Hard Light Productions Forums

Modding, Mission Design, and Coding => The Modding Workshop => Topic started by: Scooby_Doo on August 22, 2006, 04:34:43 pm

Title: "subsystem not found in model!"
Post by: Scooby_Doo on August 22, 2006, 04:34:43 pm
I'm getting tons of "Subsystem blah in ships.tbl not found in model!"

Be it turret, turret-destroyed and even "ighterbay", yes missing the "f".  
One thing about turret-destroyed missing, I ran a test mission and when i destroyed the turret the turret-destroyed shows up correctly.

With the fighterbay errror the Specials name is "fighterbay01", I've got several paths parent set to "fighterbay01" and the table is setup as:

$Subsystem:         fighterbay01, 35, 0.0

Also noted that fighters will actually launch from them.
Title: Re: "subsystem not found in model!"
Post by: Nuke on August 22, 2006, 06:10:17 pm
make sure the subsystems in the model match the ones in its table entry. a big one is $communication in the tabele and $communications on the subobject. they got to match letter for letter. as for everything else you may have heirarchy issues. no batter what the names of the subobject groups have to perfectly match the table entries.
Title: Re: "subsystem not found in model!"
Post by: Scooby_Doo on August 22, 2006, 06:39:40 pm
Ok let me start with the formidable destoryer since it's got only one subsystem as of the moment (a gun turret)

the COB hierarchy is:

-base
     -box17
     .....
     -turret01
          -base
          -turret01-arm
                -arm_1
                -arm_2
                -arm_3
                -turret01-fp-01
                -turret01-fp-02
                -turret01-fp-03
     -turret01-destroyed
          -base
          -LocLight


Once it gets converted PCS reports in turrets as:
Parent Data: 08(turret01)   Physical SOBJ Parent:09(turret01-arm)
Number of firepoints 3


in the table:

#Ship Classes

$Name:                          Formidable
$Short name:         TForm
$Species:                       Terran
+Tech Description:      XSTR("" , -1)

$end_multi_text

$POF file:                      form1.pof
$Detail distance:      (0, 500, 1200, 5500)

$Show damage:         YES
$Density:                       1
$Damp:                          0.2
$Rotdamp:                       2.0

$Max Velocity:         0.0, 0.0, 50.0
$Rotation time:         100.0, 100.0, 80.0
$Rear Velocity:         0.0
$Forward accel:         8.0
$Forward decel:         4.0

$Slide accel:         0.0
$Slide decel:         0.0

$Expl inner rad:      150.0
$Expl outer rad:      750.0
$Expl damage:         200.0
$Expl blast:         11000.0
$Expl Propagates:      YES
$Shockwave Speed:      400.0
$Shockwave Count:      3

$Default PBanks:      ()
$Default SBanks:      ("Cyclops")
$SBank Capacity:      (10000)

$Shields:                       10000
$Power Output:         80.0

$Max Oclk Speed:      65.0
$Max Weapon Eng:      100.0
$Hitpoints:                     60000

$Flags:                         ( "big damage"  "cruiser" "in tech database" "surface shields")
$AI Class:                      Captain

$Afterburner:         NO

$Countermeasures:      0

$Scan time:                     2000

$EngineSnd:         128
$Closeup_pos:         0.0, 0.0, -500
$Closeup_zoom:         0.3

$Score:            800

$Subsystem:                     turret01,0.833,1.0
        $Default PBanks:        ( "Large Turret Particle Cannon" "Large Turret Particle Cannon" "Large Turret Particle Cannon")
   $animation:      triggered
   $type:         initial
   +relative_angle:   90,0,0

$Subsystem:                     engine01, 5,0.0
   $Engine Wash:   Default300

$Subsystem:                     engine02, 5,0.0
   $Engine Wash:   Default300

$Subsystem:                     engine03, 5,0.0
   $Engine Wash:   Default300

$Subsystem:                     engine04, 5,0.0
   $Engine Wash:   Default300

#End


It's either something stupid I overlooked or something more problematic.

Edit: Heres the files: http://www.badongo.com/file/1266465 (http://www.badongo.com/file/1266465)
Title: Re: "subsystem not found in model!"
Post by: Nuke on August 23, 2006, 01:29:35 am
do all four engine subsystems exist in the model? it may not even be the turret. also be sure the turret has a $special=subsystem in its subsystem properties.
Title: Re: "subsystem not found in model!"
Post by: Scooby_Doo on August 23, 2006, 02:07:03 am
$engine_subsystem=$engine01 all the way to 4

AH HA!!!
the subsystems was completely empty.  for some reason pcs didn't add the necessary data:
$special=subsystem
$fov=180
$name=GunTurret


Strange thing is the gilgamesh, which i just release a little while ago, does have it  :nervous:

I'll report back in a few after I get everything back to normal
Title: Re: "subsystem not found in model!"
Post by: Scooby_Doo on August 23, 2006, 02:58:57 am
It looks like that was the problem... Someone should either put this heads up in wiki or pcs tutorial page.

Thanks Nuke, should name a ship after you  :)

Title: Re: "subsystem not found in model!"
Post by: PotzUK on August 23, 2006, 06:11:48 am
 :cool: :yes:
Title: Re: "subsystem not found in model!"
Post by: Nuke on August 23, 2006, 07:11:23 am
well did you use autogen for your turrets or do you set them up maunally? i find if you dont add -base to your main turret group, autogen seems to screw up. turrets are pretty much 2nd nature to me, can pretty much get anything to work now.