, 1.0
$Default PBanks: ( "Terran Turret Weak" )
$Subsystem: turret10, 2, 1.0
$Default PBanks: ( "Terran Turret Weak" )
$Subsystem: turret11, 2, 1.0
$Default PBanks: ( "Terran Turret Weak" )
$Subsystem: turret12, 2, 1.0
$Default PBanks: ( "Terran Turret Weak" )
$Subsystem: turret13, 2, 1.0
$Default PBanks: ( "Terran Turret Weak" )
$Subsystem: turret14, 2, 1.0
$Default PBanks: ( "Terran Turret Weak" )
$Subsystem: turret15, 2, 1.0
$Default PBanks: ( "Terran Turret Weak" )
$Subsystem: turret16, 2, 1.0
$Default PBanks: ( "Terran Turret Weak" )
$Subsystem: turret17, 2, 1.0
$Default PBanks: ( "Terran Turret Weak" )
$Subsystem: turret18, 2, 1.0
$Default PBanks: ( "Terran Turret Weak" )
$Subsystem: turret19, 2, 1.0
$Default PBanks: ( "Terran Turret Weak" )
$Subsystem: turret20, 2, 1.0
$Default PBanks: ( "Terran Turret Weak" )
$Subsystem: sensors, 4, 0
$Subsystem: communication, 4, 0.0
$Subsystem: navigation, 4, 0.0
$Subsystem: weapons, 14, 0.0
$Subsystem: engine, 20, 0.0
$Engine Wash: Default100
that entry (I think thats the right one) and fly around it and try to distroy all the cargo pods. it should jump out at you what's wrong.
------------------
Bobboau, bringing you products that work.............. in theory
-
i am probrably all late and whatnot. i maybe have the proggy already but the older version, but can anyone (KAZAN) tell me where to get this program>??!??!
------------------
New Project Leader of the New Dawn Resolution Project in conjuction with the Metal Siren Network and staff member of The Eden Project.
The Metal Siren Network: Freespace 2: New Dawn Resolution - The Eden Project ("http://www.angelfire.com/realm/nd_resolution/")
-
From my website
------------------
Who do you trust?
The Guy that wrote an operating system to sell
or the Guys that wrote an operating system to use
---------------
"Why Climb it?" - "Because it's there."
"God is dead." - Nietzsche
-----------------
FreeSpace 2: The Babylon Project Effects Nerd and Programmer. ("http://freespace.volitionwatch.com/babylon")
Alliance Productions ("http://alliance.sourceforge.net")
-
is it the POF construction suite plug in? also where do i install it at? how did u get a POF-Editor in the Modviw32? is it the latest version of the proggy? i might have the older 1...
[This message has been edited by deep_eyes (edited 11-29-2001).]
-
Okay, I've been away from HLP for a while so this is all news to me. Am I correct in understanding that the FS2 engine has supported gouraud shading of textures this whole time, but none of the official models used it?
------------------
ZylonBane's opinions do not represent those of the management.
-
they all used it to some degree
many of them had the smoothing effect tone down.
------------------
Bobboau, bringing you products that work.............. in theory
-
its funny how 10 mins after i posted my issue with the modelview plug in, i figured most of it out by myself lol... only thing i cant figure out is now why is it that if i use regular texturing of a ship. lets say the Hecate, in the detail levels (which make it look less nice) in the modelview and in FS2 look like its supposed to. now i change all the textures of the ship, but not the names. when i view them in a lower detail they share the same textures as level 1. but then i changed the names, and the POF stays loading the original .pcx files that make the orignial hecate. so i got a hecate in detail 1 looking how i want it, then in level 2, it looked like its old self, but in level 3 (the lowest detail level), it looks as if it is fine using the new texures i imputed in level 1.
why doesnt the detal level 2 accomidate the sub-textures for smaller size? (example capital01b or 01c)? but when i left the names the normal way, it would remain the same as it should in all detail levels. is there a way i can edit the texture name list for the level 2 details to acomidate that level of detail Kazan?
------------------
New Project Leader of the New Dawn Resolution Project in conjuction with the Metal Siren Network and staff member of The Eden Project.
The Metal Siren Network: Freespace 2: New Dawn Resolution - The Eden Project ("http://www.angelfire.com/realm/nd_resolution/")
-
Originally posted by deep_eyes:
its funny how 10 mins after i posted my issue with the modelview plug in, i figured most of it out by myself lol... only thing i cant figure out is now why is it that if i use regular texturing of a ship. lets say the Hecate, in the detail levels (which make it look less nice) in the modelview and in FS2 look like its supposed to. now i change all the textures of the ship, but not the names. when i view them in a lower detail they share the same textures as level 1. but then i changed the names, and the POF stays loading the original .pcx files that make the orignial hecate. so i got a hecate in detail 1 looking how i want it, then in level 2, it looked like its old self, but in level 3 (the lowest detail level), it looks as if it is fine using the new texures i imputed in level 1.
why doesnt the detal level 2 accomidate the sub-textures for smaller size? (example capital01b or 01c)? but when i left the names the normal way, it would remain the same as it should in all detail levels. is there a way i can edit the texture name list for the level 2 details to acomidate that level of detail Kazan?
yes, choose the lod in modelview, then open the pof editor and change its name.
-
HI My name is (what) my name is (who) my name (Tikatika) Smooth Shading
(http://dynamic.gamespy.com/~freespace/ubb/noncgi/biggrin.gif) (http://dynamic.gamespy.com/~freespace/ubb/noncgi/biggrin.gif)
-
Originally posted by deep_eyes:
is there a way i can edit the texture name list for the level 2 details to acomidate that level of detail Kazan?
TXTR is the texture name list for the entire model - all detail levels
-
Originally posted by Kazan:
TXTR is the texture name list for the entire model - all detail levels
alright thanks, i'll try it later on tonight. I took advatnage of the pof editor already and made new subsystems in the XT-01 and regenerated its textures, so i guess I am going to finally, FINALIZE the xt-01 soon! MB, i am going to send u the NewDawnbeta1.VP file later on. so u can mess around with it hehehe (http://dynamic.gamespy.com/~freespace/ubb/noncgi/smile.gif) (http://dynamic.gamespy.com/~freespace/ubb/noncgi/smile.gif). but i am going to send u tomorrow the Beta2. which it will have new subsystems, and added skins.
------------------
New Project Leader of the New Dawn Resolution Project in conjuction with the Metal Siren Network and staff member of The Eden Project.
The Metal Siren Network: Freespace 2: New Dawn Resolution - The Eden Project ("http://www.angelfire.com/realm/nd_resolution/")