Hard Light Productions Forums

Hosted Projects - Standalone => The Babylon Project => Topic started by: IPAndrews on September 20, 2005, 04:54:51 am

Title: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: IPAndrews on September 20, 2005, 04:54:51 am
So without further ado:

Raider Wars 2.1 patch for old SCP builds (like the one bundled with TBP 3.2 by default)

http://www.stithe.biz/tbp-rw-patches/rw21o.exe (http://www.stithe.biz/tbp-rw-patches/rw21o.exe)

Raider Wars 2.1 patch for newer SCP builds (like 3.6.7)

http://www.stithe.biz/tbp-rw-patches/rw21n.exe (http://www.stithe.biz/tbp-rw-patches/rw21n.exe)
Title: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: PSI-KILLER on September 20, 2005, 09:00:51 pm
AMD64 3500 Clawhammer
windows xp 32bit/linux red hat fedora 4 64bit
Asus A8N sli Deluxe 2 gigs 444 mhz memory
6200 256mb pci-e card XFX
running base default









i got his..running in windows xp.. using tech room load for mission hell and back.. is a new piolit required?



Error: Invalid subsystem name.

In sexpression: ( when
   ( and
      ( not
         ( is-destroyed-delay 1 "EA Scylla" )
      )
      ( is-subsystem-destroyed-delay
         "Unknown"
         "turret01a"
         1
      )
   )
   ( add-goal
      "Unknown"
      ( ai-chase "EA Scylla" 30 )
   )
)
(Error appears to be: turret01a)
File:E:\Languages\Visual Studio Projects\Visual C++\fs2_open\code\Mission\MissionParse.cpp
Line: 4517

Call stack:
------------------------------------------------------------------
------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: IPAndrews on September 21, 2005, 06:28:34 am
You've installed some zany TBP mod haven't you :). It's complaining that it doesn't know about the Raider Battlewagon's main beam. Which suggests to me you're not using vanialla TBP 3.2.

Just tried both patches (again) myself. No problems loading Hell & Back. Tell you what, uninstall everything, make sure you have a clean directory and start afresh. Reinstall, try again, tell me what happens. My guess, it'll work nicely ;)
Title: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: PSI-KILLER on September 21, 2005, 08:33:59 pm
IP..
I made a back up of the table files before installing "When the Darkness falls" campaign, It works fine now with the table back up...  I did not have to do a complete reinstall ... god forbid that is horrable!!!   I reinstalled your patch.. no problems at all.  I do see some changed things with the mimbari movies in comm link picture.  It appears there is a file I forgot to remove.
 
 

 There should be a standerd set up like the IEEE commetee or sata-io.org  or something like for a standard where all campaigns work seemlessly.. or should I just have a drink and relax because now I am in Beta head zone!?!?!!??!
Title: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: IPAndrews on September 22, 2005, 02:49:35 am
Quote
Originally posted by PSI-KILLER
There should be a standerd set up like the IEEE commetee or sata-io.org  or something like for a standard where all campaigns work seemlessly..


Well When Darkness Falls is not really a campaign. A straight campaign would not make alterations to TBP like that. No, WDF is a mod. A mod of a mod if you will. Once you install it you can pretty much kiss compatability with standard TBP campaigns goodbye. I did think about mentioning it in the WDF release thread but I didn't want to take the wind out of their sails ;)
Title: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: aipz on September 22, 2005, 04:05:04 am
Yes, it's a MOD of a stand-alone MOD...
And that's it...
Title: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: karajorma on September 22, 2005, 04:09:50 am
Just install WDF to folder within your TBP foilder and run it using the select mod button.

 There's absolutely no reason why you can't run mods on TBP in exactly the same way you would run them on FS2.

Quote
Originally posted by aipz
Yes, it's a MOD of a stand-alone MOD...
And that's it...


Unless you're like me and don't run TBP as a stand alone mod :D
Title: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: Trivial Psychic on September 22, 2005, 09:34:53 am
There is a problem with MOD's and TBP.  Because the directory names have spaces, the launcher will not allow you to use the mod feature... however, you can do it manyally by adding your -mod XXXXX into the custom flags line.
Title: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: PSI-KILLER on September 22, 2005, 05:09:32 pm
yeah mod in a mod .
never thought of it like that.
I actually just thought of WDF as a campaign but it really is a mod of 3.2 base.  WDF installer should have set it up where youi can select it out of launcher to stop this insanity

no errors in radier wars patch yet
Title: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: IPAndrews on September 23, 2005, 02:38:49 am
Quote
Originally posted by PSI-KILLER
no errors in radier wars patch yet


:D  Thanks for your continued beta testing support PSI-KILLER. And the good news too. That's always appreciated. Do you want to beta test BHX when you've finished?
Title: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: PSI-KILLER on September 24, 2005, 11:37:40 am
mission nobody expect.. once kamakizi shuttle is found and distroyed station voice states they Psi-Shuttle landed but they are still in route, then they do land station voice states psi-shuttle distroyed but mission is success..

Also maybe more a base question, open gl does not work got error below.

Error: Current GL Version of 1.0 is less than required version of 1.2
Switch video modes or update drivers
File:E:\Languages\Visual Studio Projects\Visual C++\fs2_open\code\graphics\gropengl.cpp
Line: 3659

Call stack:
------------------------------------------------------------------
------------------------------------------------------------------

I have recently overclocked my Nvidia 6200 to mimic a 6600 to make doom 3 play smooth, might be on my end but have only seen perforamnce increases on all things.
Title: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: karajorma on September 24, 2005, 11:54:54 am
That's an old bug. Downloading 3.6.7 from the SCP forum should take care of that one.

It's nothing to do with your end. It's the SCP's version of the Y2K bug. The OpenGL version number check code was only looking at the numbers after the decimal point so OGL2.0 was being read as 1.0 :D
Title: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: PSI-KILLER on September 24, 2005, 12:58:34 pm
understood kara..



mission preemptive part 2. briefing voice is repeated on some parragrahs also on "ride of the valkerie."

finished the campaign with no problems. Sound and graphics seem better for some reason.
Title: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: IPAndrews on September 30, 2005, 06:09:08 am
So anyone played through without error using one of these patches yet? I want to know if I can promote them to full releases?
Title: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: PSI-KILLER on September 30, 2005, 11:17:06 am
Finished

Raider Wars 2.1 patch for old SCP builds (the TBP 3.2 default)


no errors or crashes

One last observation.  For this Beta round!   The credit file movie is great but I think Christopher Franke Should have been mentioned... What amazing atmosphere with HIS music.
Title: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: IPAndrews on October 03, 2005, 02:32:40 am
Thanks. I'll promote that one to a full release.
Title: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: Fury on October 03, 2005, 06:37:52 am
Franke should be in the TBP credits, as well as many others.

I am quite disappointed with this final version of the patch however. The patch itself contains just an additional .vp file, which when necessary, must either be removed by hand or add extra command to future RW installers to remove this file. When users uninstall Raider Wars, this file will not be deleted, which may cause unnecessary confusion if RW is re-installed and this patch is obsolete by then. Not to mention there are two different versions of the patch.

Oh well, I did warn about these issues.
Title: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: IPAndrews on October 03, 2005, 07:21:23 am
Yes there is also the possibility that the patch might delete the internet.
Title: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: Fury on October 03, 2005, 07:34:05 am
It is a shame you don't take end-user related issues seriously. I can see there's no need to continue this discussion. I might still suggest you to edit your signature to reflect today's staff positions.
Title: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: IPAndrews on October 03, 2005, 07:41:55 am
Quote
Originally posted by Mr. Fury
edit your signature to reflect today's staff positions.


Sure ;)
Title: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: PSI-KILLER on October 03, 2005, 09:40:28 pm
I think Raider wars might be done, Like a    "Final Verison".   You start to get diminishing returns because there are always improvemets that can be made only takes longer to find them.  I am trying new build 3.6.7 now.  

a min later

I am getting a error with build 3.6.7  You put files in "Babylon Project"  right?
Title: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: IPAndrews on October 04, 2005, 02:38:28 am
Yes this patch is supposed to be the final patch and RW2.0 + the patch is supposed to be the final version. You need the new build patch for 3.6.7. The old build patch will cause you errors.
Title: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: Tuvok on October 26, 2005, 04:33:10 am
I dont know what to do,
please explain me step by step how to install these Patch for Raider Wars and what Programm i need to do that!!!
I have the Basic 3.2 version (the one who didnt need Freespace 2)
And did i install Raider Wars 2.0 and the Patch 2.01 befor install these patch???
And which of these Patches i have to Download the old or the new???(Or where can i see what i need)

Please respond, thanks.

I want to play the "Nightmare Scenario"-Mission :mad:
Title: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: IPAndrews on October 26, 2005, 06:03:55 am
You have unmodified TBP 3.2? Okay.

1. Install Raider Wars 2.0

2. Install the patch entitled:
Raider Wars 2.1 patch for old SCP builds (like the one bundled with TBP 3.2 by default) above.

If problems with Nightmare Scenario persist look in the forum for other threads mentioning Nightmare Scenario such as this one:

http://www.hard-light.net/forums/index.php/topic,35839.0.html
Title: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: IPAndrews on October 26, 2005, 06:16:48 am
Two more threads about nightmare scenario I just found by just going a few pages back through the forum. There are probably more:

http://www.hard-light.net/forums/index.php/topic,34646.0.html

http://www.hard-light.net/forums/index.php/topic,33837.0.html
Title: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: Tuvok on October 26, 2005, 06:54:18 am
Yes i have the unmoddet Base 3.2, should i unpack the Raider Wars 2.1 patch for old SCP builds only into the "C:/The Babylon Project\". More not??
Title: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: IPAndrews on October 26, 2005, 07:16:20 am
To quote the patch "Extract these files to your main TBP directory".  So if "C:\Program Files\The Babylon Project" is your main TBP directory, then extract the files to "C:\Program Files\The Babylon Project".

If you accepted all the default settings when you installed TBP then "C:\Program Files\The Babylon Project" is your main TBP directory. Really it is very difficult to get this wrong.
Title: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: Tuvok on October 26, 2005, 07:27:52 am
I have found the Mistake, i must create a new Account and load under Tech Date Nightmare Scenario and it works!!!
RW doesnt like to use a old Name used in other Campaigns!

Thanks for your help IPAndrews!!!
I have found it in your links to other threads!
Title: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: Trayus on October 28, 2005, 11:20:54 pm
Do I always have to be the one?  At Tuvok: Target Locked, Fire!!!

:welcome:

Welcome to the Hard Light Production Facility. Current topside temperature is 3000 degrees centigrade. Take note of any rogue ships outside. If you are attacked by a Zephyr, grab a nailgun and blow it in half.  If attacked by a Spitfire, RUN!!! In case of an emergency, please allow the women, children, and Vasudans to leave first. Should you require weapons (nailguns aside), there is a flamethrower underneath your chair, but those are full of water, so I hope you brought your own stuff. If not, in case of attack, just run screaming at the enemy and hope something happens. In regards to the plasma rifles in the weapons lockers, only an Admin, a Volition god, or a hyper-intelligent shade of the color blue may open them. If you decide to explore our wonderful ducts, you may encounter Carl, our resident Shivan. If you do, just give him your lunch and back away slowly. If he gets mad......screw it, you're dead.  Thank you, and have a pleasant stay.

My first welcome speech! :D Did I do alright?
Title: Re: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: IPAndrews on November 11, 2005, 04:00:23 am
I have found the Mistake, i must create a new Account and load under Tech Date Nightmare Scenario and it works!!!
RW doesnt like to use a old Name used in other Campaigns!

Thanks for your help IPAndrews!!!
I have found it in your links to other threads!

Oh right. Cool. Well I tested the version of the patch for new builds (again) and it still seems to work fine. I'll still wait for someone else to verify they have played fhrough the campaign with the new build patch before I promote it from beta to release though. As it wouldn't be the first time something had worked on my machine but not someone else's machine.
Title: Re: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: T_A on January 04, 2006, 04:19:39 pm
am i the only one that cant get passed the first mission
the one where you need to kill the raider base in the astroid field
that base i raping me and my wing
(and the raider ships are so thine my they go through my shots...)
Title: Re: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: IPAndrews on January 05, 2006, 06:11:04 am
Ah, you need one of the "Raider Wars is too difficult" threads. Since the search function is disabled though I'll give you a hint. Take along a disruptor gun. It won't damage enemy fighters but it'll make short work of those turrets on the enemy base. Leave the enemy fighters to your wingmen. Oh and turn the difficulty level down ;). Since you're playing the campaign anyway install the latest version of FSOpen (3.6.7) and try the new build patch. The patch also makes certain missions a bit easier.
Title: Re: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: 0rph3u5 on January 05, 2006, 07:26:07 am
(and the raider ships are so thine my they go through my shots...)

You will hit them more often with some training...
the Aurora flies best in dogfights when you are 0 or low speed (smaller circle when turning)... the raiders are flying at full thrust most of the time so you will get a clear shoot at their tops...
Title: Re: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: IPAndrews on February 10, 2006, 02:15:37 am
For anyone who's interested. This patch should be 99% compatible with release 3.3. I haven't tested it of course but I'm just going by what changes were made and what ships RW uses. The only change I know about which will affect the campaign is the name change for the Babylon 5 station. Which will effect the final epilogue cutscene (may throw an error, B5 will certainly vanish).
Title: Re: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: Steel on February 12, 2006, 10:46:28 pm
actually i nwas wondering...  :)  Thx Andrews.

BTW - what can I do to make these missions coop?  extract them and edit in FRED?  can anyone tell me what I might need to do to make them coop?  thx.
Title: Re: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: 0rph3u5 on February 13, 2006, 07:16:02 am
BTW - what can I do to make these missions coop?  extract them and edit in FRED?  can anyone tell me what I might need to do to make them coop?  thx.

To make them coop:
1) ask if IP allows it, if he does not skip all 4 stages below
2) extract them from the VP to your mission directory and change their names (so nothing get's messed up).
3) open each one with Fred and go to the mission specs editor (Shift + N by default). left hand side, right under the Designer's Name you find 3 buttons where you may change the missions type (SP, MP, Training). Once you tiggered MP you have to choose "Cooperative".
4) Add player starting points to Alpha wing (ships editor - activate the player ship flag) and adjust the number of respawns (mission specs)
5) You are done (if IP says differently: do as he tells you)

REMEMBER: Now they are solo missions... RW is too long for a mulit-campaign (my oppinion)
Title: Re: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: karajorma on February 13, 2006, 07:47:26 am
The biggest problem with do this of course is that the campaign would become very easy with more than one player. Adding more enemies on the other hand makes things much more difficult.
Title: Re: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: Steel on February 13, 2006, 08:57:09 pm
thx guys...

i don't think difficulty will be a problem - we are serious newbs!  :)  maybe after a while we will need to make things a bit more difficult.
Title: Re: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: IPAndrews on February 14, 2006, 03:35:23 am
Knock yourself out Steel. If you get it working I'll be impressed, and give you a game on-line. I'm not sure how well RW will work as a multi-campaign but that's a different story.
Title: Re: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: karajorma on February 14, 2006, 06:43:27 am
You'll have a problem with the final mission with Eris most likely.

Quote
She can capture one of the players ships which could have really strange effects in a multiplayer mission
Title: Re: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: 0rph3u5 on February 14, 2006, 08:14:22 am
You'll have a problem with the final mission with Eris most likely.

Quote
She can capture one of the players ships which could have really strange effects in a multiplayer mission

hmm.. I could be done but you would have to make up a entriely new set of events using a special sexp ("player-use-ai") and I don't know if this sexp works in MP
Title: Re: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: IPAndrews on February 20, 2006, 04:07:30 am
You just need to ensure she doesn't try and capture player ships, tis all. Treat any player ships like Alpha 1 in single player mode. ie: she doesn't touch you until a set time elapses and then she does the self destruct thing on you.

Since I'm here... any progress with this Steel? I am fascinated to see the results.
Title: Re: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: Roanoke on February 28, 2006, 04:07:57 pm
Haven't been ablt to play any recent releases so I have to ask you IPA, but did you manage to fit in the progrssive bonus ships we talked about before the initial RW release ?
Title: Re: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: IPAndrews on March 01, 2006, 02:26:43 am
Haven't been ablt to play any recent releases so I have to ask you IPA, but did you manage to fit in the progrssive bonus ships we talked about before the initial RW release ?

No, I just replaced it with a "cheat" to unlock all of the ships at the start of the campaign. Something to do with ordering wingment to guard jumpgate arms.

Regards,
Ian
Title: Re: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: IPAndrews on April 07, 2006, 07:09:02 am
So anyone want me to fix Raider Wars for 3.3?
Title: Re: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: 0rph3u5 on April 09, 2006, 06:54:34 am
well it won't be much... so do it...
maybe you can look out for other bugs too (voice in NE does not fit sometimes - and get NS working!! :D)
Title: Re: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: Rand al Thor on April 09, 2006, 08:11:07 am
Yeah fix RW for 3.3. Im just playing through it again (I haven't hit any problems yet but just in case!).

Obviously before I say this, this is just the opinion of a guy who doesn't have any beneficial input into the development/modding community so it's not worth much but.....

Why oh why can't there be unchanging standards for names of ships, weapons, nebulas etc. that stay static and is never changed so that any further releases are backwards compatible!!?? I mean whats the point of 3.3 or any newer shiny release if it breaks a the previous campaigns/missions? It just sits there looking pretty unable to be played!

But once again, good work everyone.
Title: Re: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: Trivial Psychic on April 09, 2006, 11:14:15 am
The main problems I've encountered lie in the naming of B5 for the final cutscene mission, and the asteroids in the asteroids mission.  The table entries for Gold wing asteroids have a problem where the inner explosion radius exceeds the outer explosion radius.  I was getting killed in their explosion radius and tried to reduce the explosion strength by using special explosion on the asteroids, but that particular anamaly prevented me.  You should look into adjusting the explosion force (at least in the mission) to correct this.
Title: Re: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: Dwin on April 15, 2006, 10:53:35 am
Leave the enemy fighters to your wingmen.

Ha, yeah right. The Raiders wipe out my wingmen within a couple minutes, even with my participation.
Title: Re: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: IPAndrews on April 16, 2006, 01:50:37 pm
The Raiders wipe out my wingmen within a couple minutes, even with my participation.

Oh, you're rubbish then :).
Title: Re: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: Dwin on April 16, 2006, 03:31:58 pm
That's not the point. Even if I suck, I'm at least distracting a Raider to even out the balance of ships.

Title: Re: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: VertigoOneDRS on April 20, 2006, 06:50:50 pm
What does this mean when I load mission 4 in the campaign?  Do I need to edit the mission text?


Assert: objp->ship_max_hull_strength > 0.0f
File: c:\fs2_open\code\mission\missionparse.cpp
Line: 3329
[This filename points to the location of a file on the computer that built this executable]

Call stack:
------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: Trivial Psychic on April 20, 2006, 11:18:09 pm
You using a debug build to get that?
Title: Re: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: IPAndrews on April 21, 2006, 02:51:12 am
It means the game is trying to access the max_hull_strength property of a ship to check if it is greater than 0, and it's caused an error. Null pointer probably. Editting the mission text probably won't help you there ;) I'll look into it.
Title: Re: RW 2.1 Patch
Post by: karajorma on April 21, 2006, 04:21:20 am
Ironically enough I was deliberately attempting to cause that error yesterday while coding. It's caused when the game loads in a ship which has had its hitpoints set to 0 by use of the special hitpoints code. There may be other ways to cause it too. Since I'm interested in seeing what is the cause I'll see if I can get it to happen myself.

EDIT : The ship causing the problem is actually the Gold 1 Asteroid. For some reason the mission is reading it in as having 0 hitpoints although I have no idea why it would do that. I'll look in to this some more later today.

EDIT 2 : Cracked it. Gold wing have been set up to use special hitpoints at some point. But there are no SEXP variables defined in the mission. I suspect that who ever made the mission assigned special hitpoints and then decide against them. Unfortunately the mission file is still looking for the SEXP variable to get the special hitpoints for the asteroid. Simply deleting this line
Code: [Select]
+Special Hitpoint index: 98

from each of the asteroids in gold wing should cure the problem but I haven't tried it yet.

I've got a bug flagged in the special hitpoints code as it is. I'll put a pointer to this thread in Mantis and take a look at both of them at the same time. (Speaking of Mantis are you still getting this (http://lore.maxgaming.net/~scp/mantis/bug_view_page.php?bug_id=0000861) bug IP?)
 

@Dwin You can only get this error running the debug build (Asserts will only ever occur in the debug builds. They're part of the error checking code that is disabled in the standard release builds). Try running using the build that has _r in its name rather than _d as your current build does.