Hard Light Productions Forums

Off-Topic Discussion => General Discussion => Topic started by: Warlock on July 21, 2002, 07:54:15 pm

Title: DreamWeaver question
Post by: Warlock on July 21, 2002, 07:54:15 pm
How in the HELL do I get this damned thing to upload a site so that it matches image location in it's html to the image locations on the host ? ?

Sorry ...getting frustrated trying to figure this damn confusing hunk of programing out.

*sigh*

I knew I should have never let Netobjects get fubared lol
Title: DreamWeaver question
Post by: Stryke 9 on July 21, 2002, 08:06:56 pm
Best way, have the images in the same folder, or a subfolder that you upload at the same time, as the webpage you're making. Dreamweaver only records a full location if what it wants is in a file above or something- otherwise, it just links to the image name itself or the subfolder name and the image tag.
Title: DreamWeaver question
Post by: an0n on July 21, 2002, 08:27:20 pm
No, there's an option somewhere so you can either link files relative to the site-root or link them relative to the page.
Title: DreamWeaver question
Post by: Stryke 9 on July 21, 2002, 08:38:59 pm
NO, just put the images in the proper directory!!!:p
Title: DreamWeaver question
Post by: Warlock on July 21, 2002, 08:44:48 pm
Thanks ...I'd never have thought bout that,...too busy fighting the urge to toss the cpu out the window :D
Title: DreamWeaver question
Post by: delta_7890 on July 21, 2002, 08:58:00 pm
Quote
Originally posted by Warlock
Thanks ...I'd never have thought bout that,...too busy fighting the urge to toss the cpu out the window :D


Saw someone do that once.  Pretty funy, until I realized it was my computer.  
--;;
Title: DreamWeaver question
Post by: Stealth on July 21, 2002, 09:26:44 pm
Quote
Originally posted by an0n
No, there's an option somewhere so you can either link files relative to the site-root or link them relative to the page.



it's possible, but remember that Dreamweaver is supposed to be used to MANAGE your site and its HTML, image, etc. files... so i'll bet you haven't even delved into that part of it

i took a course in that crap in school, took 6 weeks to complete it, and i got a B on it... although i still know nothing about it (it's been half a year)
Title: DreamWeaver question
Post by: Warlock on July 21, 2002, 09:51:30 pm
Yea I can agree it's a pain in the tail . I MUCH prefered NetObjects Fusion. Going to check out Go Live by Adobe.

Just seems these days for the most part you're gotta have a college degree to understand these damned programs lol
Title: DreamWeaver question
Post by: Stealth on July 21, 2002, 10:08:17 pm
if you're REALLY serious about getting it done and you've already done a lot of work, what you could do is make it view the HTML code (there's a button, near the top left i belive, or bottom left, that divides the screen in two... one frame shows HTML the other shows the actual page... so you can edit one of the two, and it will display in the other)

copy all the HTML code, and paste it into a program like Word.  
Let's say it's linking images to your hard drive, when it's supposed to link to an image inside the same folder as the HTML page... let's say it's linking to:  "C:\windows\desktop\newwebpage\*whatever.JPG*"

forget the actual filename... that will stay the same on the server, but do a 'find and replace'... and in the 'find' type in:

C:\windows\desktop\newwebpage\

and in the replace, type in nothing, then do the 'find and replace' thing, and it will remove the new path, and will link now to "*whatever.JPG*"... therefore as long as the image is the same format, file name, and placed in the same folder as the HTML file, you'll be OK

get it?

if you don't, let us know


Oh... and if for some reason or another the 'find and replace' thing doesn't work, try putting a 'space' in the 'replace' section...
Title: DreamWeaver question
Post by: Warlock on July 21, 2002, 10:15:48 pm
I was able to get the image problem solved by Stryke's first post. I'm just not too happy with Dreamweaver's interface and how it works.
Title: DreamWeaver question
Post by: Stealth on July 21, 2002, 11:01:58 pm
I'm glad you got your problem fixed...

Dreamweaver can be a very useful tool once you get to know it...
Title: DreamWeaver question
Post by: Sandwich on July 22, 2002, 05:27:36 am
Quote
Originally posted by Warlock
Yea I can agree it's a pain in the tail . I MUCH prefered NetObjects Fusion. Going to check out Go Live by Adobe.

Just seems these days for the most part you're gotta have a college degree to understand these damned programs lol


In general I hate WYSIWYG HTML programs - it simply isn't the type of coding language that translates gracefully into a visual interface. I do all my HTML work (no, not in Notepad - sorry :p) in Homesite, which has served me well since v2.5.

Anyways, I never tried Fusion, so I can't speak about that, but I have tried GoLive and Dreamweaver. I much preferred GoLive, and was actually able to get some decent coding done in it. Although I couldn't forgive either GoLive or Dreamweaver for using incredibly obtuse compilations of code to accomplish the simplest things. Oh well - HTML is FUN! :D
Title: DreamWeaver question
Post by: Stealth on July 22, 2002, 10:26:49 pm
one time i condensed 5 pages of Front Page (not sure what version... 5!?) code into within one page by simply editing the HTML with notepad, and removing all the crap it puts in...

more useless HTML means longer loading time :(
Title: DreamWeaver question
Post by: Sandwich on July 23, 2002, 05:50:31 am
Quote
Originally posted by Stealth
more useless HTML means longer loading time :(


Even worse that loading time is the server bandwidth: 5000 pageviews * 5kb = 25 Mb, whereas 5000 pageviews * 1kb = 5 Mb - when it all is added up, you get quite a lot of savings.