Hard Light Productions Forums

Modding, Mission Design, and Coding => FS2 Open Coding - The Source Code Project (SCP) => Topic started by: The E on August 17, 2009, 11:48:53 am

Title: Interface stupidity when using 720p resolution
Post by: The E on August 17, 2009, 11:48:53 am
Okay. So apparently, when playing at 720p (1280x720) resolution, FSO, in its infinite wisdom, decides to use the low-res interface, the one normally used for 640x480 and 800x600 resolutions. While this is slightly annoying in the menu part, it becomes downright obnoxious during gameplay:
(http://i659.photobucket.com/albums/uu320/FabianW/screen0005.jpg)

There's a very simple fix for that, in 2d.cpp, line 381, change from
Code: [Select]
if ( (width >= 1024) && (height == 600) ) { to
Code: [Select]
if ( (width >= 1024) && (height >= 600) ) {
Oh, the screenshot is slightly distorted, this was something that happened on the users comp, not an issue with FSO.
Title: Re: Interface stupidity when using 720p resolution
Post by: chief1983 on August 17, 2009, 12:25:31 pm
Does this affect menus, and in game 2d elements both?  It seemed to me that there were more far reaching effects than one change like that could handle.
Title: Re: Interface stupidity when using 720p resolution
Post by: The E on August 17, 2009, 12:39:49 pm
From what QuantumDelta tells me, that change affects both, in other words, will cause the game to load up the hi res interface art throughout the game.

EDIT: Here are some builds with that change included: http://www.mediafire.com/?tm0mq1jddml
Title: Re: Interface stupidity when using 720p resolution
Post by: chief1983 on August 17, 2009, 02:06:38 pm
This would be really awesome for netbooks if it works well, besides anyone else stuck at 720 lines of res.  This would include 600 as getting the high res art correct?  Because many netbooks are something like 1024x600 I think.
Title: Re: Interface stupidity when using 720p resolution
Post by: The E on August 17, 2009, 02:14:49 pm
Yeah, that's how it should work.
Title: Re: Interface stupidity when using 720p resolution
Post by: Nuke on August 18, 2009, 07:59:26 am
why not just use one set of graphics and scale it so it looks the same on all resolutions. having 2 sets of art for different resolutions is so 90s.
Title: Re: Interface stupidity when using 720p resolution
Post by: The E on September 27, 2009, 05:24:54 pm
 :bump: Any reason why this is not in trunk yet? Apparently, the behaviour this fix enables was present in 3.6.9 builds....
Title: Re: Interface stupidity when using 720p resolution
Post by: chief1983 on September 27, 2009, 05:26:50 pm
I think the behavior is older than that, it's the way the interface has always worked.  < 768 high uses low res interface art.
Title: Re: Interface stupidity when using 720p resolution
Post by: The E on September 27, 2009, 05:31:09 pm
Maybe, but it is pretty silly. Considering that most people who do custom interface art (Blue Planet, or Flaming_Swords' interface templates for example) concentrate on doing hi-res art only, excluding folks who have to use 720p (Or who just like that resolution) from seeing it seems like a bad idea to me. Not to mention that the lo-res interface just doesn't scale up very well.
Title: Re: Interface stupidity when using 720p resolution
Post by: QuantumDelta on September 27, 2009, 05:33:52 pm
Another thing I noticed whilst I was exploring the AI builds, was that 3.6.9, 3.6.7 and all the other builds I tried, 720p used the 'high res' art at least so far as I remember :<
There was some funkiness actually IN game though (background sliding around/screen warping all fisheyeish)


  23:23:07  (QuantumDelta) though I'd still seriously prefer a feature to swap between resolutions yourself
  23:23:12  (QuantumDelta) art resolutions*
  23:23:19  (QuantumDelta) same as screen resolutions


- Serious request actually, honestly, since almost all of the 'serious' pilots who will want to content for squadwar will turn their resolutions down to use low res art ANYWAY, whether they have to change resos or not.
Title: Re: Interface stupidity when using 720p resolution
Post by: chief1983 on September 27, 2009, 06:03:30 pm
Separate to the high/low interface art issues, widescreen didn't work well at all until 3.6.10.