Author Topic: I'd like to contribute to the Freespace SCP!  (Read 1499 times)

I'd like to contribute to the Freespace SCP!
Hi everyone!

My name is Ben, and I basically grew up playing Freespace and Freespace 2, and my appreciation for the games and sci-fi in general is quite profound.

Anyway, I'm just getting myself out of a World of Warcraft addiction (those darned MMOs...) and I found the Freespace SCP and you guys!  I tried it and was simply BLOWN away by how far this community has brought this game!  The HT&L work is stunning to me and I can't help but want to lend my services to the project, as I have seen several posts here and there asking for more people.

I guess where I'm at is at an average level of capability with Adobe Photoshop and skinning/texturing.  I have some experience level designing with different programs (some with FRED) so I mean, I am competent with regards to this sort of thing.

My main request is simply if anyone has or knows of resources out on the web that can teach me how to design ship models, become a better texturer, or even a little bit of intro to coding.  Basically a run down of what programs I might need to do all of the above, and a few websites to study from on my own time.  I am very artistic and love sketching (especially concept design of characters and vehicles) and so I think that after some learning, I may be able to lend a hand!  Point me in the right direction.

Thanks for reading, I hope I can be of service to SCP!

-ChAP

Offline redmenace

Well, there are many project IIRC other than the SCP that need textures.

The SCP itself depends mostly on outside community members themselves to create new artwork and models. However, many project need texturers IIRC. The SCP its self can always use devoted testers to use mods and campaign to find bugs and crashes. CVS builds can be found here

There is alot of Info in the Wiki and many model tutorials.