Hard Light Productions Forums

Modding, Mission Design, and Coding => The FRED Workshop => Topic started by: FUBAR-BDHR on November 28, 2008, 01:51:53 am

Title: Beam Free all discrepancy?
Post by: FUBAR-BDHR on November 28, 2008, 01:51:53 am
Now that 3.6.10 seems to be working OK in TBP I picked up working on an old mission written in an older 3.6.10 build.  Mission was was just about ready for final testing when I left off.  Played it today and noticed that when a ship warped in it wasn't firing it's main beams but was firing it's anti-fighter beams and cannons.  Double checked and the mission is set to all ships beam free by default.  Initial orders for the ship were just waypoints.  Tossed in a lower priority attack order on the cap and tried it again.  Beams fire just fine.  Now the thing is I know this was working just fine in the older 3.6.10 build since it needs those beams to kill the cap before it runs over it.  Has something changed that would cause the beams not to fire without the attack order? 
Title: Re: Beam Free all discrepancy?
Post by: Vertigo 7 on November 28, 2008, 10:24:48 pm
Ya know i noticed that a while back too with TBP. I know i was using a 3.6.10 build but it was pretty random when the main beams wouldn't fire. I didn't change any orders or anything and i gave each ship their own beam free after warp in. it *may* have something to do with AI level. One thing i would notice too is some times they would power up but never fire, like maybe the firing arc is too narrow if its the fixed guns. But if i recall, every ship that had a moving turret would fire ok. Like the excalibur, always had a hell uva time to get its primaries to fire but the moving turrets always worked.
Title: Re: Beam Free all discrepancy?
Post by: FreeSpaceFreak on November 29, 2008, 04:06:52 am
Oh, that's why some of the BP missions seemed so badly FREDded to me. I thought I was missing out on something.
Title: Re: Beam Free all discrepancy?
Post by: Vertigo 7 on November 29, 2008, 05:44:20 pm
i just thought of another thing. Cap ships some times tend to fixate on sub systems. I was messing around with one of trash man's models and i noticed it kept shooting at the beam turrets on the ravana. That could also affect it if its trying to shoot at a sub system thats out of the firing arc
Title: Re: Beam Free all discrepancy?
Post by: FUBAR-BDHR on November 29, 2008, 06:22:37 pm
That doesn't explain why a 3.6.10 build from 6 months ago resulted in the exact same behavior without attack orders as the cap with attack orders in current builds.  It never even fired them when it was pushing the enemy ship with them.  Picture Narn cap being pushed by an Omega.  No way it's out of the firing arc or anything like that. 

It was easy enough to get around but I'm wondering what else this could effect.  I'll make a test mission one of these days with just the caps in it and see what happens in 3.6.9.  I'm over the 100 ship limit so I can't just run it in 3.6.9.  And no it's not a BOE just minefields take up a lot of ship spaces. 
Title: Re: Beam Free all discrepancy?
Post by: Vertigo 7 on November 29, 2008, 06:30:31 pm
yeah i understand what you're saying...

btw a lil off topic, do the 3.6.10 builds all support more ships? (i guess the more recent ones anyway)
Title: Re: Beam Free all discrepancy?
Post by: FUBAR-BDHR on November 29, 2008, 07:23:24 pm
Well I put that mission into 3.6.10 back in late March so it's been over 100 since then. 

Strange if I pull the 2 caps out of the mission and dump them into a test mission the beams fire just fine without the attack order.  Tested in single as well in 3.6.9 and 3.6.10. 
Title: Re: Beam Free all discrepancy?
Post by: Jouzin on April 19, 2009, 08:46:38 am
Hmm I don't want to start a new topic, so I put this here.

As far as I know this was possible in FS open 3.6.9 Picture: http://shadowmoon.mine.sk/iamges/beams.JPG (http://shadowmoon.mine.sk/images/beams.JPG)

But in FS open 3.6.10 it has a bug. Only Colossus was firing from beams and the Vasudan ship was just flying around...

Both ships have orders to attack each other and priority set to 50...

Hmm so Do I have to set event for each ship in 3.6.10 ?

And one more thing.

I have mediavp's 3.6.10 even FRED is 3.6.10 you can see it here: http://shadowmoon.mine.sk/images/heh.JPG (http://shadowmoon.mine.sk/images/heh.JPG) But on the first picture I see there Fred 3.6.9 ????

Could you explain it ??? Bcs I don't understand this whole thing now...
Title: Re: Beam Free all discrepancy?
Post by: karajorma on April 19, 2009, 09:11:33 am
Is the vasudan ship present in the mission? Cause the beam-free-all SEXP only works on ships which have already arrived. Most people prefer to use the option in the Mission Specs Editor to beam free all everything as that means that all ships will have beams regardless of whether or not they have already arrived.

As for the 3.6.9 thing. What do you mean first picture you see is 3.6.9?
Title: Re: Beam Free all discrepancy?
Post by: eliex on April 19, 2009, 05:50:24 pm
Just adding to karajorma's post, if you want to manually beam-free the Vasudan ship and it arrives some point throughout the mission, you'll have to make an event like this:
When
--> Arrived Delay
-- Vasudan Cruiser
-- 0
--> Beam-Free-All
-- Vasudan Cruiser.
Title: Re: Beam Free all discrepancy?
Post by: Jouzin on April 20, 2009, 06:10:52 pm
Just adding to karajorma's post, if you want to manually beam-free the Vasudan ship and it arrives some point throughout the mission, you'll have to make an event like this:
When
--> Arrived Delay
-- Vasudan Cruiser
-- 0
--> Beam-Free-All
-- Vasudan Cruiser.


Yeah I know this :)

To Karajoma: YEs it is present from the beginning. Hmm I didn't notice this feature in Mission Specs Editor but now yeah it is there...

And to your question: On my first picture you can see in the top left corner FRED 3.6.9 But  in second picture you can see that I have installed fred2_open_3_6_10r-20081210_r4989.exe.  So is there any bug???
Title: Re: Beam Free all discrepancy?
Post by: Hippo on April 20, 2009, 10:47:31 pm
Just adding to karajorma's post, if you want to manually beam-free the Vasudan ship and it arrives some point throughout the mission, you'll have to make an event like this:
When
--> Arrived Delay
-- Vasudan Cruiser
-- 0
--> Beam-Free-All
-- Vasudan Cruiser.


that won't actually work with a 0 second delay
Title: Re: Beam Free all discrepancy?
Post by: eliex on April 21, 2009, 01:04:43 am
that won't actually work with a 0 second delay

*Creates a scenario to test this

In the test, a Deimos arriving 10 secs into the game with an event exact to the one I suggested (with VC changed to Deimos) had it's beams unlocked without ticking the beam-free function in Mission Specs.
Title: Re: Beam Free all discrepancy?
Post by: karajorma on April 21, 2009, 02:09:11 am
Just adding to karajorma's post, if you want to manually beam-free the Vasudan ship and it arrives some point throughout the mission, you'll have to make an event like this:
When
--> Arrived Delay
-- Vasudan Cruiser
-- 0
--> Beam-Free-All
-- Vasudan Cruiser.


that won't actually work with a 0 second delay

Yeah it will. Sometimes.

I don't think anyone has ever tracked down why it sometimes doesn't work but most of the time, it will.
Title: Re: Beam Free all discrepancy?
Post by: Hippo on April 21, 2009, 05:01:03 pm
just saying that a 1 second delay works all the time, and a 0 second delay doesn't... a 0 second delay can also result in beam effects appearing from turrets that aren't out of subspace too